Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2000
This little book has a vast treasury of poems of the first World War. All my favourites could be found, Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, Rupert Brooke and many others, totalling over 80 poems in all.
A very readable book, bringing back memories of poems read long ago. The scenes described are evocative, harrowing, heart-warming. Be prepared to be brought to tears.
I would highly recommend this book for any bookshelf and it is particularly appropriate as an introduction to war poetry.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
A pocket-sized book which brings together a lot of my favourite war poems including Wilfred Owen's "Anthem For Doomed Youth", Siegfried Sassoon's "Enemies", Edward Thomas's "The Owl" and Issac Rosenberg's "Break Of Day In The Trenches". It introduced me to other poems I warmed to but had not read before including May Wedderburn Cannan's "Lamplight", Margaret Postgate Cole's "The Veteran" and Ivor Gurney's "To His Love". I enjoy the scattering of poems with seemingly no logical order - it encourages random opening to discover new and old pearls.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
A little disappointed with this book as it is basically a pocket sized very basic book. If you wanted a book to slip in your jacket pocket, then great, but the title led me to expect more than this.
A random organisation of contents also disappoints.
A couple of obvious ommissions. Laurence BINYON's "For the fallen" being the most obvious.
A small pocket sized book ideal for a journey, but not likely to stretch the academic amongst you.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Such a sad book, cannot thank those young men enough , so very young, so very brave and for what if we don't heed the message and learn,we must never forget and this book helps us to know there is a better way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is a great little book - very small in size and wish it had been just a little larger for my ageing eyes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2004
They say that jobs usually don't go a-begging. Books normally wouldn't, either, but this one is the exception to confirm the rule.
And, speaking of a gem: this FWW poetry collection just lives up to your every expectation if you are looking for an introduction, that is.
Put out on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of the Armistice, it features all those names that spring to mind when one thinks of the Great War's poetic heritage: Owen, Sassoon, Rosenberg, Thomas, Kipling, Blunden: they're all there waiting for you. Moreover, the booklet easily fits into your pocket during your literary explorations along the Western Front.
Wonders will never cease, but I wouldn't bet on that if I were you. So why wait? Press that 1-click order button and remember what they were talking about when "price/quality ratio" was the topic of conversation. Indispensable, a must-buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This small volume is just right for my pocket and so is available for random selection. Great collection of poems and good price. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
This is a useful wee book. It shows the similarities amongst the poets and their work at that time. The contents are grim.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
So evocatibe
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is a pleasant little book, small enough to fit into a pocket or a handbag. It has many of the old favourites in it and some new poems that I hadn't read before. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse