Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
71
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2017
A witty and accessible series, beautifully read by Adrian Dunbar - such a pity the series seems no longer available; I had to buy a second-hand copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
I want a Butler! Very clever, little Artemis is becoming quite compulsive reading, what a wonderful approach to puberty - Enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2006
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and exciting characters. There's Minerva Paradizo, a twelve year old French child genius who can give Artemis' brain cells a challenge, Doodah Day, a thief who's the Michael Schumacher of the Pixie world, Imp No. 1 the non-warping demon, and the megalomaniac Leon Abbot, but that's not all folks.

Way back when humans and fairies were fighting over the island of Ireland, the eighth fairy family, the Demons, refused to go live underground with the others, instead choosing to take their island home of Hybras into another time dimension until they were ready once again to attack the humans. Unfortunately, something went wrong with the transfer, and the whole island, demons and all ended up in Limbo. However, even time spells don't last forever, and as it unravels, demons begin appearing in the present, and even Foley can't work out exactly where the next one will pop up.

As you may have guessed, Artemis has already figured it out, and starts staking out the sites where demons are due to appear, but is thrown for a loop when he realizes that someone else has done the math, and that the demon he's been stalking has been demon-napped under his very nose. To make it worse, his new rival is a girl, albeit a very pretty one.

Book five has all the elements for an exciting read, including time travel, volcanoes, mercenaries, magical creatures (including a Yoda-like Warlock), and weapons - lots of weapons. There's also the code that runs along the bottom of each page, and I can tell you that it has to do with scrolls, demons and the slapping of rude body parts, but the rest is up to you to find out.

Another great addition to the Artemis Fowl series from Eoin Colfer, certified genius.

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Once again a great escape from reality into the crazy world of The People. This time Artemis has to deal with the demon island of Hybras falling out of time and rematerialising in the middle of the ocean. Not as funny as the previous books but I loved the addition of Number One and the warlocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2006
I saw this book splashed all over a table in a local bookstore and had to buy it - I didn't bother looking at the sleeve notes as any Artemis Fowl story is loaded with action from humans and fairies alike. Another rollercoaster ride for the Irish genius - dealing with another child prodigy, a new race of the people and battling with puberty. Has Artie met his match? Eoin Colfer does it again - and as an adult who finds it difficult to understand grown up books it gives me a chance to be whisked away into a new reality, like "the Discworld" or "the Edge". The plot twists and turns as Artemis thinks on his feet to avoid another disaster - with the aid of Butler, Holly and Mulch along with some new characters.

Keep up the good work Eoin
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
I loved it, just as I loved the other three books in this series. It's fun for children and adults: great story, funny and with "lessons" for the kids...

Artemis had come a long way from the money-obsessed teen kid with questionable morals we met in the first book: he's getting a bit of sunshine, making friends, alsosome enemies, but hey, nobody's perfect :-)

Next to Holly and Artemis we have a new main character, Number One, who I found really great: his comments were very funny at times, the characters is well develloped and will speak to kids who don't fit in well with the "in croud" or, maybe if they are part of the in-croud, make them understand kids who aren't...

Can't wait for a the next book to come out ! With the ending this book has, the next one should be fun !!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
What a winning combination: Eoin Colfer's wit and humour, and the vocal dexterity of English actor Nathaniel Parker. The Lost Colony demonstrates, once again, the author's marvellous blend of fantasy and techno-know-how (mind-spinning,at times) with delightful humour; and Nathaniel Parker hits the nail on the head with every character, bringing them brilliantly to life. Make sure you start with the first in the Artemis Fowl series, though: you won't want to miss the fun. For kids from 10 years to 110.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 October 2006
Artemis Fowl is back (finally)! I was terrified that my favorite Irish billionaire genius teenager was gone for good because author Eoin Colfer has been publishing a variety of books in the last couple of years that had nothing to do with good old Artemis. But, fortunately, the boy genius hasn't been forgotten. He's back and more brilliant than ever in this fifth installment of the high-tech fantasy series.

As THE LOST COLONY opens, Artemis is fourteen years old and experiencing the uncomfortable pangs of puberty. While that alone is enough to keep most teens busy for a few years, Artemis has to contend with his surging hormones while trying to save an entire fairy race as it teeters on the brink of extinction. But it's that kind of multitasking that has made Artemis Fowl an international sensation.

THE LOST COLONY has all the elements that Fowl fans have come to expect, including a dizzying array of fairy-issue gadgets, danger whizzing past our heroes from a variety of sources, ingenious plans, and a bodyguard who is as loyal as he is lethal. This book also includes a few new characters who were, for the most part, likeable and fun. The one notable exception is a twelve-year-old French girl who could give Artemis a run for his money in the genius category. She is pretty, rich, and highly annoying. I often found myself wishing that one of the other characters would "accidentally" dunk her in a sewer, or shave her head, or something equally unpleasant. Is it wrong for me to have feelings of aggression toward a fictional character? No, I don't think so. And you'll understand what I mean once you read the book.

Fans of the ARTEMIS FOWL series will not be disappointed in this newest adventure. There were a few problems with the story, including some hard-to-follow descriptions of how Artemis and company escape their latest predicament, and an irritating French girl (see above).
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2006
I really enjoyed this book - I always do the Artemis Fowl series - but I was a bit disappointed with a couple of things. Artemis starts off being up against another child genius and it looks like things are building to a real show down, but he wins far too easily and quickly! I think there was a missed opportunity there. The idea of a demon world, isolated in time and space from the rest of the universe was pretty good. I hope it gets explored in later books. The idea of a violence-driven male society that despises refinement and represses the females could be pretty relevant!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 September 2006
Averaging one a year, Eion Colfer's Artemis Fowl series is no rush-job, I am increasingly enjoying and looking forward to every entry more than the Harry Potter series. Colfer's magical world just seems more accessible and imaginative. And he is constantly changing the type of story rather than just another labored part of a single massive arc.

Slightly longer this time around, the book has Artemis tracking demon activity on the time-displaced island of Hybras. The time spell which keeps Hybras stuck in oblivion is beginning to unravel and Artemis is busy investigating how to fix it when a 12-year-old French female rival (and love interest) kidnaps an insecure, classically educated demon, just as he manifests on Earth, right under Artemis' nose. Not knowing what trouble she has started, Artemis must break into her chatau, travel to Taiwan and match wits with her psychotic security in the Taipei 101 Tower to get the demon back before travelling to Hybras to fix the time spell with Captain Holly in tow.

I especially like the relationship between Artemis and Holly. Once enemies but now close friends. And the ending, not only including an imaginative and pretty damn cool twist, in which they become a part of each other forever (not giving anything away) was a nice touch.

As usual it's packed with ultra-technology that always seems realistic now matter how far-fetched, the typical amount of globe-trotting and the right amount of humor.

Artemis Fowl is definitely the best fantasy boy-hero. Harry Who?
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse