Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2005
I bought this album in Paris in 1998 on the recommendation of what turned out to be a highly knowledgeable record shop assistant (who also recommended Bullitnuts 'First of the Day' album). Both of these albums turned out to be cornerstones of my extensive CD collection. I am writing this review 7 years later, so should be able to be pretty objective about the music. Basically, A grand love story is an incredibly original and catchy downbeat dance album that truly stands the test of time. In terms of style it is absolutely mellow and chilled out, dance music with a pop music catchiness. The perfect soundtrack to the small hours. There really isn't much more to say apart from my belief that it would be very hard to be disappointed by this beautifully crafted album. Try it on.

Unfortunately this first album has not since been equalled by Kid Loco, both his DJ kicks album and his Jesus life 12" album failed to hit the spot. But that shows just how exceptional this release is.
Remember, if you buy this album be sure to get the one with 2 CDs (it should be the same price as the 1 CD version), CD 2 has some more surprises up it's sleeve, particularly track four 'The wrong number' which for me demonstrates the rare funky originality of this musician. Seven years is a long time...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
Jean-Yves Prieur's second album on the highly regarded Yellow Productions label was the one that cemented his reputation as one of the leading proponents of downbeat. Unjustly overlooked at the time of release in early '98 in favour of French rivals Air's more commercial debut album, Kid Loco's offering is deeper and funkier. Brimming with lush strings, murky bass riffs, and an intricate attention to detail, A Grand Love Story is a beautifully crafted, cinematic-sounding masterpiece. There are nods to diverse influences such as Gainsbourg and DJ Shadow. In Prieur's opinion, "Every song should have a beginning, a middle and an end." No formulaic dirges here then: 10 highly individual tracks, each one an absolute gem.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
I must say I am seriously impressed. I have tons of amazing downtempo cd's and love artists like Backini (well worth listening to) and Blue States also very good and many more. But I was always familiar with the first track on this album but not the rest until recently. having heard my fair share of trippy beats and downtempo over about 20 years this was another very welcome surprise. GRAB IT you will love it. Full of delightful melodies and surreal lovingly produced sounds and some naughty little back beats to lift the loveliness. Whether you are a smoker or not you will find this a beautiful journey of chill.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
If you are ever feeling pent-up, frustrated, or enraged, this record will literally cause you to unwind. Equally, if you are loved-up, happy and feeling good anyway, this will enhance your mood and make you feel super-fine. So utterly chilled-out and feel-good, it turns you into toffee. who needs drugs? - this is music at its mellow-best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 1999
This is quite simply one of the finest pieces of music I hace ever heard. I have no idea who or what Kid Loco is, and have little interest. Just be secure in the knowledge that to have listened to this album is to regret having listened to anything before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2005
so...you return home from a saturday night out, the usual dissapointing grasp at the british social culture.your very soul has been tainted by the commercial chart world, lager and narrow minded individuals.then,as you contemplate the reasons why you actually bothered to set foot out the door, you reach for a 'a grand love story'.. suddenly you grin some much you worry about swallowing your ears.beautifully sculpted beats and emotional soundscapes, chord changes full of pensive regression,an instrumental journey into an epic audible representation of how good & mood altering music can be.many thanks to you mr. kid loco frenchman... genius.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2002
This has to be one of the best CDs I've bought in a long time.
From start to finish it really does 'ooze' power, sex appeal, and is generally very infectious. It's very chilled out, but not to the point where it's dull - you could listen to it anywhere and in any frame of mind.
I would find it very hard to sit down and talk about each track -they're so totally different, but all I can do is to urge you buy this - it will be one of the best music purchases you make.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
KID LOCO - A GRAND LOVE STORY

Every one a winner!

Class from start to finish...

Tracklisting -

Side One -

A Grand Love Theme
Relaxin' With Cherry
Love Me Sweet

Side Two -

The Bootleggers
Calling Aventura King

Side Three -

Sister Curare
She's My Lover (A Song for R)
She Wolf Daydreaming

Side Four -

Alone Again So
Cosmic Supernatural
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2000
This is quite simply the most refreshing and brilliant piece of music to have come from France for years. It is the perfect music to relax to at the end of a hard day, or if your feeling romantic. There is also a lot of humour buried deep in the lush melodies, such as the sample from the sugarhill gang's classic "Rappers delight" at the end of "Relaxing with cherry". In two words, pure class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
The music is effectively able to induce a nice lovely feeling reminiscentof the days when I used to run around as a child. I would consider this tobe one of the best works of Kid Loco and would place it up there with AIR,another fanatastic French band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)