Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 December 2009
The lights are good the instructions are rubbish.
Particularly for inserting the batteries in the front light it says 'undo screw, slide out lens unit' - DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DO THIS. The base of the light unit comes off to insert the batteries, the lens unit is fixed and could break if you follow the instructions and try applying some force.
The base of the unit also appears fixed/sealed but prising open with a sharp knife will do the job.Smart Polaris 7 Lux Front with 1/2 Watt Rear Light Set (Batt.Inc.)
44 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
I really wouldn't use a blade.
As said above, it's only the lower half of the black section that comes off, even though it looks like it's molded together. Hold the light upside down, holding the transparent section in one hand and the bit that will attach to the bike in the other, between your thumb and forefinger at each side, at the point where it widens towards the front. Squeeze these two sides together to loosen the catch slightly while twisting both hands in opposite directions. It's easier after the first go.
The company seriously needs to sticker a correction to avoid injuries or broken lights!

The lights work fine after that. If they're anything like the previous (silver coloured) model, they do very well even if waterlogged - I let it dry out for a few days and it worked fine afterwards. They detatch/attach to the bike clip very quickly.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
5 stars for the rear light.
3 stars for the front light(if you use it in order to see)

If you just want to be seen, this is the best and cheepest set ever
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
I wanted a set of lights for my wife's bike to make her more visible, these certainly do te job. The 1/2 watt rear light is blinding and certainly gets the attention of approaching drivers. The front light is bright enough, not sure if I like the gimmicky blue light to let you know the lights on though.
My only criticism is that to get the bracket for the front light to fit I had to take the clip apart and re-position it. This in it's self isn't a problem but I realised that the clip for the light is held on by I screw and the plate for the clip mount moves around a bit. Nothing serious, not going to loose the light but could be better designed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
I bought these for my son to use to ride to and from school, now the winter is drawing in. I currently use the same rear light on my mountain bike when I'm on the trails. I can say that the rear light is extremely bright - it hurts to look at it !! The front light in the set is not going to illuminate the road ahead but will certainly make you more visible to other road users when daylight starts to fade. Ideal for commuters

As said before the front light can be a pain to open - DO NOT USE BLADES !

All in all a fair price for a good set of lights
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
as you already know this lite is not made to see but to be seen. both lights are very strong. front one will make just very narrow beam of light, so no good for night cross country, but you wont expect that for this money.
there is no cons for this price. if you comuting in london, where all streets are lighted pretty well, this perfect for you and you wont cry if some @activist@ will steal it as price is very low.
100% spot on. would buy it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
Bought the head light last year, it has a good powerful light beam and batteries seems lasting long. However lately, to ensure it stays switched off, I have to remove the batteries! Also more recently I have to press the on-off button several times to turn it on again. The cause of the fault might be the damp weather, but it's driving me mad, soon I will have to purchase a different brand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I am really happy with these lights and use them daily in all weather conditions.
The back light is really bright and the battery has lasted.
The front light is also bright and has a sort of side window which makes you more visable to traffic approaching from the side at junctions.
The clamp is good and if the price was right I would consider purchasing again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Ordered yesterday at around 3, arrived today mid- morning. Was expecting "2-3 days" but well impressed with Wheelies delivery times!

As for the lights, putting the batteries in the front light is a bit of a trick as already noted but otherwise they seem ok. Time will tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
I'll defo go with the 5star rear light but the beam is to narrow on the front light to be much use in the dark - especially if you cycle at speed.
I'll use this on flash to be seen but looks like another purchase to see with. Oh, and use a knife on the case!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)