Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2009
I'm not going to say anything about the game itself. It surely is great and needs no further reviewing.

My point is that buyers will have to download the additional content, extra maps etc. (over 800 MB) via an included redeem code - it is not included on the DVD which I find rather disappointing for a "complete collection". Furthermore this download is not available in Germany (or for german IPs) which is even more disappointing for me. Hopefully other (foreign) gamers will avoid my mistake and skip this one. Thanks, Epic, for creating this so-called "complete collection" and teaching me another lesson.

Auf Deutsch: Überraschung, Ihr Lieben! Diese schöne DVD enthält nicht das was draufsteht ("The Complete Collection"), sondern offenbar nur das normale Gears 2. Den Content kann man mit einem beiliegenden Gutschein downloaden - nur dass das aus Deutschland nicht geht. Der Content wird nicht mal angezeigt. Schöne Pleite. Wer Gears 2 will kann daher auch gleich die alte Fassung billiger kaufen. Diese hier braucht er nicht.
1010 Comments| 118 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Good game if you find a seller that includes the code to obtain the extra content. Beware, I purchased a 'brand new' game of the year edition from a third party seller and it was not new, and it included no code to obtain the extra content.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
GoW2- GotY Edition - is a very good action game and contains a DLC-Card for the "All fronts map pack", which gives you access to all map packs + an extra campaign chapter.
Käufer aus DE aufgepasst, den Code für das "All fronts map pack" könnt ihr mit einem DE-Account nicht einlösen, wegen der IP-Sperre!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
A great game not quite as good as GearsOfWar1 becosue of so many cut-scenes and yaping and lots of running to get places.
The all fronts is a card with a number you type in to get it. Its a pitty its not a disc as when youve had anuf of the game cant sell it or trade at the gameshop becosue once the card is used thats it nobody else can use it and it has ( game of the year ) slaped all over the box.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
I was not a fan of the 1st gears of war however this game really suprised me. The story mode was excellent very exciting, the achievements are actually achieveable unlike the 1st game. The horde mode is dood fun and the graphics are excellent. really enjoyed this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
Thank you for the delivery of the game. But nevertheless i would suggest that amazon mentioned this in his anounce if there are running on EU Accounts or not, this informations has been never mentioned here. All codes are not downloadable in germany, so at the end I purchase a special version of gears of wars2 without possibilities to use there special download codes.
Caution codes in germany not available, game running on pal.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
Some parts of this game are decent, but it has an annoying tendency to break up the good parts of the game, like the cover system and tactical gameplay, with utterly terrible sections that require you to defeat some particular monster in a specific way e.g. chop of tentacle A then toss grenade in hole B.

It's a real shame, because for the most part the game play is highly polished and a lot of fun, but no matter how much you get into running about and diving from cover to cover you know that there's another slice of fail round the corner.

Without giving too much away I'm thinking of the giant worm and the sea monster. If you buy this game you'll be getting to see these guys a lot.

I know some people argue that sections like these break up the game and offer variation from the central mechanics, but for me they're just annoying and really spoilt what otherwise could have been a decent game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
Not having played Gears 1 at all and having most of the orignal story from my friends, I found it somewhat confusing to start through the single player campaign, but as I tried again on a higher difficulty setting it made more sense; Gears is quite unlike any shooter game that i've ever played. Instead of brute force - it requires you to judge your movements and cover according to your enemy and their movements.

The multiplayer can seem quite off putting at first and I foudn that it helps if you have friends to aid you onto the right tracks, but there is a mode very nearly every kind of person, ranging from a co-op horde mode againest the AI; with friends, and also warzone (deathmatch) for those who wish to challenge the Gears 2 community. Each multiplayer mode has a ranked form and a social form, allowing you to get use to the game before attempting to earn any place within the game's ranking system.

I'd personal recommend Gears 2 because the storyline fits well between Gears 1 and 3, as it refers to the first game quite abit, but do know I haven't played the first one to know anything new that may pre-exist in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
Frustrated by the recent delay of gears 3 decided to purchase limited edition gears 2 with all the additional maps to play on line. Money well spent as far as i am concerned the extra bonus level is excellent and worth a replay from time to time. Additional content prolongs the life of the game and will suffice until gears 3 comes out later in the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
A real xbox classic and gaming benchmark for its time. The graphics still look good to this date, and with this being the game of the year edition you get every piece of DLC included on the disk, so you have access to all the extra content with no fuss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)