Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2010
I have had this telescope for about a month now and absolutely love it. There is no go to no motor to drive the telescope but they can be added later when you have more money to spend if you want to.This telescope is highly rated on most forums and for good reason. If you have done your research and I suggest you do as telescopes come in many flavors sizes and types and you really need to know what kind of viewing your going to be doing and what area of astronomy your going to get into. I wanted a good telescope for deep sky object and planets with a good firm mount that could be upgraded if needed and a scope that if I wanted to get into astrophotography would fit the bill within this price range.This telescope ticks all the boxes.

The base mount is smooth and easy to use and well made and sturdy.So if your thinking as I was doing what will I see with this telescope the answer is a great deal but understand you wont ever see stuff like you see from the hubble space telescope no it just wont do that so time to get real. What you will see is for instance Jupiter and its 4 moons and you will be able to make out the gas bands on the planet and its red spot not massive but you will see it. The moon will look incredible and the craters will look wonderful and big. Star clusters like M13 will show the stars deep in the cluster and the ring nebula will show as a dusty smoke ring. Galaxy's will show up as gray ghosts with better detail if viewed from a dark sky area instead of a light polluted area.I dont mind not having go to features its fun to find stuff yourself and this telescope is a joy to use giving great views with the supplied eye pieces.

You can buy better eye pieces and upgrade as you need to but for the price and the quality this telescope is excellent. Really pleased with it and would recommend it to any one just starting and not wanting to by something they regret buying later this one is a great telescope for the money and you will not be disappointed at all.
Hope that helps you make up your mind
55 comments| 137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
This telescope is great value for the price. The optics are pin sharp and outperform reflectors twice the price, in my experience. The eye pieces are great quality for the price. The focuser is very smooth and easy to use. The finder scope has exceptionally good optics.

The EQ5 mount is very sturdy and smooth. The counter balance shaft took a several attempts to tighten squarely (turning the declination axis around) tightening and untightening the shaft until square.
The only real criticism I have is the polar alinement scope. The scope is out of square with the equatorial mount or visa versa. When centering the polar scope for use, the image you are using to aline moves off center when tuning the right ascension axis in full circles. This makes polar alinement not very accrete. For general observing, this is fine. I find for astrophotography (short or long exposure) you need to revert back to the old ways for accrete polar alinement.
If you are interested in astrophotography a more expensive mount would be well worth investing. Preferably with motors already built in. I bought this telescope direct from the internet. I would of benefitted from testing the mount in the shop.
All in all, a great package for the money.
1010 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
I was looking to upgrade from my 130mm reflector and a friend allowed me to "road test" this beauty. The new black and white livery is quite striking but the real shock is the view through the eyepiece. The light gathering power is awesome and views of nebulae and galaxies show far more detail than my smaller 'scope. Saturn clearly shows the rings, bands and 5 or 6 of the moons, Jupiter sports bands, moons and spots with an appreciable disc. The moon displays more detail than you would think possible.
The EQ5 tripod is solid and reliable if a little tall; there is no polar alignment 'scope but that can be added later along with a choice of motor drives or computerised ("Go-To")drive. Set-up is simple and trouble free: the RA and DEC controls are smooth with little unwanted play.
The tube looks good outside and inside the mirrors are of excellent quality: there are no internal reflections. The focusser is superb (being able to take 1.25" and 2" eyepieces). The finder 'scope is a 9 x 50 straight-through type which can be awkward to look through but gives a good magnified view of the target area. The eyepieces are good quality 25mm, 10mm and 2x barlow (all 1.25" fitting) the barlow will take a camera "Tee" for astrophotography. Through the eyepiece the view is stunning with more than 3/4 of the field of view being chrystal clear and only the slightest fringing at the extremes (SkyWatcher make a "Coma Correction lens" which can be added for Astro-photography).
If you're looking for a good quality 'scope for relativley small outlay you'll be hard pressed to find one of this size and quality for the price! It can be upgraded as desired or as funds allow, though if you intend to go for "Go-To" capability it might be better to "bite the bullet" and get a dedicated "Go-To 'scope"
This is probably the smallest reflector telescope (10") that will give large enough discs to observe detail on the planets, unless you are prepared to pay for a hybrid like a Schmidt-Cassegrain or a Maksutov-Cassegrain (8" or larger), or a refractor (5" or larger) all of which are somewhat more expensive!
If you require glasses; the ability to take 2" lenses is handy for better eye-relief.
In the unlikely event that you're looking at this as a beginners' 'scope, you might want to add a moon filter Celestron Moon Filter, a planisphere Philip's Planisphere: Northern 51.5 Degrees - British Isles, Northern Europe Northern USA and Canada (Philip's Astronomy), an astronomy torch OVL Dual Beam Astronomers Torch perhaps an eyepiece and filter kit Celestron Eye Piece & Filter Kit and a reference work Turn Left at Orion: A Hundred Night Sky Objects to See in a Small Telescope - and How to Find Them,Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky or Universe: The Definitive Visual Guide (Astronomy)
Now all I need is some-one to lend me a 300mm truss-Dobsonian so I can decide which to upgrade to...seriously this is a superb piece of kit even if it is a bit bulky. I had been intending to buy a Dobsonian but the quality and ease of use has swayed me. This is an excellent all round 'scope, ideally suited to deep-sky viewing. Time to start saving!!!
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
First of all, this telescope comes in 2 boxes: 1) the EQ5 mount box and 2) the telescope tube box.

The mount is magnificent. If you're not very accustomed to equatorial mounts it shouldn't be a big deal as you'll pick it up as you go. That's said, I'd recommend you look at some youtube videos on how to use and position this kind of mount. The stand is very sturdy and quite flexible.

The scope comes with two basic eyepieces: 10mm and 25mm. Also a 2x barlow, 2" adaptor. the 25mm EP is very good, but I would recommend that you seek an alternative for the 10mm EP. I had to buy a set of Plossls to go with this scope. It's a hardcore scope and deserves good eyepieces. You may want to experiment with the 10mma and 25mm first and see if you're OK with them first. But I have to say more eyepieces with better quality will make a dramatic difference in terms of view clarity and function... whether you're interested in deep space or planetary viewing.

Bear in mind this telescope is not easy to move around as it weighs around 20 Kg - including the stand and mount. The good thing though is that you can easily unscrew the tube from the scope tube and fit it back in.

I owned a 130mm telescope before, and having upgraded to the Skywatcher Exploere 200p...well, major major difference.

Unlike many scopes out there, this one comes with a very good finderscope - up to 50x. It doesn't feel cheap or low value...it just as good as the telescope itself in terms of material and optics quality.

If you want to take the next step in astronomy - this telescope is definitely the one for you. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Well what can i say. This telescope is just fantastic for an amature and even an advanced astronomer. With the well built optics and also the solid EQ5 mount. This telescope is in a league of its own. i have taken some fantastic snaps and also videos of deep space and you wouldn't believe its power. You can always upgrae the mount to a EQ5 pro just by buying a synscan upgrade goto kit or even build one yourself if you have the knowledge of course.

All in all if your thinking about buying this product then you will not be disapointed at all.Your money will be well spent.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
After playing around with a 70mm refractor travel scope I wanted to get a more serious telescope and I couldn't be more pleased. I opted for diving in at what can only be called a stupidly sized telescope rather than say a 130p, leap frogging into something much larger (and this is a large scope) that I can upgrade over time.

The EQ5 mount is excellent, stable, easy and smooth to use. You can upgrade it with a motor drive kit later if you want or swap for a HEQ5 or EQ6 if you fancy shelling out serious money.

The Skywatcher 200p scope itself is excellent and I'm really pleased with it's power. You will need to get some high quality lenses if you want to use a good 2x barlow.

Overall an excellent telescope that I'm really pleased with.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
What A lovely Telescope! bought for my brother and couldn't believe the size at first but like a 55" TV you soon get use to it! Easy to assemble BUT you must study to get use to using it unless your already a pro. But I recommend this telescope to any beginner out there as its one of the best you can get in its price range.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is an amazing telescope, I love it so much I made a site about it, [...], to share the love. Seriously, this looks and works like a £2000 telescope. You see it, you want it, you buy it, you love it. You can read more about what I thought at [...]
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
In terms of the quality of Picsio's service, the telescope's parts' quality and ease of assembly this telescope is excellent.

I am responsible for the quality of my viewing so I will leave that out of this review.

For me, the amount of thought that has gone into the design and production of the scope and its accessories is AMAZING. For example, the Barlow lens and the eyepiece holders have threads in all the important places.

For example, because I can decompose the Barlow lens into three parts, it can hold more than one color filter. Furthermore, because of the thread at the top of the 2x Barlow, I am able to screw it to my Opteka 2x converter and get a SOLID single piece. For more power, I am also able to connect these two pieces to another 2x Barlow I have from another manufacturer.

And by using a single short T connector plus a part that screws off the eyepiece holder, I am able to connect my Nikon D90 very close to the telescope. Unnecessary stresses on the mated parts is essentially eliminated - a long connecting tube is a source of instability and vibrations out in the open.

On top of everything, the 200P model came with a polarscope! I had asked around and had been informed that this model did not have the polarscope factory fitted. So I now have a spare polarscope.

The Barlow lens and two eyepiece holders are very well machined from aluminium and have ample parts.

I strongly recommend this telescope to everyone.

NB:

If you live at latitudes close to the equator - <= 30 degrees north - you will need to do at least one of the following to set the telescope to your viewing latitude.

1. You will need to remove the bracket that holds the front t-bolt. That bracket keeps the scope from descending below 30 degrees or thereabout. The rear t-bolt will still support your telescope.

2. If you live anywhere below 10 degrees north of the Equator, you will need to reduce the length of the counterweight holder. At about 10 degrees latitude, the counterweight holder comes in contact with one of the legs of the telescope. Specifically, the one labelled "N". I cut 15mm off the threaded part and that was enough.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
I bought this telescope to mount onto the front of my Pirate ship. Now I can see the fear in my enemies eyes from 6 light years away. Combine with a moon filter to filter out any moons so you can focus on other objects.
44 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)