Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2011
Having not seen any Torchwood in the past, it is unlikely that I would have bought this product if it was not for the new series showing on television at the moment.

Having stumbled across the new episodes currently showing, I was intrigued to watch the early ones and what better way to watch than on Blu Ray!!

Over the course of a week or so, I watched the first two series and the Children of Mana short series. Overall I really enjoyed it!

In short this is kind of a 15+ Doctor Who with a fair amount of swearing and violence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Image: 1080i/16:9
Sound: English (only) DTS HD
Subtitles available in english (only).
Disc Format: 6xBD50 6xBD25
Special Features come in standard definition (mostly 480p), 16:9 and english (only) stereo, as well as the english (only) subtitles.

Is completely delightful to have this collection in this ultimate format, as the experience becomes complete. Image (1080i, not p) and clear sound (superb DTS HD) makes this item a must-have for any Torchwood fan, owner of a proper Blu Ray player and a good music equipment.
Even if you're not a fan, stories of Torchwood are human and emotional, and the actors (both regulars and guest stars) make all the scripts becoming a true, living reality for the audience. Some of them, even that they come in the "envelope" of sci-fi, deal with such classic issues as human fears, family, trust, love... that won't leave you indifferent, and you will probably cry, laugh and feel as you keep watching.
Don't be wrong: this is an adult-oriented series, with some violence, sex and not-kind-words, and yet, those are not values that are the main essence of the show, but those I explained above.

The first "but" I could say about it is that sometimes you see the interlaced image coming from the sides of the screen (this was watched in a SONY KDL 40X-3500, updated to last firmware available), and depends how much "sensible" you are for those kind of things... sometimes is annoying.
The second "but" would be the packaging in which collection is presented. In my opinion, I would change the cardboard for something a bit less flexible and not suitable to be destroyed so much fast. But anyway, this is also a minor "but", since this packaging makes the price affordable.

Anyway, get this experience, own it and enjoy it.
88 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
After getting through the first four seasons of the new Doctor Who series, I obviously had to check out its spin-off, Torchwood. And instead of buying it season by season, I decided to just buy the whole set, which ended up being the right thing to do.

Torchwood is one of those shows that isn't always great. It gets a bit dull every now and then (but only really in the first two series), but it is still an entertaining science fiction show. Sometimes I want more from a show than a "monster of the week" style, and while not always, Torchwood does deliver this on occasion.

Thing is, after the rocky first two series, they released the five part mini-series Children of Earth. Now this was great. Five hour long episodes that are all part of the same story. And a fantastic story it was. Without giving anything away, I will just say that it gives a whole new appreciation to the main character, Jack Harkness.

After watching this set, I really can not wait to see the next series "Miracle Days." If it even comes close to Children of Earth, I will be ecstatic. This three series box set is fantastic value (costing literally less than 25% of what it costs new in Australia), and it's also a great looking box which I love to keep sitting next to my Doctor Who sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
This show has been an awesome extension of Doctor Who!
From the first episode this show has always entertained - from the quirkiness of the regular cast to the interesting guest stars, this show has been another high mark for BBC.

For those viewers in the US who, like me, couldn't wait for the US release of this Blu-Ray set - I can vouch that these disks play on US Blu-Ray players (I tried my PS3 and two tabletops).

Well worth the cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
As someone who had never watched Torchwood until a few weeks ago on "WATCH", I have just bought the box set to watch it all from the begining. John writes about it in his books so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm not a si-fi fan but I do like Dr Who and I'm a huge John Barrowman fan and I think it's brilliant. The box it all comes in is lovely and it looks so compact. Also a great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
What's not to like about an adult Dr Who spin off with great actors and good stories? You'd have to really dislike either the entire sci-fi genre, or John Barrowman, not to enjoy this one. Though even then, my "oh god not John Barrowman, and I don't do sci-fi" friend was converted...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
This is the spin-off from Doctor Who and is aimed purely at an adult audience with sex, swearing, violence and very adult discussions so is not for younger audiences. Leading the pack is John Barrowman who as Captain Jack pulls together a merry band of oddities to stop the onslaught of aliens.

Starting with a slow build up that takes a bit too long with some iffy episodes, it takes a while to get going but Children of Earth is amazing and is a great prelude for the new season being filmed soon.

Great to watch if you are a fan and a newbie to the scene especially at the competitive prices.

The picture and sound are exceptional for a tv show and really show what the BBC are capable of.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
Torchwood is a program you are either going to love or loathe - just like marmite.

It is a brave show, very different from what has been tried on UK TV before and should be applauded for that alone.

As a show, it largely works and got better with each series. Series 3 is particularly powerful viewing.

If you like your sci-fi to be drama (Battlestar Galactica, Farscape etc.) then you will probably like this. If you like your Sci-Fi to be pantomime (Star Wars etc.) then you probably won't.

Roll on series 4, lets hope the US involvement adds not subtracts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
Excellent!! If you love Dr Who then you'll more than love Torchwood!!
This has plenty action, great storylines each episode, it's funny & emotional at times too.
Well worth buying so don't miss out!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Series One [7 Discs]:
- 13 Commentaries with cast and crew (one per episode)
- Torchwood Declassified: The Complete Series
- Out-takes
- Deleted Scenes
- Selected Episode Guides
- The Captain's Log Video Diary
- 5.1 Surround Sound on each episode
- 14 Featurettes

Series Two [5 Discs]:
- Deleted Scenes
- Out-takes
- The Life and Deaths of Captain Jack
- Torchwood Declassified Cut-downs
- English 5.1 Surround Sound

Series Three / Children of Earth [2 Discs]:
- Torchwood Declassified: An exclusive behind-the-scenes featuring Cast and Crew
- Torchwood in the Shadows: Audio Clip read by Eve Myles
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse