Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2013
this is one of a set you should read in order. The family with pa ruling the roost is always fun. the descriptions of the post war life of this unconventional family is sure you make you chuckle. It is not as well written as some of Bates other novels.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Another glorious visit to the idyllic Larkin's back in the Garden of England where they fit so naturally. And a lunch of pheasants and strawberries to die for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
I can not but give these books five stars because Herbert E Bates was a real master of the English language. With typical British dry wit he can even make the description of a prawn cocktail exciting! The way he describes people, meals and nature you see them in front of you and can even smell the smells.
Otherwise, this third novel in the series about Pop Larkin and his family is darker than the two previous ones. Here and there you can still laugh about something but some not so nice characters are introduced that makes it less of a comedy. In this third book, another year has passed and Pop is full of disappointment that his daughter Mariette and son-in-law haven't made him a grandfather. They are still living under his roof as well since he has not had the time to build them the bungalow he has promised them since their engagement days. He has bought an old country house in preparation for the bungalow erection but has not yet torn the house down to get the brick for the bungalow, when suddenly a London couple descends on him and want to purchase the house. Pop sees a way of earning a lot of money so he embellishes everything about the estate to the prospective buyers and they not understanding anything about the countryside, buy the house for an absolutely ridiculous price. Happily, Pop can now build a heated swimming pool for Ma. But that is not the end of his problems with the old country house. At a party given by the new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Jerebohm, Pop gets unwanted attention from a Mrs. Perigo that is well-known for being a man hunter. During the entire winter he has to ward her off. And then when Pop kindly rows Mrs. Jerebohm over her lake to pick flowers, and perhaps puts his hands where they do not quite belong, helping her out of a rocking boat, said Mrs. Perigo sees a chance to get back at him for not wanting HER. So it all ends up as a nasty court case, Pop being accused for violating Mrs. Jerebohm. Mrs. Perigo and Mr. and Mrs. Jerebohm left a bitter taste in my mouth that made me like this book slightly less than the previous two.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
When I realised that I could get this book on my kindle I knew that my device and myself would be long term friends. In the depths of winter this is on of those reads that remind you that spring will come and there are also laugh out loud moments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Reread book first time in years and found it very funny, kept seeing actors from television series as the charactors in the book, a good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
A lovely book to read in the garden that takes you away for this mad world and read about a lovely family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed this book hopefully all of the remainder of H E Bates will live up to the wholesome story lines of this read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Brought back great memories of a great TV series I could read it again it makes me laugh out loud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Well what can I say...love this family and just love H.E Bates
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
to dirty to read. I mean the condition not the content lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse