Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
87
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2009
Having bought "The Back Room" because I loved Editors raw four-piece sound, I was a little disappointed the first time I slotted "An End Has A Start" into my CD player. However, with time I found that as I listened I started to understand and appreciate each song for its lyrical quality and the musical journey it was taking me on. This eventually led to "An End Has A Start" becoming one of my all time favourite albums, thus setting the goalposts for any of Editors future releases. Now in October 2009 I find myself in a similar place, the first plays of "In This Light And On This Evening" left me deflated with disappointment and the feeling that most of the songs could be summed up in the first three letters of Papillon! But yet again, with time, each song is now revealing its beauty to me and this album is fast ascending into my personal hall of all time favourite albums. If you love the Editors songs for the right reasons, you'll definitely thank yourself for letting this group of new ones into your life!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Very good value for money CD.
Three excellent tracks plus a few good ones which is pretty good going for most CDs these days!!
Although I love the songs on CD ('Papillon'/'In this Light and on this Evening'/Bricks and Mortar') I actually prefer the 'live versions' where the band really excells and connects with the audience crowd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
Don't listen to the detractors listen to this album instead.
I recently had a serious hearing problem and this was the only album that I could still listen to with some enjoyment. Such is the quality of the music and production.
The depth of beauty in the keyboards sweeps of sounds conjur up bygone eras but with a current feel. The lyrics are sung with depth and passion and the musicality of the whole group will seduce you - if you allow it to.
This is possibly the best produced album I have ever heard so turn it up loud, lie back with your favourite "indulgance" and damn well enjoy it.
Sleep twitches and Papillons will wash you into near ecstasy. Yes the'80 are given a nod as are Joy Division particularly in the vocal style. I warn JD fans if you play Unknown Pleasures after this it will sound...tinny. I love JD btw !
So jump in, buy it and be nice to yourself. From indie kidz to ex-punks and goths - do yourselves a favour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
After releasing two commercially succesful albums amid some positive press it is not surprise that Editors decided to have a change of direction as this seems the norm with current English Indie/Rock bands. Unfortunatley most bands fail at this crossover but luckily Editors have found a sound that they belong with.

Out go the epic swirling guitars that filled 'The Back Room' and 'An End Has Start' and in come haunting synths that compliment the lead singers voice to a degree i thought was not possible.

They have obviously continued the gloomy theme of the previous album and have hit the anthemic button in an attempt to create a whole new sound.

Stand out tracks for me are 'Papillion, In the light and on this evening, bricks and mortar and the big exit.' There is not really a filler track on the album, it is clear that the band have developed musically, although this has created an album where there are no real options for future singles.

Highly recommended for Editors fans but not people new to their sound. Start from the back room and make your way to this little gem of an album.

Buy it now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
It could have been a "strike three" album in a row, it's such a pity the lads decided to leave guitars home (!). The best you can do is to listen to the tracks imagining how they would be (and hopefully will be, live) with a proper "Editors' arrangement"...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Editors continue their path for artistic integrity and musical freedom by going wherever they want, and doing whatever they want. Seemingly created absent from any considerations of how many this will sell, this, their third record, is their apex of achievement. Whilst some people think a band like Coldplay may be vaguely edgy, Editors are off in another orbit by dispensing with guitars almost completely and relying on a brave new world made of a tight, coiled rhythm section and a crescendo of synth sweeps seemingly carved from the soft, home made Tandy kits last seen on early New Order records.

Whilst the voice is intact and present, and the lyrical concerns the same, a usual palette of coastal wind, an absent God, a bullet, and light, Editors are clearly - wether they want to admit it or not - influenced by Joy Division, but also, in these songs and to these ears, keenly trained in the dynamics of Garage Rock, Kraftwerk, and the Brian Eno. Keyboard motifs rise and fall, simple and straightforward, but never inane or anything less than intricate, substantial and compelling.

Having seen these new songs performed live to a somewhat indifferent crowd, I can confirm that exposure and repeated listening are integral to these songs. Editors songs are not instant grooves, but carefully constructed and intelligent creations that reveal their mysteries and depths slowly. There are moments - the midpoint-break of "Papillion" and "Bricks And Mortar" - where, for those us with a large memory are reminded of Depeche Mode's mid 80's high point, built around images that are merely fragments of a larger story. Here, "It kicks like a Sleeptwitch" speaks at a level as profound as the words "Miles To Go". The human mind is smart enough to fill the gaps.

The story behind these songs are, like all great art, questing, searching, looking for something. There's a question in the heart of everything, for no sane being can truly admit they know everything : or even enough to be satisfied.

For those of you who are adamant that Editors are depressed guitar rock, it is time to scoff. There is nary a guitar on this record at all - though there is something that could be a guitar on "You Don't Know Love" - akin to the quantum leap between "Movement" and "Power Corruption And Lies", where the world expanded, the leap from black and white to colour.

Some records you grab hold of at first listen, and come back to you for years and years and years. This is one of those records. Free of padding, filled with vision and compelling songwriting - whilst aware of history, and unafraid to walk in the shadow of their influences, Editors also make these influences their own, and create something new as a result. A triumph.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
I have only recently become an Editors fan but I think they're great. I can't stop listening to 'Bricks and Mortar' it's addictive. They are also fantastic live.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
Here comes the greying old synth freak opinion:

Only "discovered" Editors recently, and must admit I'm pretty blown away by this album. Much is said about the Joy Division influence which is definitely there, maybe in the context of what Joy Division could have become if Curtis hadn't died, but am I the only one who's picked up a possible trace of early-ish OMD (particularly around 'Organisation') here as well?

Worth owning for 'Papillon' if nothing else - one of the best synth riffs I've heard for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Might give this another chance some time, however listed to it half a dozen time, and it was unpleasent. Why go for 80's techno pop as a change of direction...it isn't even good 80's techno pop! Who ever has stollen the Editors...could you please return them ASAP
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Having got all the previous albums I somehow never got around to getting this when it came out, what a mistake! I caught a bit of them when they were at T and after the first listen I simply LOVE it. Its a bit different but unmistakably still The Editors. Opening track "In this light...." starts and you know you're getting something good, without a doubt "Papillion" is the best I can't stop singing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)