Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 January 2013
I have all three Kings of Convenience albums and this is my favourite. All the instruments are acoustic and therefore it has a more chilled out feel. The harmonies, lyrics and melodies are at there peak on this album. Ive listened to it countless times and will continue to for some time because it is so easy on the ear. There is only one track ( no 2) that Im not keen on. The guitar in track 1 is just beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2009
Love takes on many forms and when at the Warwick Arts Centre KOC gig a man just in front of me shouted 'I love you' and for the first time in my heterosexual life I felt like saying the same to not one, but two men. They played many of the tracks that appear on this album and some how managed to exceed the quality. 'Boat Behind' was truly brought to life by the wonderful violinist.

In many respect this album is very similar to the two previous ones. '24-25' and 'Mrs Cold' set the tone and high standard. 'Renegade' was my favourite song from the gig. It's powerful emotional lyric is truly haunting.

Kings of Convenience are an amazing band whose genius is sadly largely unknown. This album was well worth waiting for and I hope we don't have to wait another 4 years for the next.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2009
Erlend Øye and Eirik Glambek Bøe, Norway's new millennial Simon & Garfunkel are back, issuing a DECLARATION OF DEPENDENCE five life- and world-altering years after RIOT ON AN EMPTY STREET.

This time around, Kings of Convenience are Feist-less but lyrically feisty. DECLARATION OF DEPENDENCE is an album that seems open to interpretation on at least three different levels - personal, artistic, and global.

In addition to the album's title, songs such "Rule My World," "Freedom and Its Owner," "Peacetime Resistance" and "Scars on Land" suggest that the Kings have been thinking much about a world dominated by a single global superpower. If so, they sound less than impressed. "Only someone who's morally superior/can possibly and honestly deserve/to rule my world."

At the same time, maybe these are just metaphors to reinforce the fact that love remains a battlefield, as in songs such as "Mrs Cold" and "Me In You."

"Boat Behind" could be about two lost lovers or two childhood friends getting back to work together: "So we meet again after several years... of separation/Moving on moving around/Did we spend this time chasing the other's tail?"

As with Quiet Is the New Loud and Riot on an Empty Street, this new album is gentle, catchy, and packed with songs that are real "growers." Played low, it's delightful background music. Louder or through headphones, its lyrical punch is clearer, with sad-wise lyrics giving a melancholy edge to its summery sound.

Ultimately, however you interpret these songs, Kings of Convenience recognize the simple truth that in today's globally connected, interdependent world, actions have consequences. And relationships matter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2012
If you are a new to KOC then this album is nothing different to the deep rich vocals and crystal clear mellow tones you would expect from them. They could be accused of not changing their style or advancing their music boundaries, but hey! Why change a winning formula, this is not rock, hip hop, or dance. This is excellent easy listening tunes in which you can hear and feel the lyrics, if your that way inclined you can almost lose yourself in the cruisy melodies this group throws out.
The two singer songwriters hail from Norway and together produce stirring guitar rifts and sublime vocals and although they have never charted in the top 50 in the UK with their albums or indeed a single they are a hugely understated indie folk band.
I am not going to pull apart each track on this album as I am far from a music critic but I will say that none of them are disappointing and this album should leave you feeing very chilled.
So buy it, find some time to unwind, grab a beer or a good wine and listen to this album on a good quality system with the volume loud enough to drown out any other noise, relax and enjoy.
Thanks for taking the time to read this review.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2012
These young guys have no pretense of grandiosity. They write honest music from their humble but open and vulnerable hearts, and this is why it sticks. This is why it touches. On this record they dropped mostly using other instruments and stick to two voices and two guitars. The result is a touching little masterpiece. At least this is how it feels to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2009
I think I'm one of the few who found KOCs second album slightly disappointing and this album returns more to what they were doing back in 2000, possibly because it's alot more acoustic.
The songs perhaps don't quite have the depth or the variation of that first album, and I agree with Time Out: it's 'nothing fans haven't heard before'. But where as I tried to make myself enjoy the fresh approach of Riot On An Empty Street, it was the sound they're returning to in this new venture that I had enjoyed. 24-25, Mrs.Cold, Rule My World are good places to start getting an idea. This isn't just a regurgitation, it is very strong in it's own right and certainly a grower.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2009
Having caught a lingering snippet of 'Boat Behind', it took just a short time to find the KOC website.This gave a further chance to listen to some of the other tracks and what to expect. Each track reveals that the songs and subjects are strong, with the added perfection of complimenting vocals. This CD is to be listened to late into the evening, during a highly recommended wind-down period. Strongest tracks are Boat Behind (where Stephen Grappelli meets CSNY) and the inward looking My Ship Isn't Pretty. Finally, Freedom and its Owner, possibly a Travelogue of the writers heart! Any way you look at it, the whole album is worthy of your precious time.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2009
Another deft, delicate album arrives from the classy duo making intelligent yet emotional, long-lasting mellow-wise songs.

I'm relieved and inspired that the Kings have maintained their quality, and the voices are as rich and as blended here with their rich guitars as ever.

The understatement wields a deft balance, and the inclusion of higher vocals in places - Me in You - makes you catch your breath again.

I just wish there was still more... more light, atmospheric rhythms and more light touches.
That's a hallmark of a good album though .. and hopefully, there will be...

Continuing to prove that quiet is still the best loud. And right up there next to my Laura Veirs and Embertime ;) albums...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2012
This is an exceptional piece of music by two excellent musicians,who have great vocals and neat guitar work. Reminds me of some old fashioned Simon and Garfunkel, without sounding too folky and twee. The arrangements are well executed and the cd is worth listening time and again. There is a growing maturity compared to the previous two albums, though I still like the first one more than the second. If you like to soothe the busying mindset with lovely sounds then I'd recommend this cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2013
I chose a full 5 stars ,as for me, this is an absolute must buy if you love the great guitar playing alone but blended with great lyrics and cool harmonies you cannot got wrong. Have a listen on youtube if you need to hear them first but a great buy that you will love every track on the cd ( not a thing I have come across often )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Quiet Is The New Loud
£3.99
Versus
£9.99
I'd Rather Dance With You
£2.09
Failure
£2.49

Need customer service? Click here