Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
This is OK, but I didn't enjoy it as much as 'Brothers.' It's a bit repetitive, and lacks the variety of 'Brothers.'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2004
Carrying on from 'Thickfreakness' and the much underated 'Big Come Up', the Black keys put out another platter of diesel-smelling dirty groundwater blues rock.
The harsh production lends an air of authenticity missing in so many of today's over-produced airbrushed bands. But leaving the album aside -which is great- you really should grab the chance to see them live. A truly awesome experience. Catch them while they're still doing smaller venues. The Black Keys will rise.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Short & sweet: this third album by the bluesily basic duo from Akron, Ohio the Black Keys, grows and grows on you. It's as if Paul Rodgers, Hendrix, Howlin' Wolf, Medicine Head, and the Groundhogs had got all mixed up in an echoey blues stew. The results are bracing, honest, and like almost nothing else out there.
It all seems to go by in a flash, leaving you wanting more - so get The Big Come Up, Thickfreakness & Magic Potion too: they're all just as good!
Their first four records are a must, later stuff seems to have lost much of what they're all about. But this one's a winner, and you won't go wrong with it if you like gutsy, soulful blues that sounds like it might have been recorded in a lift shaft.
I know I do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
This album takes about 2 or 3 listens to grow on you, but once you can understand The black keys you will not be able to stop listening.
This album seems to perfectly fuse their old contempory blues style with a some exciting new 'Hendrix'esque guitar decoration. My favourite tracks have to be 4, 6 and 13, but the whole album is brilliant listened to as a whole.
The only complaint i have about this album is that it hasn't got any tracks that are quite as brilliant as "have love will travel" from their previous album "Thickfreakness".
Buy it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
This is easily the best album they have done, i've owned it for a while and not written a review but upon seeing all the other reviews i felt it had to be said. THE ONLY SIMILARITY WITH THE THE WHITES STRIPES IS THAT THEY'RE A TWO PIECE BAND. They sound entirely different and for a start, Pat can drum and meg can't. However there is a feel of hendrix and definately cream/clapton about theyre songs; this the best album out of the 6(including te EP, which is worth buying aswell)and everyone should buy it. Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2007
I've always been into The Gun Club and Jon Spencer Blues Explosion rather than The White Stripes. So I wasn't sure I was going to like this album. Mainly because, at first sight, they seemed to be another `colour-tagged' blues duo. Just a bunch of copyists I thought. Oh, how wrong can one be? This album is jam packed full of great tunes and gritty low-down blues. 1AM Automatic sounds like the best track the Exile era Rolling Stones never released. Whereas The Desperate Man and Stack Shot Billy ooze real blues menace and wouldn't be out of place on a Howlin' Wolf album. But how do these guys do it when so many others get it so wrong? Partly it's down to unquantifiable judgements like `feel' and `intensity' and all those other words that critics throw around in an attempt to describe the indescribable. It's also down to great tunes and playability and all the reasons one needs to play it for the tenth time in one twenty four hour period strung out on the English equivalent of moonshine, work engendered dislocation and too much damp weather. If you really think the Blues are dead, I suggest you buy the Rubber Factory and bounce them back to life.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
this must be one of the best modern blues cd ive heard for a long time .a good mix of indie rock with that outstanding blues slid guitar work.man can he play .good old down and dirty blues ,just one or poss two week tracks but thats my view,of to buy back catalouge releases.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
Being a huge fan of their previous offering, "thickfreakness", I'm delighted to report that The Black Keys keep up their stirling work with this follow up. Great guitar work dominates the album, reminding me of Jimi Hendrix once again - they really are that good. Strains of the promise the Lenny Kravitz keeps offering (but failing to deliver on in this reviewer's opinion) can also be found peppering the album. Vocals are appropriately gritty and seem to come out effortlessly.
This is rock at its best - and they're only 3 albums in. Great stuff. Don't hesitate to buy this album ASAP.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
This album was my first experience of the Black Keys. I've gotta tell you, it just blows me away every time I hear it. Knowing now what I didn't know then, it may not be their most accomplished album, but it is their best in terms of roots vs contemporary.
For me, Black Keys are the true modern bluesmen. The guys sweating a living doing what Stevie Ray Vaughan was going 30 years ago, and what Muddy Waters was doing 30 years before that are perfectly valid, but just copying a copy, without any soul.
This is the real deal, the sounds they wrench out of just a guitar and drums, beggar belief. The album swings, sways, rocks and swamps. It evokes the country blues of the 1920s, the Chicago blues of the 50s, and still, living in the shadow of them White Stripes folk, manage to sound new.
An awesome album, and one to cherish, and turn the hell up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.69
£9.99
£8.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)