Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 19 January 2018
Kingsley was certainly one of the best English writers, evidenced by the use of language in this book. Amis deploys his wit and humour in this tale of an unconventional and erratic lecturer, who brings a little unruliness and offence to the rigidity of 1950s academia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
Read it four times and still laugh out loud. The characters are archetypes echoing down the decades. I had a Welch boss, a creepy, sneak colleague (Johns) and a pompous adversary (Bertrand) and we all have a Jim inside us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2015
Although this book is about university life in the 1950's a lot of the humour and relationships between the characters hold true today. Some of the observations made by the author through his main character more generally within the book, I found thought provoking and reminded me of my own thoughts, discoveries and decisions from my mid 20's. The main characters' professional and romantic struggles combine to make this a well-paced and entertaining book throughout. Whilst not laugh out loud funny today, it remains an enjoyable and amusing story that I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
Kingsley Amis is one of our most celebrated storytellers a comic writer at the top of his game
Treat yourself to "Lucky Jim" and enjoy.
Btw Swestbooks are a super Internet book supplier.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2018
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2016
On a mission to read some modern classics - this didn't disappoint. Very funny and a lovely insight into a vanished world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2017
A funny story that you need to read at loud with a group of friends to enjoy even better!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
Excellent story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Just what I wanted. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
Love this to bits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse