Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
152
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2015
Initially read this pre-university as preparation for my Philosophy degree and actually think it's one of the most integral works in philosophical thinking as it challenges the reader to break everything down to its componant parts, and analyse what is actually needed, relevant, and what's simply desirable. I'm a strong believer that everyone should study some philosophy, but if you're new to it, this is a good place to start. (Bought as a present for someone who has great analytical and philosophical skills, but had never read "The Republic" - they thoroughly enjoyed).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
A timeless masterpiece! I love how Socrates identifies morality in the community as each person doing their job, and sticking to it. Socrates also believes women and children should be held in common, which I find very interesting. Socrates' imaginary community really is a good example of a perfect state. Essential reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Amazing read. I chuckle sometimes at the conversations. The book was used but a used book is sometimes the best because you know it was loved more than once.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
This is specifically a review of the Kindle edition.

Content-wise, the translation is amazing, and the notes are excellent - it's a highly recommended book.

Notes on the transfer to Kindle: There are some very nice touches here, like the fact that the end-noted notes are linked to wherever they occur in the text. This makes it very easy to "flip" back and forth between notes and text. This has not been done on some other Hackett publishing Kindle transfers, so beware.

The 3 stars is because of the section referencing. Standard referencing of sections in plato looks like "554c8" - that is section 554, subsection c, line 8. In the paperback version this is easily flipped to, but the text contains the information in the margins, and is split out as above: look up section 554, then search down for subsection c.

In the kindle edition, as the section referenced aren't in the margins but incorporated into the text, it would have been useful if they had always included the letter with the section reference - in square brackets or something similar. [554c] - this would have facilitated faster lookups. It sounds like a minor point, but if you are buying this text for study purposes, you often have to flip between many sections, and having to turn pages to find the right subsection is a pain.

Still, some thought has been given to the transfer, so it's not all bad.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This edition has a really helpful introduction section which goes through each of the books that make up Plato's Republic. These illuminate the reader as to what to expect and give great insight into the concepts of the Republic as a whole. I recommend to anyone who has little experience of philosophy or Plato's writing not to skip this section. A good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
The Republic is an absolute masterpiece of literature and philosophy. Plato's style renders the reader entranced and his ease in discussing the most fundamental of topics in philosophy like justice, knowledge and leadership is only a testament to his legendary status in the plethora of the most prominent of philosophers. That, however, is very much a given when talking about the likes of Plato, so I think my time is better spent at reviewing the particular edition. The only drawback may be that it does not have the internationally agreed line numbers. However everything is absolutely perfect. The translation is magnificent, the cover art is striking and mirrors the level of esteem the actual text possesses and the price is too low to ignore. All in all a great deal. READ THIS!

PS Do not hold my pen name against me. I am a Platonist at heart. 'Aristotelean' just had a better rhythm to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
I have always been fascinated with Philosophy & in particular with it's founder Plato. I really enjoyed reading the in-depth information about the early teachings of Philosophy. The more you read on the more it gets more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
Book is good very interesting the only fault I found was same pages in the midle of the book where kind of scrunched up. Other than that it was a pretty good buy
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
Received this copy which wasn't the one advertised. Struggling to use it because the print is too small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Book in excellent condition and received very quickly. I am delighted with my purchase thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)