Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have reviewed the full size, deluxe version of this elsewhere, and this, which features four live discs as opposed to the extra disc, DVDs etc of the big box, is nonetheless worth having if you can't afford the extra seventy quid or so for the full monty. Great performances, stellar musicianship, wonderful songs - they're all here, and contains not one iota of filler.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
I have had a soft spot for TP since about 1985 when the live double `Pack up the Plantation' came out. I have only managed to see TP once but it was memorable. I have nearly all his studio output and this sits well along side this. The set clearly makes a case for why people like his shows so much and while this is in no way the same as seeing him live it did give me an insight into the range of songs he does and covers live.

The choice of songs is not a `true'-best of, although a few of the classics are there, it is a celebration of the variety of shades of TPs live shows. It really does fell like the songs selected have been chosen for feeling. There is even an odd version of the `Goldfinger' theme-tune in there but it somehow fits and adds to the charm.

The packaging is good. The book is well laid out I have only read part of it so far. It has a nice description of why songs were chosen etc and also comments from rock commentators on TPs live shows. It is a good accompaniment while listening. I bought this for the music and I have not been disappointed. I can't comment on the blue ray music format as I do not have anything to play it on. The vinyl is a nice touch and I always liked LUNA and the DVDs add to the set. I bought it for the live CDs though and got it so I could get CD5.

If you are looking for the 80s rocking Petty this is a bit softer but it reflects his concerts over the years and that has given me insight into something I could not experience myself.

I ordered this from Amazon UK and it arrived promptly in fact earlier than I expected well packaged and in good condition.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Tom Petty live through the years, and a really comprehensive trawl through 4 decades. It really brings home what a tight and together band the Heartbreakers are, apparently able to perform any song at will. Sound quality is excellent throughout, and the performances are just scintillating. Highlights are too many to mention, but renditions of Green Onions and Thunderclap Newman's Something In The Air are just bang on. A lively version of Refugee is also included. I've never been a particularly great fan of TP over the years, but this makes me wonder what I've been missing. Give it a try whether you're a fan or not, there's so much to gain and nowt to lose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
A great Album that captures Tom and his Band at their best , giving the public
what they expect and in no way disappoints . Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
at their most pleasing . Delivering as only they can . Excellent !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, thirty odd years together, are one of American Rock's most venerable of institutions. They've never really got 'starry'; Petty and his cohorts seem to always have been grounded individuals who have went about their work without succumbing (in a major way) to the usual rock and roll excesses (for the most part, at least - Howie Epstein RIP) . As such, it's kind of easy to dismiss their predominantly blue-collar, journeyman rock as commonplace and easy to ignore. To do so is to make a grave mistake. Their debut album took off over here in the UK and in Europe before their third album, 'Damn The Torpedoes', made the US breakthrough into the upper echelons of the American musical marketplace. That they did so without making great commercial compromises is a testament to their dogged persistence and generally unassuming vibe. This 'Live Anthology' (it's also available without the various packaging bells and whistles as a 4CD set) is a sumptuous thing - it arrived this morning (Friday December 11th 2009)in an outsize box, less than eighteen hours after I ordered it, and, whilst I haven't actually had the opportunity to listen to the thing (gimme a break!), it scores five stars plus for packaging and content alone. Five discs' worth of concert performances, with no track duplication, a lot of otherwise unavailable covers, two DVDs, the long overdue release of their 'Official Bootleg' fom 1976 (shame it's on vinyl, but I'm more than happy to have it), and the whole shebang on a Blu-Ray disc (anyone feel like buying me a Blu-Ray player for Chrimbo?), with a notebook, sheet of reproduction backstage passes, there's a lot to wade through, but unlike other acts, TP & The Heartbreakers are thoroughly deserving of such a celebration. I was lucky enough to see the band back in 1977, opening for Nils Lofgren, and they were utterly superb - an American Rock band who were brave enough to put their heads above the parapet when Punk was raging all around 'em. I haven't always followed their career as diligently as perhaps I should, but this collection celebrates all that was good about the band, and despite the premium price, is a gift that'll keep on giving.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Great collection of music.If you can do it live,you're okay in my book.A top notch collection by a great band,in fine sound.No dancers,no acrobatics,no gimmicks.Just music played by musicians.Who can ask for more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Great Bargain Buy,Tom Petty and his group are in great form on all these live recordings.
a very good set of songs.Five Stars awarded,no Problem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
great box set for all tom petty fans. as good live as he is on the album.

you can also find the box set cheaper and brand new by clicking on the following link.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/171959391910?_trksid=p2055359.m1431.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Superby pressed and mastered. Wonderful sounding live boxset. If you know Tom Petty, you'll know the songs don't need reviewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
A fabulous deluxe edition with great packaging ONLY FOR AMAZON to lob it in over size box and the outer sleeve has been damaged in transit. Not worth the hassle of returning but when you spend this sort of cash you expect the goods to be protected for transit.

That aside it's a superb box set although expensive. Fortunately it's not a live
'greatest hits' package as ever TP looks to be different - whilst I like TP 70s & 80s output I prefer his later records when he found his own style of writing. If you have Neil Young's archives then this will sit nicely next to it. It'll be interesting to see where TP next takes his music. Highly recommended now let's see if Amazon can put some bubble wrap into the boxes to protect this deluxe box set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)