Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 July 2017
A brilliant movie into the mind - with brilliant acting, music, cinematography. The movie starts with what could have been a whodunit - two US marshals, one being the protagonist played by Leonardo Dicaprio, being called to investigate the disappearance of an inmate from a mental institution for the criminally insane. Our protagonist slowly reveals his plan for a wider investigation into this place to his partner. But not all is what it seems. And at the end, absolutely nothing is what it seems. Enough said. Seeing it the second time is even more pleasurable because knowing the ending, you can see more clues you will miss first time around. And third time...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
Great acting from all. Great direction of a tricky plot. Sets done marvellously. Not your young Leonardo. The more gritty one a La blood diamonds. Sir Ben Kingsley masterful. Christopher plummer too. Hard to say anything else without spoilers, except you might not like this film until you really watch it the second time. One of Scorsese finest. Dark. Menacing. Creepy. Mr Dicaprio has done some great film acting. This is right up there. The ending is understated magnificence.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 September 2015
I've had an irrational dislike of Leonardo DiCaprio since Titanic, and as a rule I avoided any films where he played a prominent role. I don't know exactly what it is, but I just couldn't stand him!

A friend suggested that I watched Shutter Island, and I wasn't keen, because of the whole Leo thing, but honestly, this has become one of my favourite films. The story is weird and complex, and the film is very creepy, which I always enjoy. Plenty of twists and turns and the film looks stunning. I since learned it was based on a book, which I also read and enjoyed. I don't know how but this film has killed my avoidance of Leo. I'm still not his biggest fan but I do think he was very good in this.

I recommend this movie to anyone looking for something a bit different.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2017
Adapted from Dennis Lehane’s book, Shutter Island is rife with mystery and feelings of foreboding throughout, and even having read the book beforehand, I was still thinking about it long after the credits had rolled.

Atmospheric, tense and scary as hell, there’s more than a small dose of The Cabinet of Dr Caligeri in it, Martin Scorsese does some of his best directing in this perfectly sculpted and ingeniously shot (the bright lighting only goes to add doubt about what’s real and imagined) about Leonardo DiCaprio pretty much losing his mind.

The employment of 'On the Nature of Daylight' by Max Richter, was, as its usage in Arrival, seriously unforgettable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Suspense, coupled with a nagging feeling that all is not as it seems, are right there at the film's beginning. It's a very intelligent horror story - the question is....what is actually horrific? You decide. This is a brilliant film and one which will stand more than one viewing. Scorsese finally made a worthwhile film instead of boring us with the uninteresting doings of mafia nobodies. Shutter Island is a landmark movie and I love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2015
A real 'edge-of-the-seat thriller' which will leave you spellbound. DiCaprio exudes vulnerability as the Marshall determined to get to the bottom of the mystery of 'Shutter Island' (won't go into detail as it would spoil plot). We see him becoming more and more embroiled in the intrigue, and more and more confused, but determined to find the mysterious Laeddis. His motives for visiting change as the plot progresses; mind games are played and the culmination is an explosive revelation... Watch it to find out! Brilliant.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2017
Hi This is a film that make's the viewer 'think', unlike most action stories or is there a story?????. Brilliant performing and they filmed most of it on the actual shutter island itself which is a bit creepy but of course add's to the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2010
Shutter Island is very much the modern equivalent of One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest. The film covers a wide variety of themes. Most prevalent is the question, "How do I know I am not insane?" But there are also plenty of other areas covered including, inter alia, murder, justice, medical ethics, the Holocaust, McCarthy-eque paranoia and responsibility for one's own actions.

The film is relatively complex and certainly requires a second viewing in order to fully grasp the plot's twists and turns. It all begins straightforwardly enough, though there is a slow descent into a place where things just don't quite add up. The mixture of hallucinations and real life action may be off-putting for some viewers, but not for me. The fact that they are confusing scenes only conveys the confusion in the mind of the protagonist, and not any form of fuzzy thinking on the part of the director.

The casting of the film is very good, as is the acting. DiCaprio's performance is very similar to that which he had in Inception, which I understand was filmed around the same time as Shutter Island. But DiCaprio is only one actor, and one good performance doesn't make a great film. Ben Kingsley's portrayal as a psychiatrist trying to be a pioneer in his field is highly noteworthy, though not in the same league as his acting in Gandhi or Schindler's List. The film is given a sombre gravitas from the presence of Max von Sydow and a rare return to limelight from Ted Levine was most welcome.

So why give this 4 stars instead of 5? Well, the stylisation didn't feel right. Set in the 1950s, it just didn't feel authentic. There seemed to be some 60s influences in there (particularly with the scenes set away from the asylum) and the aesthetics and the vernacular in the script just seemed too up-to-date. The end of the film is bleakly fatalistic, but it is also somewhat deterministic. Given that the fundamental question posed regards sanity, I think the film would have benefited more by an open ending, whereby the story which is eventually revealed is made more questionable than it has been.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
A world class adaptation of a fine Dennis Lahane Story brought to life by the masterful Martin Scorsese, I would have this film stand alone when it comes to how to adapt a novel. While there is only one way to see what's coming next is watch it, an unnerving and horrific tale that would put fear into the strongest of minds and a mystery that can only be solved by watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
Very clever film with a huge twist! it took watching this film a couple of times to figure it out but i enjoyed it the second time just as much as the first. I would highly recommend this film, it's dark but a genius story line. My only advise would be to watch it when you are completely awake and tuned in because if you miss any part of it or watch it bit by bit you will miss the hints of the twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)