Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2015
This is a great DVD of nirvana. In very good quality in sond and picture quality is very good. Wall worth the money. RIP Kurt Cobain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
This is pure gold. The last time Kurt graced our shores and what a performance this was. In the modern festival coverage you see bands playing to crowds who really don't seem all that bothered but believe me when i was at this festival no one and i mean no one didn't want to see Kurt and the band blow us all away. That they did
The rumours doing the festival was that hed had an over dose and was unable to play and that carter usc were set to replace, which was a damp replacement on a wet Sunday headline set
So when Kurt was wheeled on in a wheelchair and made a ridiculous but glorious entrance the scene was set.
The set included many banging numbers and some new stuff at the time but never a dull moment throughout, totally blinding
There wasn't one person there who wasn't touched in some way by this show and it remains one of the greatest sets in festival history
buy,enjoy and scream your heart and head off
Respect
22 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
The DVD is very well filmed and edited - it's just a wonder that it has taken Universal this long to make it universally available.

The performance is incredible for its energy and focus (I wasn't there... boo!) . "School", "Dumb", "Love Buzz" (for some reason left off the CD), and "The Money Will Roll Right In" are stellar. I think I prefer other live recordings of the band, but this is as amazing a filmed document as you could hope for. It is a joy to watch the interaction between Krist, Dave and Kurt onstage and the way the first two support a collective determination to make this a great finale, knowing the circumstances.

It puts the guitar band music of the present into the shadows, too... And Kurt's playing at this concert wasn't at its best, really. He seems to be putting all his energy into singing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
I always thought it was amazing that a three piece band could generate such a full, heavy sound and never is it more evident than here. This is loud, energetic, ironic, amusing at times, crazy, brilliant; everything you could ever want from a Nirvana gig. Most of the songs sound even better than they do in the studio.

Cobain gets all the credit, but it's Novoselic and Grohl who hold this together superbly; the former with basslines full of melody and rhythm, the latter with some of the most powerful, intense drumming I have ever seen. How he keeps his stamina up for the full two hours is incomprehensible. Cobain for his part puts on one of his best performances, although I think the first half of the gig sounds better from the guitar point of view before he switches to the Strat, which has a cleaner sound that doesn't quite suit his voice as well. It's only a minor complaint though, and unnoticeable after a few tracks.

Some extras would have been nice, that's the only real gripe I have with this DVD. Performance wise, it's pretty faultless, and the song list is perfect as well, with them blowing the more popular stuff out early and really kicking in for the second half. The ending is awesome. Glad this is finally out there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
This DVD is long, long overdue but thank heavens it's here in all it's cleaned up glory after many years of scratchy bootleg versions. Nirvana blew all and sundry away with their set that evening, after all the scathing press ramblings regarding Kurt's personal life this set was a triumph. What's clear is the band's sense of fun and fearlessness in larking about. Take Smells Like Teen Spirit - probably their best known song but the band decide to sabotage it and morph it with Boston's More Than A Feeling! Can you imagine a band from today doing this in headline slot at Reading? Also, technical mistakes are here in all their warts and glory for all to see but this was what Nirvana were all about. Setwise this DVD is a belter - nearly all of the Nevermind album gets an airing along with rarer gems such Spank Thru, Aneurysm, covers of D7 & The Money Will Roll Right In AND early versions of Dumb and All Apologies. The start of Lithium will send chills up your spine as 40,000+ voices sing along with Kurt. 10 out of 10.

A must buy....also, stick around after the credits for a very poignant and previously unseen clip :) A sad reminder that a great talent was lost less than 2 years later - R.I.P Kurt
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
About time that we had a proper gig that we all wished to have been there and where has this been for the last 18 years mind i do understand why they are releasing this miss world Courtney Love needs a nice bit of cash and so why not release it and i am glad they have. This really describes the nirvana of 1992 as well as Kurt Cobain. there set really will keep you glued to your set as songs mixed up from Nevermind, Insecticide and Bleach as well as stuff i didn't know of before but hey it's Nirvana and every time the record company scraps the barrel of Nirvana with putting countless Demo CD's and Live CD's to pay there wages. The sad thing is I love this DVD but Nirvana died along time ago as well as poor Kurt so sorry Mr record company executive but you gonna have to stop releasing stuff because soon all of Nirvana will be released but i bet there a few more tricks up there selves to come because all in all they want to buy the new Aston Martin. But apart from that the gig are fine and i really like the vibe it creates gives a taste of grunge and nirvana back in there prime and i am more than happy to see it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
I was there !!! What a masterpiece, it will stand the test of time. I think Kurt Cobain showed you don't have to be a great guitarist to put on a good show and credit to him. The hole weekend was a muddy,stinky mess but i think there will never be a better performance aired by them. Kurt RIP !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
i already had the cd of this 1992 nirvana live at reading so i decided to get the dvd and i'm so glad i did. it's stateing the obvious but you get it all with a dvd - the visual which really puts the concert into perspective, and you get all the little things like inbetween song banter and when the band are doing mostly visual stuff that is cut out of the cd as well as a little addition of them on leaving to go back stage. the sound quality is excellent and you get less common tracks such as D7. any nirvana fan should have this whether or not they ever actually got to see them live.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
I'm currently trying to build my collection of music DVDs and this is a great addition. They have a lot of energy on stage and their live performance of some songs on the DVD are better than some of the recorded tracks. The sound quality is fairly good and the mix is decent. The only downside to this DVD is that there is no special features, it's just the raw footage of them playing, it would of perhaps been cool to have a few interviews or videos of the band. If you're a Nirvana fan then you should get this and watch it multiple times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2009
As an individual who was too young to ever see nirvana live i can only imagine what it was like to see this once in a lifetime oppertunity. this dvd allows you to get a glimpse at the magic and an earfull into the glory that is of nirvana. MTV unplugged was good but this allows you to see and hear the true energy, talent and emotion of one of the best bands of all time. a must buy for ANY nirvana fan, grab a beverage, wack the sub on, turn the amp up and prepare to lose yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)