Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
Smashes And Trashes'
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 August 2017
Awesome album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2009
It seems to be too easy to forget just how amazing Skunk Anansie are. I was a fan right back when the first album came out right up to their split. They were easilly one of the best live bands I've ever seen, and they have the rare talent to make songs that make you want to explode with pure rock god-ness, or crumble to the floor as if your hearts been plucked from your chest, Yet despite all these honest and true accolades, somehow it rarely occurs to me to play SA of my own accord. It takes a radio play, or maybe hearing a track on tv, or in this case, a greatest hits collection to make me stick them on and each time I do, I wonder just how come it's been so long since I played them.

This collection is packed with some of the most amazing rock songs from the late 90's - and if you've never heard them, man you're in for a treat. If you're an old fan like me, get ready for a flood of memories. The amount of times I've bounced around a rock club to this soundtrack....ahhhhh.

I'm always dubious about new tracks on GH compilations, but MAN! These track sound like SA never left. 'Tear the place up' does exactly that, it rocks - hard. Because of you drifts through perfectly well, and 'Squander' is absolutely the equal of classics like 'Hedonism' & 'Brazen (weep)' - it hit me so hard that I was almost in tears walking around the supermarket. And that my friends is the power of Skunk Anansie. To move you.

Welcome back Skunk Anansie, stick around for a beer, I've missed you.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2009
It's been a long time coming, but Skunk Anansie have released a CD with all of their greatest hits on, along with 3 *new* songs which are absolutely brilliant.

Some Greatest Hits CD's simply chuck together previously released material and sell bucket loads. The artist(s) have absolutely no new material and make absolutely no effort to make the CD in any way rememberable.

However, Skin and the lads have produced, in my opinion, a masterpiece as 8/10 of their best songs are on this one CD!

Also, with regards to the new material they've released, we have...
1) Tear the place up. 4/5. A return to their original form, full of teenage angst and screaming - whilst they have slightly modernised the guitar riffs, which brings the sound more up-to-date.
2) Because of you. 5/5. An absolute masterpiece! This song is nothing like what they've recorded before, full of drama, passion, tension and beauty. It merges both of their best sounds (anger vs. tender) to produce this fantastic piece of music. In my opinion, one of their finest pieces of work.
3) Squander. 5/5. A lovely slower piece of music, which can related a little bit to songs like 'infedelity'. After listening to it over one hundred times, it does not get boring. A lovely song.

If anyone appreciates Skunk Anansie, this CD is a must buy as it is simply brilliant. A true accolade to one of the best bands in the world for the past two decades.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2009
It's been a long time coming, but Skunk Anansie have released a CD with all of their greatest hits on, along with 3 *new* songs which are absolutely brilliant.

Some Greatest Hits CD's simply chuck together previously released material and sell bucket loads. The artist(s) have absolutely no new material and make absolutely no effort to make the CD in any way rememberable.

However, Skin and the lads have produced, in my opinion, a masterpiece as 8/10 of their best songs are on this one CD!

Also, with regards to the new material they've released, we have...
1) Tear the place up. 4/5. A return to their original form, full of teenage angst and screaming - whilst they have slightly modernised the guitar riffs, which brings the sound more up-to-date.
2) Because of you. 5/5. An absolute masterpiece! This song is nothing like what they've recorded before, full of drama, passion, tension and beauty. It merges both of their best sounds (anger vs. tender) to produce this fantastic piece of music. In my opinion, one of their finest pieces of work.
3) Squander. 5/5. A lovely slower piece of music, which can related a little bit to songs like 'infedelity'. After listening to it over one hundred times, it does not get boring. A lovely song.

If anyone appreciates Skunk Anansie, this CD is a must buy as it is simply brilliant. A true accolade to one of the best bands in the world for the past two decades.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2009
I have been missing sa for so long and was excited to hear they were coming back, this was a perfect way of doing it, best of the actual classics and actually put together by the band rather than the label just throwing out a random cold cd of hits. The 3 new songs are fantastic too, true return of a band of who i saw live back in 1994 first time and then last year at london water rats where they didn't appear to have aged a week and were as tight as ever!! Bring on the new album next year and another tour. This album does exactly what it should do!! :) So glad skank heads appeared on here too. Sooooo good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
Thank the fates for this Album which came about when the band came together because of the anniversary of their first album and decided instead of the usual re-release to re-record. A very classy move they decided they really liked doing it and should do more.
So what you have in front of you is a list of their greatest hits "so far" which I can only imagine must have been hard to do as they have an excellent back catalog to choose from listening to this album and in no time you will be banging your head throwing horns out the car window and then you will brake your vocal cords trying to hit the notes that Skin does perfectly on "Brazen (Weep)" as she has a voice that would not be out of place on any stage in the world belting out Operatic Arias which she can drop at a moments notice through the floor past the cellar and into the sewer making you feel all dirty (but in a good way).
and as a bonus you have 3 new tracks that sound like they could have come straight off any of their previous albums "Tear The Place Up" will make you get up and do that thing you have been afraid of "Because Of You" will bring tears to the eyes and "Squander" will mke you think.
If you have heard a little of Skunk Anansie and would like to know more this is a great place to start and your soon find your dip of the toe as become a full feet first cannonball of the high board
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2010
it's a greatest hits with 3 new tracks so i had already all the songs, but it was definitely worthwhile buying especially for the extra dvd with all the videos of their past singles, a must for all the old school fans like myself. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2009
This greatest hits set features digitally remastered tracks culled from the band's first three albums. From the rejoiceful 'Weak', to the anthemic 'Hedonism (Just Because You Feel Good)', 'Smashes & Trashes' is a timeless record brimming with hits, which is translated into the here and now in the form of their three brand new tracks, 'Because Of You', 'Squander' and 'Tear The Place Up'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Wanted this album for years but only for the two standout tracks that I remember from some years ago..'Twisted' and 'Weak' which are superb lyrically and musically.
The rest I am not so pleased with but I will try and give them more of a chance..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2012
Awesome...Skunk Anansie are great, brought back some good memories and looking forward to seeing them in Amsterdam. Gonna be buying the new album soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Stoosh
£4.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)