Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2009
Sinatra fans will know that 1953 was a watershed year for his recordings, when he signed with Capitol records. Teamed with the arranger Nelson Riddle and encouraged to sing in a lower register, Frank recorded superlative versions of many of the classic American Songbook entries which have not been bettered to this day.

64 of the tracks in the box set come from this era, and are pretty much all outstanding (although there are some glaring omissions like "All The Way" and "Chicago"). The remainder range from so-so to surprisingly good, covering the period 1946 to 1952, so in terms of content this box set can be recommended.

What lets this set down however is the uniformly disappointing sound quality. Listenable but quite poor. At a time when more and more of Frank's Capitol output is being released at a bargain price in excellent sound quality, it is a shame that these tracks sound like they have been taken from MP3s. At least the difference between the later and earlier tracks is not so noticable as they sound uniformly poor.

At 100 tracks for this price , you can't say this is a bad buy and if you are not concerned about sound quality, then this could be the one for you. If you are an audiophile, however, perhaps you should look elsewhere.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
I grew up listening to Sinatra. I can sit for hours and lose myself completely in his fantastic swing-along style. We have an amazing music collection but this one's just for me. I love it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
There are most of the best ones on there but where is New york new york and fly me to the moon.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2016
Great album at a great price. Though I have many of Frank's recordings I heard this at an Hotel we were staying at and there were tracks I had not heard before. It was cheap enough to buy even for those few additional recordings. Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
A very enjoyable collection of songs by Frank Sinatra. However, the good songs are interspersed with some rather run-of-the-mill recordings, and this somewhat spoils the overall listening experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
This is a great value for any Jazz fan out there,the quality is good and the assortment of songs is just mind blowing!Buy it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
Was slightly disappointed as some of the classics weren't on the cd & there are 4, there are a few that are not so good- brought back some memorys though many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Purchased this as a tribute to my mum who had just died and we wanted Autumn Leaves and Nancy with the Laughing Face for her funeral as her name was Nancy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Great Track, thats why I downloaded it, Sounds Great on my MP3 player, Very quick Download. Would Recommend to anybody
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
The voice never sounded so good .This is the one to buy . The best value for money bar none
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here