Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 July 2017
Love the Artic Monkeys and wasn't disappointed with this "blind purchase",
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Very good lovely sound easy on the ear woth every penny in fact my friend penny love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Amazing album and arrived in good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2016
Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2008
This is a very solid album, surprisingly good considering it's only a 'side project'. You don't need to be an Arctic Monkeys or Rascals fan to appreciate it, though if you don't like Alex Turner's voice then it won't be for you; he takes on the majority of vocal duties.

Full of (mostly) subtle orchestration and vocal harmonies, it sounds at times quite like the music you'd expect to find in a movie, perhaps a Bond soundtrack (listen to the intro to 'In My Room' and you'll understand). Most of the tracks have a frantic, energetic pace to them, particularly the title track and 'Black Plant'. Imagine the Arctic Monkeys, playing acoustically with an orchestra backing them and you've probably got a decent idea of the sound. The album is just as good when they slow the songs down and trade vocals, like in the brooding 'I Don't Like You Anymore'. It's more 'mature' and serious than anything they've released though, with the lyrics simpler and less wordy than Alex's usual fare. It's not particularly upbeat, all of the songs are quite dark and moody (though 'Meeting Place' gives a welcome respite from this, if not with the lyrics, at least with a more cheerful sound).

This probably won't be as well received as an Arctic Monkeys album, but it's just as good. There's a further depth to it that is lacking sometimes from their normal work, and it's nice to see two artists doing something experimental and different. The title is well chosen; the album is quite understated, definitely one that will grow the more times you listen to it.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 September 2013
I'm an avid fan of the Arctic Monkeys anyway, but sometimes, if I want to listen to Alex Turner, I actually find myself opting for The Last Shadow Puppets, his chart-topping side project with his long-term friend, the brilliant Miles Kane (whose's solo albums I have constantly had on repeat).

The combination between Alex and Miles resulted in a solid retro style album. 'The Age of the Understatement' is wonderful sixties inspired music, but also modern and refreshing. With great songs, lyrics, vocals and beautiful production, there is a really nice vibe which comes from every repeated listen. After a bad period in my life, uplifting music like this is perfect too chill out to. My favourite tracks include 'Standing Next To Me', 'Meeting Place' and 'My Mistakes Were Made For You'.

This was the only album that was released under The Last Shadow Puppets, although both guys have to continue to make great music since. 'The Age of the Understatement' entered the UK album charts at number one in 2008, and it's a shame that a second release never transpired (as of yet at least). However, this album was a genius collaboration between two very talented young artists and should be please any fan of the Arctic Monkeys or The Rascals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2008
I will be honest and say that I don't know The Rascals but I am all too familiar with the precocious talents Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys fame. Side projects of this type could be dismissed as mere vanity projects. Taking inspiration from the epic soundscapes of Scott Walker's quartet of albums from the 60's should be ambitious beyond reach.

It isn't and isn't so for a number of reasons. Firstly Turner writes wonderfully taught lyrics and here they are given a different setting which seems to make them soar. He also adds some darker tones to his writing which suit the mood well. Musically the wish to make something akin to Scott Walker's album works and this is largely due to the pretty much unhearalded talents of Owen Pallett who, at 21, has already made a name arranging strings for Arcade Fire and Beruit. He emulates the sweeping strings of Wally Stott (Walker's arranger) wonderfully. His work is quite literally the highlight of the record and hopefully this will help elevate his band Final Fantasy into the public conciousness.

The sound is very 60's and fans of the likes of Scott Walker, John Barry and countless other 60's icons will find much to enjoy in this. The production is wonderfully executed and adding the merest hint of echo to Turner's voice really sets the mood of songs. It's not really going to set the fans of the Monkeys alight as this is something quite different.

It is ambitious and sumptuous and rarely hits anything short of its desired for hieghts. Picking out individual highlights is hard as each one of the tracks is a joy. Here's hoping there's more from this trio of prodigiously talented individuals. One of the highlights of the year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2008
In the crush to acclaim the side project of Artic Monkeys figuregead Alex Turner as some work of genius a couple of points seem to have been lost. There is no way that The Last Shadow Puppets are going to out-sell the Monkeys, and its a dangerously thin line between homage and pastiche.

And however much you make like this album, it's difficult to escape from the fact that it may ape the likes of Lee Hazlewood and Scott Walker but it never really threatens to break out from that shadow.

The plus points are that it is a very effective pastiche and, clocking in at just over half an hour, it breezes past without dragging.

Still, as accomplished as it is, it lacks that X-Factor and you can't help feeling that if a unheard of Joe Bloggs presented this to the world the clamour to acclaim it wouldn't be as strong. Still, it will tide you over until Turner unleashes the next Monkeys album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2008
Wow, what an album. These guys are 22. I'm an old fart in my 40s. But I love this record. It's a beautiful headrush of pleasure. The Arctic Monkeys I can take or leave, probably because my ears need a break from staccato guitars and that trebly punky thing. But this is a bold and exhilarating record. I suppose it is Scott Walker-ish (think Seventh Seal) and James Bond-ish (think Chris Cornell's Casino Royale theme song) and Arctic Monkey-ish (Alex Turner's distinctive vocals) but Alex and Miles have done their influences proud and can easily stand up there with the people who served as their inspiration. The first 4 tracks come rushing out of the speakers backed up with a breathless and soaring orchestral accompaniment that is so bombastically over the top you can only grin at its sheer joie de vivre (did I really say that?). Thereafter the quality control wobbles a bit, though I'd say it's only a couple of tracks that are not that great, but things rapidly improve again and the album ends on another, though less thunderous, high.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Dream Synopsis
£5.94
Standing Next To Me
£2.76

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)