Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
88
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£26.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old schoolboy and think PC should only ever stand for police constable. Thankfully, all of the above still apply to me, so I LOVED this.

You have to admire Steel Panther's ability to mimic some of the great bands of that generation. Part of the fun is listening and picking out which band each song was obviously modelled on...Iron Maiden, Enuff ZNuff, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Extreme... the "tributes" just keep coming, each one crafted with careful attention to detail, great energy and some fantastic playing.

If you didn't speak english, you could actually be mistaken for thinking that this is one of the best glam metal albums you have ever heard. But if you do speak english, you'll know that this is actually one of the funniest most un-PC records you'll ever hear. To write most of their lyrics, they must have just went to the local school and asked the kids to tell them what they knew about sex!

In truth, the non-stop onslaught of debauchery does get a little repetitive after a while, but when it's done well, like on Asian Hookers or Community property, you can't help but laugh out loud (partly in shock that they were actually allowed to put some of that stuff on a record). I think that the jokes will probably wear thin very quickly though, which is a shame as the music is good enough to Warrant (pun intended) repeated listening.

This is the album that the Darkness didn't have the balls to make. Justin and co managed to keep their tongues in their cheeks, whereas Steel Panther make a point of sticking their tongues firmly between somebody elses!

Makes you wonder what sort of an album they could have made had they taken themselves a little more seriously?
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Utter genius. The timing of Spinal Tap, attitude of Twisted Sister, riffs of prime-era Motley Crue and the potty mouth turn of phrase straight from Derek and Clive.

There have been other musical parody acts, but none of them could play or write this well. Go back 25 years and they would be up there with the giants of the genre filling arenas and corrupting countless teenage girls in the American Mid-West.

But what really makes all this work is that it is done with such great love for its source material. It would have been easy to make the mick with a sneering sense of superiority, but Steel Panther play it like they mean it. They make no excuses and there is none of the post-modern knowing nudges and winks that just about everyone else would have done. By playing is straight rather than outright laughs and by not making out that once they are off stage the wigs come off and they go home and listen to The Strokes, it all works with total credibility. You just know that Steel Panther genuinely still wish it was 1987 and that they really do still trawl strip clubs and listen to Faster Pussycat. Steel Panther are the band of the year by an absolute mile.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
The band have been around under various monikers for quite some time, and whilst it's fair to say that yes they are taking the mick out of the whole hair metal genre, they are doing it with such panache, their love of the genre shines through.

The quality of songwriting and playing here cannot be faulted, and whilst I'm sure their lyrics will attract criticism from some quarters, they are no worse than some rap acts have been doling out for years, and are a whole lot funnier.

The band are more than capable of playing their material live, including acoustically which they do often at radio stations in the USA, and for a metal band the ability to play well live can make or break them.

I'm sure the band will go down a storm worldwide, and become the band that they think they've already been(see their 'Behind The Music' segment to see what I'm on about!)

My only criticism of this release, is that there is enough video footage of the band out there already to have put this out with a bonus DVD, but maybe that will come in the universe tour edition!

Up until now, Bad News have been my favourite of the metal parodies, but Steel Panther have left them in the distance.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Seriously, this is one of the funniest things I've ever heard. Have been meaning to purchase this album for years but it kept slipping through the net. Now I have it, it means I have instant happiness and laughter on tap. The best aural (not 'oral' !!!!) entertainment money can buy for the bargain price of £3. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
I first heard of steel panther last year when they appeared on Kat Von D's Show LA Ink. It was love at first sight!
The spandex and big hair - all an 80's fan girl could want!
Then I heard the music - catchy and very amusing lyrics. Excellent guitar rifts and solos!

This is a must for all metal fans! watch out spinal tap!

DEATH TO ALL BUT METAL!!!!!!!!! \m/
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
They're as funny (or more) than Spinal Tap and musically they're much better. The ultimate combo of hot riffs and rip-my-guts-out-laughing lyrics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
It's when the band take to the power-ballad that they really excel in all areas. Starr's declaration of love sounds genuine, until stating that his manhood is to be shared :-) - how any girl could fail to be seduced is unknown! 'Stripper Girl' is of the same mould, Some may be insulted for the artistic side of music, as far as 'mock rock' goes you'd be hard to find much better than this record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Ashamed to say I stumbled across Steel Panther by accident (and too late to catch their recent gigs) but better late than never. Brilliant. These guys can really play/sing so you can switch off from the lyrics and just enjoy some excellent rock sounds if you want but don't. By a long stretch the crudest stuff you'll hear on a rock album but absolutely hilarious. I'm just glad my kids are over 18 so I can listen to it when I want and share the joy. Turn Off The Light is a gem. Buy it now!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Inspired by Motley Crue, Def Leppard and other bands from that era, Steel Panther take us back to the 80's with their brand of Rock.

While Steel Panther are actually a spoof band and there are plenty of explicit lyrics and themes in the songs, they actually sound really good.

Stand out songs include:- Death To All But Metal, Fat Girl and Stripper Girl

If you like 80's Glam Rock and aren't easily offended, this album is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Put Guns N' Roses, Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Motley Crue into a blender and add a splash of The Darkness, and these guys are what you get!

Some might see them as an o.t.t. cover band or just sending up the genre, but make no mistake; Steel Panther are a group of seriously talented singer/song writers and musicians in their own right. Their live performances also, are slick, very well choreographed and professional.

Ok, 99.9% of their lyrics are maybe not for anyone even slightly shy and retiring, but those are not lyrics tinged with any anger or hate or any other negative mood intended to inspire that type of feeling; they are funny and very intelligently written.

If you like any or all of the bands mentioned above, there is no doubt you will instantly take to Steel Panther!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)