Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2015
One of my favourite books . I urge evergone to buy , or borrow, this tome .A great and descriptive account of Orwell's experiences as a hotel worker in Paris and his life amongst the homeess tramps in England .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Entirely readable, relatable and brilliant. Thoroughly enjoyed this insightful and knowledgeable first hand view of poverty across different countries and the affect it has on individuals and society at large.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
I was thrilled and delighted to read this book. The written English is of such a high quality, and the story it tells is so interesting.. I should like to read it again just in case I missed something.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Orwell really lived the tough life, and his account is sometimes shocking, but the resilience of his companions is described with warmth and humour. Much of what he writes about is still relevant today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
If by any chance you've been only familiar with Orwell's 1984 and / or Animal Farm, you must read this book as it is at the same time very different and also set the basis for these two ones in a way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Down and Out is rich in character and is as much about the characters Orwell meets on the fringe of society as it is about his own life. It is an unremittingly disgusting book that I fully recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
This is an odd novel, a peculiar mix of reportage and funny anecdotes about tramps. Hugely enjoyable though. The passage where a hundred rowdy down-and-outs misbehave in church made me laugh aloud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
What a great book; funny, insightful; educational and so entertainingly written. I have read other books by G.O...1984 of course...and he truly is one of the greats. I urge you to read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Really facinating insight into working class life in Paris and London.
Orwell is very straight forward and direct in writings and not afraid
to touch on social subjects of the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
A realistic portrayal covering his early times in Paris and London pre 'fame'. The words paint pictures that are the sign of great observation and ability to express that on the page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse