Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10

on 9 August 2014
This is a good book if you have some familiarity with Cocoa or Cocoa Touch and you are interested in writing good, well-organised, reusable code. The book has a few years now so it is more relevant for desktop programming rather than iPhone programming, but except for a couple of chapters most of it can be very helpful if you are into iOS programming as well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2014
Had programmed using Cocoa, but more like monkey-see-monkey do approach. After reading this you will understand how it all fits together and will be able to better understand how to fit all the peaces together into a robust application.

Book is bit outdated but still serves it purpose excellent. Worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
not light reading but interesting stuff laid out well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2009
For me, this book is *essential* to understanding Cocoa. I'm the sort of person who has to get the theory behind something before I really grok it, so this book did for me what a few other Cocoa books couldn't. I get it, and I'm being productive in it. Brilliant.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2014
Very good book to develop well structured code.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2013
This is a brilliant book, however it is badly in need of an update. Being written in 2009 it uses the old UI system, manual reference counting etc. Other than that it makes many of the design paradigms very clear, though the use of storyboards in more recent versions of xcode has even changed some of these slightly (e.g. the use of delegates is a bit less central). Still essential reading - just wait for an update!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2010
Cocoa Design Patterns is a book that you shouldn't be without. It offers solutions to so many common design problems, but also explains why you should use the offered solution, and why there is a problem in the first place.

Each Design Pattern is split up into different sections that explain why you should do what it is telling you to.

This book is such an excellent resource, that it may actually cost you money not to buy it in the longrun; that's how much better your software will function with the solutions in this book applied.

I enjoyed this book so much that I red it cover-to-cover, but I will also definitely be keeping it as a reference on my book shelf in my office.

Definitely buy this book, it's well worth the money.

Joshua Lee Tucker
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2009
This is a great reference book for the developer who wants to learn about new design patterns. The book requires that you understand Objective-C and have a working knowledge of the Cocoa framework. You will learn about patterns that you've seen in Cocoa but hadn't really thought about and then how you can apply these techniques to your own applications. A great read!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2011
This book is essential if you want to be faster to create Cocoa (and Objective-c) code that is better, reusable and comply with a design pattern.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
Excellent book. I bought this to improve my iOS development, I found it incredibly well written, and well structured, answering all the questions I had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)