Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2008
While it's an interesting tale, the final volume is just a bit of a let down. Everything, and I mean everything, gets tidily resolved. There are some silly bits in here too. You have people on the planet looking at shells being fired by space ships. You have the pilot of a space ship able to spot people on the planet. And then there's the scale of the worlds where these things live. You might think a gas giant planet would support more creatures than the earth as it is so much bigger, and the sun would support even more creatures as it is so much bigger than the gas giant planet - but this does not figure in the story at all.

And then there's the human chairman who seems able to run the entire Earth federation single handed with only the aid of a deputy. The person in charge of the Earth Defense Force is off commanding a space fleet. Really? Who's running the military while he's away then? You have to suspend your belief in the real world quite a bit with this tale. It's interesting but not a masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
One of 7 in the Saga of the Seven Suns series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
The first few books were good, but the final 4 got progressively worse to the point that the last was terrible. Shame
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
I have enjoyed reading this series of seven books,great science fiction and a touch of fantasy full of excitement adventure and mystery.A number of alien races and worlds,spaceships and weapons teleportation and much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2008
What a strange book.

I guess Kevin J. Anderson's "The Ashes of Worlds", the final book in his "Saga of Seven Suns", is an improvement over the previous volume, "Metal Swarm", which was action-packed but predictable and not very engrossing. TAOW contains a lot more intrigue, twists and turns - but I was left wishing that some of the action from Metal Swarm had been transferred into this book. In MS there was too much action; in TAOW there was too little. There is only really one major battle in this book, and that lasts a few pages. Everything gets resolved satisfactorily, and not without drama - but the action just isn't very epic compared to what has come before. It seemed like a let-down coming from the final book of such an immense series.

On the positive side, kudos to Anderson for resolving all plotlines in a satisfying way. And we mustn't, of course, forget to applaud him for the sheer AMBITION of what he was attempting to do with this series. Here we have sci-fi on a truly cosmic scale. We have battles between the elements themselves: fire, water, earth. We have whole planets destroyed and even whole suns extinguished as a result of the titanic conflicts waged in this series. That's massive. And the Klikiss robot Sirix was a really great character, in my opinion, and every scene with him in it was brilliantly envisioned.

But make no mistake, I had hoped for better than this from The Ashes of Worlds. Rather than ending the series with a planet-busting bang, TAOW ends it with a wental-water whimper, albeit an occasionally entertaining one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
The title says it all - it ties up the treads of all the separate and links story lines but it was a very tedious read, too predicable in part and along with last book goes down in my memory as an author with a contract to fulfil who has run out of the polish and structure that made the first few books must-reads. NOt recommended unless you must have resolution and can wade through depths of very ordinary prose entirely lacking any real engagement.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
I read the first 5 books as they came out and only recently bought the final two books.
Before getting them I read a review saying that they feel rushed.. that Anderson hurriedly wraps up all the arcs of the the story to their conclusions.
I disagree with this and think that the quality of the writing remains high and the final two books are a pleasure to read.
The ending is perfectly satisfying.. no cliff hanger but no sense of 'Oh. Is that it?' at the end.

If you're read the previous instalments you should definitely finish it off.
If you haven't read any of them then I thoroughly recommend this and the whole saga, to all those who like a bit of science fiction or just a good story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2008
A fitting end to a series that seemed like a never ending struggle to fill 7 books.
The characters where and kept being as flat as a pancake.
Most plots totally transparent.
Science dorky and old fashioned.
The end left too many lose ends, too many easy exits.
I got the last book in this series just because i already have the other 6, which, to be honest, i bought on the pretty cover and some reasonably good reviews of the first book.
I am going back to reading I.M. Banks and Dan Simmons, and i will never ever buy a book of Anderson again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2008
I have to admit, overall, I found this saga brilliant. I like the premise and for the first 4 to 5 books I could not put them down. They were easy to read, a lot of the characters and story lines were good and I generally found them very gripping. Unfortunately, as things progressed so they started to fall apart. The hydrogue war seemed to end in the blink of an eye/a few pages which left you feeling that the climax did not come close to the expectation which had been set by the climatic build up. Book 6 - The metal storm, left you feeling depressed and confused....a whole new set of storylines appeared (making you wonder how the hell they could be finished in the final book)and a lot of negative things happened...
Book 7 did manage to tie up all the loose ends..but it seemed rushed and in some cases the solutions to end storylines were a bit silly.

All in all I would recommend people read these books.. just be prepared to feel a little short changed at the end thats all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
I have read all of the seven volumes in this saga and enjoyed every one. The only criticism I have is that the Chairman was not skinned alive, or boiled in oil slowly or something equally dreadful and prolonged!
I also feel that he was given the wrong name in 'Wenceslas' 'cos 'Father Christmas'- he 'aint!

He is by far the most odious villain in any book I have read in a very long time, but congratulations to Kevin J Anderson for being able to create a character able to engender such revulsion in the reader. Also for all the other characters in the series, both heroes and villains, that made this last book of the series so well worth waiting for.

They say that everyone has a book inside waiting to get out. I hope very much that Kevin J Anderson has many more books and sagas just waiting to `get out!'

For Science Fiction Fans, one of the best series of books I have ever read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse