Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 August 2015
The Kris Longknife novels form an ongoing series, before reading Undaunted, if you are new to the series I highly recommend reading these first:

1 - Kris Longknife: Mutineer
2 - Kris Longknife: Deserter
3 - Kris Longknife: Defiant
4 - Kris Longknife: Resolute
5 - Kris Longknife: Audacious
6 - Kris Longknife: Intrepid

So Undaunted then, this is really the first book in the series that starts opening up the universe to a long term story arc Mike Shepherd has been paving towards for a while now. As always the plot follows Wardhaven Princess and Navy Officer Kris Longknife. During her travels on her exploration ship The Wasp Kris stumbles upon a vessel of the Iteeche, an alien race that hummanity had a devastating war with over eighty years previously and have rarely seen since. The vessel isn't there by accident though, it is an envoy and has travelled towards human space to pass on a warning to her grandfather King Ray.

I really liked this book. The action is a lot thinner on the ground than some of the previous titles, involving a lot more diplomacy not only with the Iteeche but also among other human factions and I loved pretty much all of it. Opening up the galaxy and steering away from the Peterwalds gave the book a fresh feeling and as usual the banter between the cast is often amusing. Speaking of which, some of the bonds between the characters are explored a bit more after a certain event occurs, Mike Shepherd has been slowly fleshing out the core of Kris's group as time goes on.
On the negative side I will say there were some awkward moments regarding Kris and the Iteeche envoy that were a little disturbing and completely unnecessary though, just really jarring though it doesn't hurt the overall book any I just can't figure out the point.

Overall a great book in the series for fans clearly leading up to something greater in the scheme of things. Recommended.

+ Introduction of the Iteeche.
+ Some more personal character moments.
+ Cast banter is amusing.
+ Less action is a nice change of pace but still engrossing.

- Some weird moments/thoughts between Kris and the Iteeche.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2016
Has Kris Longknifes luck finally faltered? Having faced several deadly threats, could a bunch of cowboys succeed where everyone else has failed and usually perished in trying.
With humanity fragmenting into several factions, some of these are in a near civil war level of turmoil, add to that the aliens that were almost responsible for the extintion of the human race, are rumoured to be back to take advantage of the human in fighting.
All in all Kris has her work cut out for her this time.
Kris problems mount on several fronts, a non stop thrill a minute read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 December 2009
Seventh in a series of military science fiction novels centering on the exploits of Kris Longknife, member of a powerful military family finding her own path in life and using her talents to stop fighting on colony worlds. New readers could probably get into this volume relaitively easily but there's a lot of backstory by now and as such I'd advise starting with the first volume instead Mutineer (Kris Longknife Novels).

Not least because the series is very good and they're all worth reading.

This instalment runs for approx 351 pages and 41 chapters and sees Kris and her crew come into contact with the Iteeche, a race of aliens whom humanity once fought a war with, slightly before Kris's time. So she has to break the language barrier with them. Find out why they'll only talk to her grandfather in regards to a message they have to deliver. Deal with differing factions on a colonial world not unlike a certain american state. And then the ramifications of what the aliens want are only just beginning...

Added to which she's still got a precocious twelve year old passenger who is giving her personal computer bad habits and at least one relationship might have to be evaluated.

As ever with this series it's the little details that make it so entertaining. Two hundred pages without any action, just Kris's attempts at diplomacy and dealing with onobard situations, fairly fly by and there's no problem with there being no action. The planetary situation is then the main focus for the next hundred pages. This is quite and interesting world and there's one major event in the middle of things that will make you gasp.

And then after that Kris has difficult choices to make.

All of which will have to be dealt with in later volumes.

But this is such a good read that it makes you eager to get to those volumes when they come out, so it does what it needs to do.

Another entertaining read in an entertaining series
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 December 2009
Ok. If you are reading then there is a very good chance you will have read, and enjoyed the previous six adventures of Kris Longknife and her almost private army. Mike Shepherd takes a slightly different tack in this tale of high adventure. Longknife finally meets up with the dread Iteeche, only previously mentioned in dark tones in the earlier books, and being the unconventional, bold character she is, becomes involved in a dialogue rather than a war. Now this thread takes up most of the book and as I read it I started to think 'Part 1 of...' - not that there is anything wrong with that - Mike Shepherd's style and ease with his characters makes the book at one absorbing and enjoyable. Of course no Kris Longknife book is complete without action in the form of explosions, shoot-outs, mayhem and a couple of twists - I'm not going to say anything about that, don't want to spoil the read for anyone - however Jack is a bit more prevalent- and we've still got the 'R' word hovering between Jack and Kris. Yes this certainly leads into the next in the series, and I for one can't wait! - In the meantime- Simply going to have to start reading the whole series again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
Once again another great addition to the ever growing Kris Longknife series. The addition of Jack Campbell as a captain of vessel called Dauntless was an unexpected but lovely surprise. And shows one authors respect for another
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2013
The adventures continue... seriously, if you haven't read any of the Kris Longknife books, go out & buy the 1st book! I guarantee that if you like we'll executed sci-fi you'll gobble these stories up to! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2016
Good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2017
A half-decent plot does warrant two stars in what is nevertheless the weakest instalment so far.

The main problem is that the main protagonist remains emotionally adolescent, seeking security with either nice (the late Tommy Lien, Iteeche Ron) or "strong" (Jack) men. This is expressed in a particularly blatant (and grossly sexist) passage on p.220: "Since Kris would gladly trade half her net worth to have just half of what Cindy Lu had in her bra, it didn't sound like all that bad an idea." All through the series Kris is worried by her plainness and her "long nose". An interesting case of an author diminishing (even demeaning) his supposed heroine.

Then in Ch.32 we have Jack mooning, as if he were 16, over the potential loss of his life and love. The author's view of his protagonists' projected mental processes is in itself that of a 16-year old. It's quite painful to read this.

A second black mark has to be awarded to the increasingly irritating "Nelly". The dialogue between Kris and her AI are degenerating into infantilism, to the point of being unreadable. Fortunately, nothing is lost by skimming or even skipping them, written as they are for the intellectual level of 12-year olds. One would hope not to encounter them in future instalments, nor the insufferably "cute" Abby and Cara. Some hope...

Oh - and we have the "lopsided grin" back again. In the early volumes it was Tommy, now it's Jack. The author clearly does a lot of his writing on autopilot.

Of course, the author's handling of dialogue has been his major weakness throughout - clumsy style, pedestrian dicta. His descriptions of actions/events work much better, but we don't get as much of these here as in earlier volumes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2013
"Undaunted" reads like either the author or (more likely) the editor couldn't really be bothered. The biggest and most annoying plot hole is the mysterious threat, which the characters seem to think is about to explode on them, but hasn't actually done anything particularly aggressive.

You've also got Admirals attempting petty theft (badly) for little apparent reason, AIs getting confused by things they frankly shouldn't, and in general the sci-fi in the series is kind of weak on the sci. Still, I've enjoyed plowing through the series up to this point and I'll continue on - I just hope this book doesn't mark a real downturn in quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2009
Well, I quite liked this. But there are some problems...

The blurb on the back basically misrepresents the book. It claims that there is an "unidentifiable force that is roaming the galaxy, obliterating everything in its path - a path now leading directly toward human space." Well there isn't. At least not in this book.

What we actually have is Kris Longknife doing a bit of alien diplomacy and solving a human-human problem in a remarkably blood-free (for her) way.

The second, and more long range, problem is that the Iteeche are basically the least alien aliens I can remember. As the book is clearly only the opening for more involvement (and possibly Xenophily, but we'll leave that to Kris) this is going to become much more apparent in the next book(s) I suspect.

But, as I said right at the beggining, I did quite like it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse