Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2009
The reviews so far have pretty much said what there is to say about the remaster of Computer World, my favourite record of all time. The only gripe I had is the track Computer World itself, which has an odd "pumping" effect to it. Strangely, this isn't an issue on the German version. Furthermore, the German equivalent is amazing and really worth forking out for if you're a big fan. I hadn't checked out Computerwelt until quite recently because I assumed the only difference was, well, the language. However, if you look closely at the running times, they are slightly different, as are the mixes of most of the tracks. If you are just a casual fan of this album, you probably won't notice the differences but if, like me, you know every single bleep, loop, reverb, nook and cranny, the differences are quite noticeable. The vocoder on Computer World is a lot more spikey and the chorus has an extra vocal line on it. Pocket Calculator has an extra percussion effect and the mix is different in a number of places, including an alternative fade out. Numbers, Computer World 2 and Computer Love have slight alterations in the percussion and endings while Home Computer has a more cranked up rhythm section. In addition to all of this, the sound quality is even better than the English version. Again, if you're very familiar with the album, get Computerwelt. If not, Computer World will do fine. And is much better than Tubular Bells.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 October 2009
Thinking back to 1981, it was the big boom in home computing, and Sinclair had brought out the pocket calculator, which could actually fit in your pocket. Kraftwerk at the time loved their synths, so it was natural they would wander into this field of music, but the synchronised sequenced music was a bit avant garde for 1981, and I think it's only in the last 15 or so years people have understood why so many people loved this album.

Everyone in the elctronica world has said this album has had an impact on them, and I have to say me too, it was exciting and fascinating to hear the music they were doing, Jarre was making more dreamy *trance* music, whereas Kraftwerk were more techno, and I liked that side of their work. Tracks like Computer World will always stick out, the beautiful pads with bubbling techno underneath - a sign of the times, and the type of music we were going to hear for at least two decades afterwards, and the sort of music we were going to hear in front of the PC while playing that new tape - they had obviously seen the future.

Other fun tracks on here include It's More Fun To Compute, a soundtrack for any programmer - and Pocket Calculator, which sounded like the early Sharp calculators which spoke. The complicated melodies worked well, and made this a fun album to listen to.

This album is pure genius, and any technophile should listen to it - as this is where it all started, and influenced breakdance, hip-hop, and dance music we know today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
While The MP3 download might be a 2009 remaster the audio CD Amazon sent me isn't, so if you are after the 2009 CD look elsewhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2000
Although Kraftwerk continued to make music after 'Computer World' they could easily have retired to live a life of godliness. Already influential amongst the hip-hop and synth-pop crowds alike, 'Computer World' is *the* classic Kraftwerk album, combining the technolust of 'The Man Machine' with arch humour in a minimalist, streamlined package.
Certainly, the subsequent 'Electric Cafe', stretched out fewer ideas for longer, and the then-novel use of early sampling technology dated quickly, much more so than the minimalist bleeps and thuds of 'Computer World'.
And what bleeps and thuds they are. As timeless as an acoustic guitar, the simple electronic sounds refuse to date, and the music, whilst drawing on soul ('Computer Love') and funk (the title track), is similarly ageless. 'Computer World' presented a fresh new musical language, one which has been adopted by techno acts ever since. Each song, each individual minute, has more invention and innovation than a hundred other albums - 'Numbers' alone mixes hip-hop, Philip Glass' 'Einstein on the Beach', the then-futuristic 'euro-state', the then-novel 'Japanese invasion', whilst also being a great piece of music. Even 'Pocket Calculator' which speaks of a bygone age, a time when such a device was chic, has aged gracefully into near-parody, a slice of the times preserved under glass.
In summary, if you only buy one Kraftwerk album, buy this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
Just as Mad as I remember but I think my original vinyl copy has a better sound quality, any one who is a fan of Kraftwerk probably has this album if you haven't or are new to their unique sound you can't go wrong its a good intoduction to the group and even as a stand alone album i'ts excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2003
With "Computer World", Kraftwerk produced the last great album of their entire catalogue, and certainly the finest of their illustrious career. The album builds on the pioneering experiments of earlier albums such as "Radioactivity" and "The Man-Machine", in which newly advanced technology produces spectaular analogue melodies, bleeps and fulminating special effects. The playful "Pocket Calculator", devastating electro track "Numbers" (one to eight in different languages) and charming love song "Computer Love" are the cornerstones of this milestone in electronic music. You won't get better. Kraftwerk know this as well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I love this album. I was right by purchasing this album. I loved it. He's very good. Especially the sound of real, signature sound. I'm happy. I had an old CD. And so I replaced it. I was right. Remastering - is a miracle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Computer World" is album five in their official catalogue, and probably, to most, the perfect enscapulation of their ethos. The record bounces and swoops beween rhythmic and textual experimentalism ."Numbers" is a song that all rhythm, and a fairly rigid one at that, but is given it's memorable texture by a treatment of vocoded effects that move beyond melody to medium. The album is a complete effort, bookended by repetitions of the material, variations that close and extend each song, the kind of extended and minimal variation that forces one to listen to the song closely, but also creates the hypnotic landscape that allows the group to create endless permutations of the same, somewhat timeless set of data. Conceptually, "Computer World" is Kraftwerk's finest concept that realises the promise of Man Machine by welding a world where computers become as integral as breathing.
88 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2006
This is easily Kraftwerk's best album, and I have been returning to it regularly for the past 20 years-it really is that good. Do yourself a favour and buy this album NOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
Obviously I can rate the music as 5 star but I'm posting this review to highlight to other vinyl lovers that I have had to return it to Amazon. Its not Amazon's fault and I know I can rely on a fast refund but this copy had very noisy run in and inter-track grooves (like a 'scoring' sound) plus this one was warped !. All of which is poor for the price and especially so for a remastered 180gm product. Makes me wonder whether there are factory/pressing issues going on. I will buy another copy but I'll leave it a bit in the hope that the next batch is better.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)