Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 June 2017
Light reading good holiday read about someone who I've listened to a lot over the years but didn't know a lot about not an attention seeker never made our TV screens on music programmes so obviously not a face for TV but good on the radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2018
Always been a fan of Johnnie Walker the Dj and still listen to his Sunday afternoon show and the occasional interviews. I loved the book from start to finish which made me smile and shed some tears. Respect for warts and all story of his amazing life. Look forward to his next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2018
good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
Revival of the sixties and seventies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
Loved it, every word, every picture. Lots of memories of Radio Caroline. So glad to have read this, want update.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
great insight into the great dj
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
Good Read. Johnnie has certainly had his fair share of ups and downs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
Great audio book about a great DJ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2018
Not if is he'd reading yet but so far very enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2007
Having known him only as the voice of Radio 2's Drivetime and in short a bloody good DJ I was amazed at reading the 'real' life of Johnnie Walker. I am a 60s and 70s music and entertainment nut and bought this book on a whim principally to get a new first hand account of that era.

I was pleasently surprised by Johnnie's amazing history. The passages concerning his attempts to gain work in the states are probably the best written. Reading of his treks from state to state with his small son reminded me of a classic Hollywood tearjerker just waiting to be filmed.

Candid, in depth and no holds barred, Johnnie isnt afraid to put his hands up to being a prat at times, unlike some authors who take the autobiog route; and his recollections of drug abuse and his inability to be happy are all honest. Likewise his honesty regarding his beliefs and faiths are also refreshing. His fight with cancer is covered well, largely by his wife Tiggy, I sense for the man himself, this is still to raw to fully confront.

If I have one complaint its that a little more may have been covered regarding his showbiz circles, there are several pictures of him hobnobbing with rock stars throughout his varied career yet little tidbits regarding them. But that is all.

In short, an engrossing read, bought on holiday and read in one day.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse