Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Having started this book didn't think I would like it but how wrong could one be it was very good reading and I couldn't put it down longing to read the next book by beryl Matthews .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
a lovely story as usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Really enjoyed this book.Amy had some difficult times in her life ..but she had people she loved and cared about to help her along .praise for beryrl Matthews loved it ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
I loved this book. I couldn't put it down once I'd started it. Through happiness and heartache the characters were so real and like family. This is one Book I won't forget. the best book I've read in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
I am a huge fan of Beryl Matthews, and this book is one of her best. Her use of words to describe the lives of the characters and the way they come together as one family was brilliant. Each character had his/her own story and they all seemed to fit together.

Amy, the protgaonist, has a horrendous start in life. The way she grows throughout the book is depicted with meaning and sensitivity and will most likely strike a chord with anyone who is reading the book.

If this one is your first, the Webster series are another must read. I just wish Beryl's books would become more widely avaliable, on kindle or in new paperback as they seem to be out of print.

Anyway, I hope that you enjoy reading this book as much as I did!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
This is the best book of this era I have read in ages. Beryl really does bring the characters to life and so you become part of it yourself. The issues surrounding real life problems even in todays day and age are well thought out and you can relate to certain heartaches and struggles in one way or the other. She seems to understand emotions within us all. The heartaches they go through during the war are brought to life as much as the joy and happiness they experience. Beryl has really done well to include all of this without dwelling on one particular subject or person to a boring stage. You get to know everyone in this book and Ben and Howard are great fun and caring as well as aiming for a future they dream of without accepting help from others. The little girl is wonderful and everything she says and does is exactly like having a toddler around you for real! Great fun, meaningful and true to life. It is a great uplifting story you will enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
I love all of Beryl Matthews books, they are such heart-warming and believable characters. She builds up a whole family, and then follows them from book to book.I almost felt that I knew them as they were growing up and living their lives. I can reccomend her to anyone who enjoys a family feeling story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Fifteen year old Amy Carter is struggling with the fact that she can't read or write. But her biggest challenge comes when her father is tried and convicted of murder. Within a week both of her parents are gone. But with the help of two new friends Ben and Howard, Amy is able to a new family at Mrs. Dalton's boarding house. Though the years Amy grows and get a family of her own, but the war is coming and the family will find themselves apart for years.
"One Step at a Time" by Beryl Matthews is a really good book. Ms. Matthews give the reader characters that they care about and they are able to hold the reader's attention. "One Step at a Time" is a really good book and I am sorry that it sat my shelf unread for so long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
This is the first author where each book I've read of hers I can't put down.
The main character of the book Amy, can't read or right very well, she gets very upset, because children are nasty to her, then her father is hung, because, he kills a man, the man stole his wages, but he had to be punished, Amy meets Ben who draws her portrait, and he never forgets Amy, Ben and his friend Howard, come to Amy's rescue, and then her life starts to get better, Amy's life isn't easy because she can't read very well, but she doesn't give up, she practices all the time, it's a lovely story, with some sadness in, and then very happy.
Janet Davies Falmouth Cornwall
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Need customer service? Click here