Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 July 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 January 2016
I bought this for my recently bereaved mother. I think it will be interesting for her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2009
Well done Sheila, I thoroughly enjoyed your book as I had the first book "The two of Us". She is a very intelligent and interesting lady, it is a good book and well worth reading thank you very much....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2009
I loved `The Two of Us', Sheila's autobiography of her life with John Thaw, and felt doubtful that she could recreate the warmth and quality of this book in a volume entirely about herself and her dealings with widowhood. However, I've never been more wrong - this is an honest, enlightening account of her experiences as a widow, which has inspired me more than any other book I have ever read. Sheila's spirit, her vivacity and sheer courage are alive on every page, and I found myself reading this as slowly as possible, in order to savour every word. It's hard to believe this feisty chick is 75 years old!
This book should be prescribed on the NHS to the depressed, the recently-bereaved and the down-at-heart, as it's more soul-soothing than any self-help book. Please carry on writing Sheila; you're as good an author as you are an actress!
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2016
Enjoyed reading this book, but realised how much easier it is to go through the process of bereavement and grief if you have money. Not many of us could afford the distracting holidays Ms Hancock took. I am not saying it is easy to lose a life partner, but harder if you have money worries and can't afford a holiday.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2008
Authors reading their own work can sometimes be a mistake, but not in this case.

Sheila Hancock delivers her words as if she is saying them for the first time, giving me, the listener, the sort of intimate experience the work deserves. It is like listening to an audio letter from an old, dear friend.

There is much more to this than simply learning to go on holiday or eat in a restart alone - as much of the publicity surrounding the launch suggested - and it will bear repeat listening.

She is clearly a very interesting, intelligent woman, not something you can say about all actresses, and her tales of times old and recent make up a revealing, but definitely not sensationalistic, picture of someone I wished I'd known better before.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2009
I really enjoyed this book by Sheila Hancock, all the places she travelled to, I believe the reader is on that travel journey.

Provence sounded very nice and telling us about Milan I thought was great.

Of course Sheila had appeared on the BBC 2 programme called WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE and that was real good television. So as I read about Milan and Bexleyheath I could picture in my mind all these things that had been featured in the BBC 2 programme.

As you know Sheila's husband was the actor John Thaw who appeared in a lot of programmes and I thought he was a brilliant actor.

Sheila has many talents and I hope that she will write another book very soon.

I've given the book five stars I think it deserves a lot more than that and for anyone who has not read the book then you are in for a good read.

One word sums it up - Fantastic and all the best to Sheila.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2009
Having read 'The Two of Us" and loved Sheila's writing, I had to read this too and it is joy. My heart broke for her all over again on several occasions and I did hug my husband more tightly after reading it.
But this is not just about widowhood, although it would be so very helpful to someone in that situation.
Sheila has such a light touch and her intelligence, sensitivity and sense of fun leap from the page.
Don't be put off by thinking this is a depressing book about a widow - it is so much more than that. It is by turns heartbreaking, thought provoking, informative, inspirational and ultimately, uplifting.
Thank you Sheila for a beautifully written, highly enjoyable book. xxx
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2008
This account by Sheila Hancock of how she coped with widowhood is honest, gripping and nicely-written.
I am not sure who it is intended for....other widows, perhaps, who might (while they are reading this) aquire a little of Mrs Thaw's courage in getting out there after deciding that life, what's left of it, is worth living after all.
It might help other women who find themselves in her situation.
And any single person who travels will sympathise and identify with her graphic account of how it feels to walk into a hotel restaurant for dinner and a table for one. (Take a book!)
I think she's gutsy, and a good writer.
33 Comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here