Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 10 February 2010
Quick arrival and just as described. However have now used a few times and burn marks have appeared on the grill making it look as if it has been used for ever!. Still warms up the room amazingly quick which is why we bought it.
22 Comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
Superfast delivery, ordered one day delivered the next. Easy to connect to bottled gas. Gave it a quick test run and all seems fine, just waiting for the cold weather now. Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
Bought this as we were hit by a particularly severe "cold snap". We live in a big old (cold) Victorian house, but this unit heats rooms up quickly. Looks good too.
22 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Didn't realise that I would keep having to vent my room a couple of times an hour which sort of defeats the point of heating it up. However the unit works exactly as it says it should so I can't fault it.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
Fire works ok but it is very difficult to turn on just being a small knob on the back which has to be pulled out and turned at the same time . Wouldnt reccomend it for anyone who has problems with hand mobility.
Uses quiet a bit of gas too so quiet expensive to use.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
most Calor Gas portable heaters are very similar in operation. i recently bought a new one - which came with wholly inadequate, even dangerous, instructions.
only after finally ringing the local calor gas supplier did i find out how to safely connect the regulator to the cylinder, and various other facts.
to help those entirely new to portable calor gas heaters, i've put together the following instructions - hopefully comprehensive and clear. i apologise for the formatting having been lost in transit! :-)

CALOR GAS HEATER INSTRUCTIONS

1) CONNECTING REGULATOR TO CYLINDER

IMPORTANT: check that there are no sources of naked flame, and that mobile is switched off.

remove valve cap from butane cylinder
connect regulator to cylinder by pressing it down firmly on the valve, until there is a very slight click
test that regulator is firmly in place by trying to pull it off cylinder
if it detaches, try again
do not use until regulator is firmly attached and cannot be pulled off cylinder

2) TURNING HEATER ON

turn the regulator tap anti-clockwise, opening it fully
(there should be a slight hiss)
press down on control (on top of heater) and turn it from 'start' to '1'
keep it held down (at '1') while counting to 10
press ignition button once (still holding down control)
if pilot flame lights, continue to hold down control whilst counting to 15
release control
if pilot light goes out, hold down control and repeat ignition steps

3) TURNING HEATER OFF

press control down and return to 'start' position
close tap on regulator by turning clockwise
if heater is not to be used again for some time, check that there are no sources of naked flame, and that mobile is switched off
then remove regulator from cylinder and replace safety cap on valve

4) SAFETY

if heat and pilot light do not extinguish when regulator tap is closed, leave heater alight and ring 08457 444 999 (Calor emergency service)
if at any time there is a strong smell of escaping gas, close regulator tap on cylinder, and ventilate area
check that there are no sources of naked flame, and that mobile is switched off
remove regulator from cylinder and replace safety cap over valve. if possible, put gas cylinder outdoors. then ring 08457 444 999
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
My partner purchased this item and on arrival we discovered that the regulator was faulty.
We where sent a replacement by amazon only to find another fault..the gas outlet was too far away from the ignition spark to light.
We have now received a third replacement and though the previous two problems are not there.
The control panel on top is very badly fitted and will not fit properly and moves up and down.
Amazon have been very good with regards to this however the company KINGAVON are absolutely un contactable and no one ever answers the phone number avaliable for them.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This heater is better looking and more compact that my old one (bought more than 30 years ago !) I love the way it folds in at the back for much easier storage. The instruction booklet is not very clear and could do with a lot more information, hence the 4 rather than 5 stars. However, the real plus point for me was the delivery service. I was e-mailed advising which day it would come. On the day I was e-mailed to confirm what time it would arrive, given the option of asking for another day and/or delivery to a neighbour. The van arrived exactly within the hours time slot given and the driver even carried it in for me - brilliant service. In all I have been left feeling warm both inside and out !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
although having an initial problem with the item purchaced, i could not fault the replaced item or the company with which i dealt with. i would deal with them again if needs be.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
This heats up a room very quickly and is easily rolled around the house even with the cylinder in place. Easy to light and increase and decrease the heat but on full heat is usually too much, even for the cat! Only 4 stars because the gas has to be turned on and off each time with a small and rather stiff knob on the regulator on the head of the cylinder round the back and is not managed from the controls on the top of the unit(I have slight arthritis in the hands and somtimes struggle with this).
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)