Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2013
I saw Clive Carroll live a couple of weeks ago for the first time. I hadn't been aware of his work and was knocked out by his live playing and the friendly banter with the audience throughout his set. He comes across as a really friendly guy and I was lucky enough to have a quick word with him after the performance. This was the only album I could find to download in MP3 but was not disappointed. This is a real showcase of his work and representative of his live performance. His playing is fluid and technically brilliant. Every track on this album is a winner with a huge variety of style and technique. If you are a lover of the acoustic guitar, whether a player or listener, then this is an album you should add to your collection. If you get the opportunity to see Clive in concert than jump at the chance. This man is an unsung guitar hero!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
I would recommend this wholeheartedly to anyone who has a passion for guitar. It's simply superb.
I've played it many many times and it just gets better. There's such a variety of music here and
Clive plays it impeccably. I just have to smile at his amazing runs and arpeggios especially on
Sid the Squid which is a quirky little tune. Other favourites are the Willie Brown number Mississippi
Blues which I first heard played by Stefan Grossman and the Shakti-ish Delhi Fratelli which surprisingly
uses banjo to great effect. I think even John Maclaughlin would appreciate his playing on this track.

Just buy this CD and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
This is a beautiful album and puts me in mind of Tommy Emmanuel and John Renbourn. Oregon is a particular favourite in our house.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
I have enjoyed Clive Carroll's work from the outset and album number 3, whilst probably the most commercial of them all, really has hit the mark. It brings to the fore the influences felt on his first two outings but you can hear the influence of artists such as Tommy Emmanuel and Albert Lee to name but two here, which makes for a highly enjoyable listening experience. The album finishes with one of Clive Carroll's specialities - one of the works of John Dowland, which is one of the only melancholic moments, but most of the compositions rip along featuring some truly great jazz and blues moments amongst some beautifully crafted finger style works. This is certainly the work of a master technician, who must now rank amongst the worlds most accomplished and most entertaining players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I was introduced to Clive in a pub in Norfolk by John Renbourn many years ago. John was the 'main man' on the bill, but started his set by standing aside and saying "I know you've come to see me, but listen to this man instead, you won't regret it" - the audiences initial "What!!!" reaction was replaced, after stunning sets, by total admiration. Clive is at the top of acoustic guitar technique. This album is gentle and as usual totally competent. Unfortunately Clive rarely appears in public, what a shame, so buy the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This album if full of fabulous acoustic guitar in eclectic styles - absolutely gorgeous! Highly recommended - like swimming in melted chocolate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is the third album that I have by Clive and he never disappoints try and see him live he is such a nice person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
This album is absolutely brilliant. If you love acoustic guitar, you should give it a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
I am very, very pleased with this CD. It is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)