Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2012
I cannot add much to what has been said by others here. The author has incredible knowledge of Einstein's life and a good grasp of the physics that made Einstein famous. It is bewildering that anyone can write such a comprehensive work. I see the author is/was also the CEO of CNN. Quite an extraordinary panoply of talent. The book is fascinating and at no point does it leave you cold. Complex principles of theoretical physics are explained clearly without resorting to the underlying mathematical equations. Einstein was as often wrong as he was correct but when he was correct he revolutionized how we see the Universe. JP.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
I read this because I loved W.I's review of Steve Jobs. (And knew not much about Jobs before that point.)
This is a fine time to read this book if you are at all interested in Einstein as it is the hundredth anniversary of his publishing the General Theory of Relativity.
This book is a history of Einstein. It steers clear of much of the meats and guts of his theories apart from in superficial terms to allow you to get a small measure of appreciation of the mans work.
It's well written and will appeal to students of history and physics alike.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
This proved to be an interesting and very complete biography of Einstein, with sources listed for all key facts. Perhaps it was a trifle too long in parts, resulting in me skimming some sections, but it provides a remarkable insight into the life and the times of this great physicist. Whilst I had prior knowledge of Einstein's scientific work, I had not appreciated other aspects of his life, including his troubled relationships with his first wife and his children from that marriage, nor had I understood the extent of the anti-semitism to which he had been subjected, nor his celebrity status, whereby the press hung on to his every word. As well as detailing Einstein's life, Walter Isaacson also does a sound job of explaining, in simplified terms, the background to much of Einstein's scientific endeavours, including quantum physics, relativity, and his unsuccessful search for a unified field theory to unite gravitation with electromagnetism. I learned a lot about Einstein from this book and Isaacson brought him alive in terms of his personality.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
A most enjoyable and fascinating book. I did not understand all the physics but I know I am not alone in this. The one demerit for me is the author's Americanisms in his writing. And what of Einstein's will? Did he make one and who were the beneficiaries?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
I found it an incredible account of his life having watched the TV series. He was involved with far more than his original theory of relativity personally and professionally! A very large account of a larger than life achiever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
3.499 stars would be more accurate
his biog of steve jobs was better.
occasional lack of scientific knowledge on part of author comes across
slightly written by committee
but still a v good biog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
GOOD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Einstein's ideas are hard to get to grips with because we try to take them in all at once. He took a lifetime to think them through, and this is the story of his life and how his thought developed. Worth reading through if only to get to the fascinating story of what happened to his brain after he died. And by persevering you end up with a deeper understanding of the unfathomable. Or at least you think you do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
OK, there's a bit of physics in it, and I'm not a physicist, but it doesn't detract from an excellent story, brilliantly told.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)