Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a terrific mix of old and not so old pop favourites.
Usually on this type of compilation you'll get maybe a disc of 50's
and 60's a disc of 60's and 70's and a disc of 80's and 90's with
maybe one or two 00's, often the 60's stretching across a couple
of discs.........this compilation blends sounds of these decades
to give an interesting insight into the music one or two of us
remember down the years.
Music charts of course started way back in 1952 certainly before I
was taking notice of the music of the day.
There are so many stand out numbers on each disc it would be difficult
to pick out favourites.........i'll give you a few numbers from each
as an example......on disc one...'T.Rex' --'Metal Guru' ...'Nena --
'99 Red Balloons' ...'Wham' --'Freedom' ...'Right Said Fred' --Deeply
Dippy' ( I point out with a smile ) ...'Westlife' --'Flying without Wings'
...'Bewitched' --'Rollercoaster' and 'Men at Work' --'Down Under'
on disc two...'Elvis' --'Jailhouse Rock' ...'Freda Payne' --'Band of Gold'
...'Edison Lighthouse' --'Love Grows where my Rosemary goes' ....'Christie'
--'Yellow River' ...'David Essex' --'Hold me Close' ...'Boney M' --Rivers
of Babylon' ...'The Three Degrees' --'When will I see you Again' and 'Leo
Sayer's --'When I need You'
on disc three....'Jennifer Rush' --The Power of Love' ...'Johnny Ray' --
'Just a Walking in the Rain' ...'Doris Day's --'Whatever Will Be Will be'
...'Perry Como' --'Magic Moments' ( 'Perry had many many hits mainly during
the 50's very little to speak of during the 60's -then during the 70's he
suddenly seemingly from nowhere had two top ten successes with 'For the
Good Times' and 'And I Love You So' ) anyway continuing with disc three...
'Zager and Evans' --'In The Year 2525' ...'Roy Orbison's' --'It's Over'
'Gary Puckett and Union Gap' --'Young Girl' ...'John Denver' --'Annie's Song'
...'Bonnie Tyler's' --'Total Eclipse of the Heart' and 'Simon and Garfunkel.s
--'Bridge over Troubled Water' ........the songs I've plucked out of the sixty
track compilation being just a sample of the quality on board.
overall i'd have to say, it's 'Great Listening Material' throughout, very few
numbers I wouldn't want to have on a number one collection such as this, also
I have to say the sound quality is brilliant..........for any music collector
this is a great-value-for-,money item to add to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
three great CDs all very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
A good (but not outstanding) collection of number 1's. I am being mean because the compilation title is misleading. Even with the bloated number of tracks this cannot be considered ULTIMATE. Feels at times penultimate... Look at the tracklist and decide for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Brilliant selection of songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
A good selection of songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
Track listing
1. Metal Guru - T-Rex
2. Final Countdown, The - Europe
3. 99 Red Balloons - Nena
4. It's Like That - Run DMC & Jason Nevins
5. Give It Up - KC & The Sunshine Band
6. Freedom - Wham
7. Keep On Movin - Five
8. You're Not Alone - Olive
9. Deeply Dippy - Right Said Fred
10. I Want It That Way - Backstreet Boys
11. Never Gonna Give You Up - Astley, Rick
12. Stomp - Steps
13. Rollercoaster - B-Witched
14. Flying Without Wings - Westlife
15. Sweet Like Chocolate (Metro 7 remix) - Shanks & Bigfoot
16. You Got It (The Right Stuff) - New Kids On The Block
17. Down Under - Men At Work
18. This Ole House - Shakin' Stevens
19. Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home) - Young, Paul
20. Prince Charming - Adam & The Ants

1. Jailhouse Rock - Presley, Elvis
2. Under The Moon Of Love - Showaddywaddy
3. Everlasting Love - Love Affair
4. Band Of Gold - Payne, Freda
5. Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes) - Edison Lighthouse
6. You Won't Find Another Fool Like Me - New Seekers
7. Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep - Middle Of The Road
8. Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree - Dawn
9. Hold Me Close - Essex, David
10. Give A Little Love - Bay City Rollers
11. Seasons In The Sun - Jacks, Terry
12. Tears On My Pillow (I Can't Take It) - Nash, Johnny
13. Rivers Of Babylon - Boney M
14. Yes Sir I Can Boogie - Baccara
15. Japanese Boy - Aneka
16. Making Your Mind Up - Bucks Fizz
17. Show You The Way To Go - Jacksons
18. When Will I See You Again - Three Degrees
19. When I Need You - Sayer, Leo
20. Move Closer - Nelson, Phyllis

1. Power Of Love, The - Rush, Jennifer
2. Theme From MASH (Suicide Is Painless) - MASH
3. Singing The Blues - Mitchell, Guy & Ray Conniff Orchestra
4. Just Walkin' In The Rain - Ray, Johnnie
5. On The Street Where You Live - Damone, Vic & Percy Faith Orchestra
6. Whatever Will Be Will Be (Que Sera Sera) - Day, Doris
7. Butterfly - Williams, Andy
8. Magic Moments - Como, Perry
9. It's Over - Orbison, Roy
10. Young Girl - Puckett, Gary & Union Gap
11. San Francisco (Be Sure To Wear Flowers In Your Hair) - McKenzie, Scott
12. In The Year 2525 - Zager & Evans
13. Yellow River - Christie
14. Stand By Your Man - Wynette, Tammy
15. Annie's Song - Denver, John
16. Crying - McLean, Don
17. What's Another Year - Logan, Johnny
18. Total Eclipse Of The Heart - Tyler, Bonnie
19. Without You - Nilsson
20. Bridge Over Troubled Water - Simon & Garfunkel
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
i received this item today whilst the cd discs themselves was alright the packaging was horrendous it was ripped an torn like it had been put through half a dozen letter boxes so was not well pleased
after all I pay for items to be delivered and in good condition granted this is the first item like this but I was disappointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Excellent selection of oldies from various eras and groups/singers. CDs split between different time scales so if there is a decade not particularly liked that CD or part of can be left. But all are listened to here! Much listened to and enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
An excellent triple CD, especially for all music lovers who have varying tastes.
For me it covers just about all era's of good music with an excellent choice in tracks.
And for Amazon's price, UNBELIEVABLE!
It's insane NOT to buy this album, you certainly wouldn't regret it!
60 amazing tracks for around the cost of 5 downloads.
Not forgetting a BIG thank you, Amazon.co.uk.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)