Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sin Nombre [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2010
Really good movie, a raw depiction of the plight of Mexican migrants trying to enter the US for a better life coupled with the portrayal of the repurcussions of becoming embroiled in the Mara, one of Mexico's most brutal gangs.

Beautifully shot, excellently acted, well recommended to anyone who is fond of similar titles such as City of God

a must see
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
The movie wasn't quite what I expoected, though it did keep us invovled to the end. As with many movies today the storyline was relativley predictable, but enhanced by strong acting and effective sets. The movie ran at a good pace without being an overload of your senses.

The movie certainly gave a realistic view of life in an Hispanic gang, what it meant and how litle life is valued
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this film as it is one that gets you totally involved in the story and the characters. If I have a complaint it is that I found the story a little predictable however this was more than offset by the suspense and thoughtful exploration of the subject material.

At the end I felt as desperate as some of the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
No matter where in the world you are, this story could refer to a scene that is played out on many stages.

The watcher is drawn into the subculture and pulled towards an outcome that they hope never to have to face.

Excellent production,camera work and sterling performances from all involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
Bought this film to improve my spanish by listening to the spoken word. Was delighted that I actually watched a fantastic film which documents the world of poverty + gang control, really recommend it, great story + fine performances
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Great Movie, showing how brutal and dramatic it is for US Immigrants to cross Mexico... impressive, deep and fascinating movie about central america's biggest problems... crime, violence and poverty...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
this is a great movie about very concerning isssues (immigration, gang violence and social degradation in Latin America) with wonderful actors, It's beautifully shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
Beautifully acted and stunningly shot, I don't hesitate to recommend this remarkable film. The lives of a Honduran woman traveling to the U.S. border for a better life and a Mexican gangster with a price on his head violently clash on the journey north. She becomes his salvation as he becomes her only hope of making it. Moving, enrapturing and unforgettable. However be warned, it is not for the faint hearted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Excellent dvd, good, gripping and interesting gangsta story, true to what is depicted today. Would recommend a good interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2009
I saw this in the cinema earlier this year and was blown away. Absolutely brilliant film, action, travel, gangs and young love...it's got everything! I think this will go on to be one of the classics that people talk about in years. Loved it. Cool DVD cover too!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Even the Rain [DVD]
£4.99
Maria Full Of Grace [DVD]
£9.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)