Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2009
This is Black Sabbaths all time best album. I met my wife listening to this -love the little lady always on my mind. I have bought it several times on vinyl and cd. Its not just nostalgia. This is supreme since every track is superlative. My favorite is Who are you. Happy days brilliant music. Wow I think it is timeless music - the best always is. If you have never heard this then you are in for a great treat. Thanks guys for the music. Like someone says here BUY OR DIE!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
best album black sabbaths ever done..ive got the vinyl..must admit records sound nuch better...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
loud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The fifth studio release from the masters of the heavy rock universe is, for me, a return to form after a disappointing Volume 4. The band was still going through problems, mainly liked to substance abuse, but whereas on Vol.4 this led to a rather patchy affair on this release they managed to harness it and put it to good creative use.

As well as the usual doom laden lyrics, many dealing with the band's problems, there is some excellent musicianship and vocals on display here. The band tried to expand their musical palette on 4, but it was a hit and miss affair. Now they have got the hang of it, and a much more cohesive record results, in the form of heavy rock with distinctive prog leanings.

Tommy Iommi is on fine form with his trademark down tuned guitar sound, and Ozzy seems possessed with his singing. Ward and Butler are also giving it their all, and a classic heavy rock album results. Along with their self titled debut and `Paranoid' I rate this as the best from the classic Sabbath line-up. It's the greatest album cover of all time as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
This is the album that should have followed the Sabs debut "Black Sabbath". Gloriously dark, yet with an attitude that aims to dispel the myth that heavy rock'metal is mere satan-worshipping, this album is akin to a rock opera a la Queen, but without the commercial flamboyancy of Mercury and May. The opening track "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" is the essence of Black Sabbath's sound and intentions. "Killing yourself to Live" is a track especially relevent in today's world. "A National Acrobat", Fluff" and "Spiral Architect" are superb examples of the sheer genius of Iommi, Ward and Butler. With this album the Sabs have mixed the occultist atmosphere of "Black Sabbath" with the grinding guitar sound of "Master of Reality", thrown in the attitude of "Vol.4" and come up with an absolutely amazing assault on the senses. The sound of the music and the track listing gives one the impression that this is a concept album and one is free to assume so. However, it is, in my opinion a unique concept album, with the flow between songs being generated by the music only, rather than any lyrical or storyline content. This is work of pure genius produced at a time when Rock meant something and had something to say. In contrast to rock bands of the current era, the Sabs will be remembered. And this album proves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
The sleeve notes say that at the beginning of recording their fifth album, the boys were bereft of ideas, even the metronimic Tony Iommi was blank as to riffs, but after moving into a castle to record it ideas came flooding, and boy, the result is excellent.

I would have to say that I view this as a better album than Volume 4, it seems more complete somehow. When Iommi comes up with a riff he delivers big time, and the opening (title) track is no exception, an absolute killer riff and as a complete song, probably a little fuller than previous Sabbath recordings.

"Fluff" is a beautiful little accoustic track, I swear if you played this to anyone who did not know Sabbath they would never guess who it was, it is so out of character (and I include "Embryo" and "Orchid" in that statement as interesting as they are, they are little more than curios, this is the real thing). This leads on to "Sabra Cadabra" one of my favourite tracks that amply demonstrates what a brilliant bass player Geezer Butler is and carries on through such tracks as "Killing Yourself To Live" to the excellent "Spiral Architect" which concludes the album.

A Sabbath classic that should not be missing from any collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
BEWARE OF THE 2016 LIMITED EDITION COLORED VINYL OF ALL SABBATH ALBUMS. Very poor pressings. "Black Sabbath" skips and clunks throughout track two (possibly pressing residue). "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" has severe crackling on lead out track side two. All album cover reproductions are pretty terrible ("Master Of Reality" isn't even embossed). My "Sabotage" album arrived with the cover severely scratched even in the factory sealed cardboard box. My sealed box for "Master Of Reality" actually contained "Paranoid". I think they dropped the ball on these ones. All albums seem to have a fair bit of dust and surface noise on first play. Musically, apart from the faults they sound good to fantastic but it's a gamble I will not take again.

I received my replacement "Sabotage" vinyl today. LABEL GLUE RESIDUE ALL OVER BOTH SIDES OF THE LP AND THE OFFENDING LABEL RIPPLED BEYOND BELIEF!! EXTREMELY NOISY TRACK RUN-OUT ON SIDE ONE. I GIVE UP !! AVOID THESE ATROCITIES LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2001
music from the past this good really needs to be heard by the nu-metal/rock influenced youth of today, it beats stuffings out of most of the stuff they listen to. On this cd there are many memorable moments with songs like (sabbath bloody sabbath)when it goes in to a heavy powerful riff half-way through and the relaxing charm of (fluff). Songs like (killing yourself to live) and (looking to today) really put the cherry on top of this meaty rock cake of delight....BUY this album you will be presently surprised no matter what your musical leaning is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.39
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)