Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2017
A well written book, with copious examples, of how language is used and how it is constructed. Pinker doesn't always agree with the status quo, but he gives some good reasons when he doesn't. But these details don't really impinge. The interest for me was in the sheer scope of the book's material. Well worth a punt if you are interested in that subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
The condition of the book was excellent. I am very impressed with how fast I recived the item as well. However, the book didn't look the same as the image on this website but that is a minor issues considering how brilliant the condition is and how fast I recieved it. I would reccomend this book for anyone who is looking to go to university and study Psychology or linguistics. This is also on the suggested reading list for Oxford University in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Just got this. And it looks good. There is a problem, however, with the index. Due to what appears to have been a mistake by the publishers. The page number for every index entry is wrong. If you see an item in the index listed on page 100 you will, in fact, find it on page 98. Every index page reference seems to be 2 pages beyond where it should be. Be sure to take this into account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Not convinced by his argument. Underestimates human creativity in language acquisition. Part of his arguement seems circular. Very interesting though with many good points and helps to frame the overall argument well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
I think I received another version but it's a good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
This is such a stimulating book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Recommended reading in my psych undergrad degree. Really good, accessible reading. Not like reading a text book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
I've had this on my 'to-read' list for many years and have only recently got to it. I read a lot of non-fiction, particularly science and business books. This one, however, while very good was hard work at times. While it's very informative and often challenges the way you think about language it's also laboured at times. It gets into a lot of details and technical information, and the author seems to love quoting long passages from others. With some judicious editing, you could cut one hundred pages or so and rather than lose anything the book would probably be better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
A vivid presentation of how the human mind reacts to the language. Through series of varied chapters Pinker creates space for new discoveries about language functions and expresses their relevance. A very enticing read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)