Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8


on 26 January 2015
JUST WHAT I EXPECTED - THANK YOU
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I already have this CD and listen to it regularly. This was bought as a present for a family member. The Huddersfield Choral are on top form!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
Brilliant delivery. Excellent recording of John's Stainer's The Crucifixion, which I would very much recommend to everyone - utterly wonderful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2011
I bought this on the strength of a very good review (by Jeremy Dibble) in The Gramophone, February 2010, but must admit to being rather disappointed. The performance, though good in itself (all the right notes in all the right places), seems to lack impact, colour and definition, compared with recordings by smaller, brighter cathedral or college choirs. And where is the stunning tuba interjection first heard in the organ accompaniment at bar 8 of 'Fling wide the gates'?

I've always believed 'The Crucifixion' to be an unnecessarily underestimated work that gains much from the right sort of performance. This isn't it, I'm afraid, however caring the preparation and execution. The tenor soloist, the excellent Andrew Kennedy, sings beautifully but with not much passion or sheer oomph, such as the role demands.

One of my favourite features, the wonderful hymn tunes that can be so expressive and moving in their dignity (like the chorales in a Bach passion), are performed in a very monochrome, run-of-the-mill manner.

This sort of performance might suit some listeners, but not me. Nor Stainer, I suspect: he wrote it for the choir of St Marylebone Parish Church in London, presumably with the sound of that type of choir in mind. No reason why larger, mixed amateur choirs shouldn't sing it (as has happened for years in Nonconformist chapels, of course - this is where the work was kept alive) but they need to work hard on expression and dynamics - and words!

It's a dramatic piece, not a religious ramble, and conductors must inspire their performers to see it that way.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2017
A good rendition, which I really enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2016
Well put together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2013
I have not heard this CD as i bought it for a friend, and have so far received no comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2009
Gramps asked me to buy it as had partially heard them on a Radio 3 programme. He says that it's wonderful & just what he wanted.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here