Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Glare, Songs for Tony
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 October 2009
McAlmont & Nyman: The Glare

A marriage made in heaven. Why hasn't someone thought of this before? Is it a pop record? Is it a classical record? Actually - it's both and it's also something quite quite new. It's more than just a cross-over...it's a new genre! It's so much more than a wonderful collaboration...it's a whole new soundscape. David McAlmont's soulful melodies and pure lyricism has found Michael Nyman's powerful, driving, sensual, highly emotive and unforgettable music.

McAlmont's lyrics explores pertinent and topical news stories as varied as 21st century piracy (Going to America), trafficked prostitution in Europe (City of Turin), sexually-charged world leaders (In Rai Don Giovanni), assisted suicide (Friendly Fire), reality television (The Glare), African orphan migration (Fever Sticks and Bones), banking errors (Take the Money and Run) and drug mules (In Laos).

McAlmont and Nyman have created something truly memorable and unique. The result is a startling, extraordinary and an intensely beautiful album.
44 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
I listened to this record in full during the course of my journey to and from work yesterday. It's quite rare that I turn up to work with a smile on my face (I'm not a morning person) but yesterday was different. Similarly, sat in traffic on the way home, not a trace of frustration. I try all types of music during my commute, in an attempt to elicit a smile, and none have worked better than this album did.

I buy lots of CDs of a wide range of styles, each in the hope that it will contain one of those songs that can't fail to make a day brighter - this album is full of those songs. Upbeat songs alternate with slower, but all have some element that alert the ears.

Refreshing in its composition, yet still fully of energy despite the lack of percussion. Brilliant album. If the samples tempt you, you'll love the full album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
No album has ever touched me like this one. This album is like a huge crystal chandalier - breathtaking in its scale and beauty; but fragile, delicate, and all the more magnificent for it.
McAlmont takes the news stories you see in two-inch columns in the newspaper every day, shake your head, and forget about, and he turns them into the kind of personal heartbreak that could apply to all of our lives.
Michael Nyman is already celebrated, and rightly so, but David McAlmont is a real national treasure who deserves far more attention than he has ever received.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
McAlmont's voice is quite a pop instrument - great range, great expression. Nyman's music is ..... Nyman's music! What's there not to like about the insistently repeated baroque rhythms and the ancient-but-modern instrumentation and arrangements? The lyrics are quirky, comic and tragic by turns - and you have to listen to them carefully - because there isn't a printed lyric sheet in the box. I minded at first - but actually have quite enjoyed that aspect. The Berlusconi song is a hoot (and great music - like a song from some whacky restoration era stage show). Some might find the the over-riding social justice concerns in McAlmont's lyrics annoying or over-political. Apart from a couple of slightly awkward lines, I really like and respect the approach. Why shouldn't great pop music be about migration, poverty, media chicanery and injustice - rather than always "hearts and flowers"? This is a fantastic album for anyone who likes so-called "minimalist" classical music - but also anyone who likes soul and motown and wants to see where they can go! McAlmont is South London's Smokey Robinson - the bloke is a major talent. Nyman, of course, already has "National Treasure" status!! The album cover looks like a my-specs-are-wierder-than-yours competition. The winner is Nyman, by a street.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
Ignore the negative comment and just buy it. It's quite staggering in places. To me it instantly brought back memories of seeing Antony & the Johnsons before he won the Mercury Music Award. It's almost like a naturally more complex version of that kind of "torch song" music, but with an obvious story to each song. You cannot really fault either musician in terms of ability. Very pleased to see McAlmont doing something so good since McAlmont & Butler. Can we have some more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Glad I spotted this on Amazon's 'great underrated CDs of 2009' a while back. I'm familiar with both mens' work, although more so Michael Nyman. McAlmont perfectly compliments the sparse soundscapes and gives flesh to the wonderful tunes that are Nyman's trademark. The running time is not overly generous, but what there is of it is well worth the investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
David McAlmont is superb on this album based on songs relating to newspaper head lines. Nyman is a good foil for David although other groups could do an equally good job (not a fan of Nyman) as David stole the show at a live performance of this set. .A must for fans od David McAlmont.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
this album is beautiful, the slow tracks are haunting, notably track two. I tend to programme my player to play either the graceful and moving even tracks or the more edgy odd tracks.. two albums in one, i love it :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
A brilliant album of interpretations from Michael Nymans back catalogue, lifted even more by the gorgeous sound of David McAlmont, beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
It is always a treat to have David's voice on a new selection of songs.

Especially on the ballads, he is mesmerising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Bring It Back
£5.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)