Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 6 April 2013
Arrived with 48 hours of placing the order,found it easy to fill up (Yes the bit where you fill it up leaks a bit while your filling it up but that happens on most things, it even states this on the packaging, but it doesn't take long at all and its fine afterwards)
Easy to light just slide the switch to ON, slide the tip up, hold a lighter to it for a second and boom, lit.
Blowtorch is hot instantly (Obviously) Plenty hot enough for melting plastics etc..
Solder tip takes about 3 mins to heat up properly, I don't like the coating on the tip it could do with filing off like another person said, as its too smooth.

It has a 1-4 heat setting (Lets more gas out the higher setting) which you slide across between 1-4, I find 3 is fine for what I've used it for soldering.

All in all does its job as its meant to, well worth the money, would buy again.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2015
I have a more expensive gas powered soldering iron, but this is in a large case and takes up a fair amount of storage in my toolbox. I bought this as a cheap one to carry about, expecting (from the other reviews) not too much in the way of great performance. How wrong I was !!

It is easily filled with gas, and although it does not have a self igniting function, is easily lit (if you read the instructions and don't try to just light the tip). It is fairly powerful and heats up the single soldering tip within about 15 seconds. I have found that on full power (not needed for simple soldering) the gas charge only lasts for about 5 to 7 minutes, but then I did not buy this for a mainstream soldering iron to do more than the odd soldering job. It has a small flip out stand that means you can leave the iron to cool on a flat surface, or even to free up your hands to hold wires and solder at the same time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
this is a great item. does what they say, easy to fill, easy to light, heats up quickly, i found heat setting 2 is quite ample, i do have mains soldering irons, which as you know take a little while to hot up, but with this tool, job done in half the time, would recommend this item. great tool at a great price. well worth top rating.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2014
Not a great deal to say...
It's a very handy soldering iron that I filled immediately with butane gas from a lighter gas bottle, ignited seconds later, adjusted then applied solder/flux to it.
No wires means much more flexibility on soldering jobs, and just one tip...if you sandpaper or glass paper the tip before first use, your solder will stick and hold, silvering the tip ready for next usage.
It's relatively light, feeling like a jumbo pen rather than a traditional solder iron.
Heats up quicker than an electric one, and cools quicker too.
One fill of gas lasted about 45 minutes usage on the highest setting, so pretty economical too.
All in all, a great buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Brilliant little soldering iron.
heats up very quickly and came with the benefit of already having gas in it so I could start using it right away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2013
This butane soldering iron/blow torch has been invaluable.

It struggles with roughly 1mm-1.2mm+ cable thickness, so consider this before you buy.

It takes a while to heat up, but once it heats up it holds the heat perfectly fine.

Can solder the cable together, and then while it is still on, use a pair of pliers to take the tip off, and heat up heat wrap over the joint.

Five star, very handy indeed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
I'm in two minds about this. it's useful when it works. it can sometimes blow itself out in torch mode which is a bit of a pain but when it does work you can melt silver pretty easily. the soldering iron goes between heating up fast and then can take ages. you have to turn it off every time you put it down because the vent faces down from the stand and begins to burn whatever you sit it on. heat leaches away really fast as well and you sometimes only get a blob at a time. but the negative happens alot less than the positive. i'd suggest getting a regular ole iron and a torch though instead of 2 in 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2017
I found it difficult to light, but once lit works well (unlike other reviews the gas doesn't go out so maybe the brand of gas matters?).
Would have been nice if it had an auto piezo lighting button.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2017
Works well. Heats up quickly. There is an exhaust port, which you need to be aware of (don't point it anywhere near anything that might melt or burn!). Easy to fill with butane and to light. The tip comes undone and needs tightening, but this is a minor issue, so I'll give it 5 stars. Good value for money. Comes with a small amount of butane inside to get you started, but will need refilling with lighter fluid. Instructions included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2016
This thing is horrible. I had other gas soldering irons but this one is a catastrophy in terms if safty. There is a small hole where the heated air comes out and if it is directed in the wring direction will burn everything near.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)