Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 23 October 2017
Did not enjoy not up to usual standard
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
I enjoyed the early part of the book, however, it then seemed to be a series of short and rather disconnected stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
A real page-turner. Catches and holds the reader from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
I liked the story of Rebecca, Adam and Ruby but skimmed over most of the last 20%. The story that Joe was writing was irrelevant. I was not interested in his writings about Stalin either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2016
Very disappointed in this book. I didn't quite get the relevance of Joe's narrative and it did not add to the story. Disappointing ending (Yes Adam returned and they seem to be back together. They go to visit Ruby's grave but then suddenly someone ( not sure who?) is on a walk and a collie is shepherding them...Did I miss something?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2014
I was a bit disappointed with the storyline in this novel. I've read quite of Helen Dunmore's novels, this wasn't among my favourites.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2014
Enjoyed it but found it quite disjointed and felt the ending was a little lacking in the same depth of detail as the rest of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Another great Dunmore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2003
Helen Dunmore never fails to amaze with her unique skill of creating poetry out of prose - "Mourning Ruby" is one of the best books I have read all year, and there have been many!
There are several stories running through one main tale: that of a mother and father mourning their dead child. But theirs is not the only tale of loss and grief. Dunmore manages to make even the most minor of characters live and breathe, and the ending, surprisingly, is uplifting and positive; something you don't expect throughout the book. Read it once for the enjoyment of the story, then go back again and revel in the words, strung together like gems on a necklace.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2005
Despite being a huge fan of Helen Dunmore, I was slightly
perplexed by this novel. Despite the beautiful poetic style
of writing, the various strands did not appear to converge, and
the ending was disappointing. Whilst skilfully depicting the
pain of loss, Ms Dunmore's characters did not appear to interact in a satisfying manner. Perhaps I was unable to properly fathom the true meaning of the novel, but it was still
well worth reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here