Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
89
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 18 January 2017
Great book, something very different to anything I've read before, and very different from The Fire Next Time. Interesting and gripping, got it finished very quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
A short but powerful novella. Evocative and heartbreaking showing that love knows no boundaries and you don't really chose who you love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
This is a book very worthwhile reading. It has a powerful impact on the psyche and is a cause for much reflection on friendship, love and the individual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
A wonderful, relentless, fearless book about the heartbreak of being a gay man within a culturally hostile world. Baldwin is o powerful writer who does not flinch from touching deep emotions and experiences. One of the best (and most disturbing) novels that I have read in a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
I have not yet finished it but I am enjoying James Baldwin’s style . Interesting characters .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2017
A beautiful book and I love to hate the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Disturbing and human account of love, loss and the struggle to belong. Strongly recommend this Baldwin classic. Of its time but timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
They don't write like this anymore! So beautiful yet tortured!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Beautifully written succinct book about a doomed love affair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse