Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
80
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
Saw this film on TV and loved it but don't think it was shown again so was pleased to buy a dvd. Recommend it to anyone who appreciates the nostalgia of a 1950s Christmas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I have loved this film for many year and it is a real shame that it is hardly ever broadcast on TV.. Every year the same festive favourites are shown over and over but, this one hardly ever gets aired! Great acting, great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This film is as good as it gets. We haven't Seen The Holly and the Ivy for more than 20 years. A faith based channel in Canada used to show it every year as a launch to the Christmas season, but stopped suddenly, when Christmas became politically incorrect.

The acting is superb, the story heartwarming and true if you have ever known any clerical families. We have all known -- or had -- an Aunt Lydia and an Aunt Bridget. We have all known a Mick and an Uncle Richard, too.

Take a look -- you will be impressed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
If you love old fashioned English Christmas films then this is a good one. My mother used to love it which is why I bought it. I never saw the original but read that some of the best scenes have been deleted. This was still an enjoyable movie to watch and deals with family problems that are experienced today. It will be on my regular Christmas movie viewing list if only for nostalgia !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
I saw this film on television years and years ago at Christmas time. I have never seen it since. Every year I wonder why this film is not available for region 1. Can anyone tell me why that is?? This is a beautiful film. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 December 2014
A rather rushed but quite enjoyable adaptation of the stage play with an all star cast. The transfer is excellent with good sound an image for this vintage production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Cecilia Johnson is marvellous in this as is Ralph Richardson and Denholm Eliot. A lot of wisdom in this film. Lovely period piece.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
An old and some may say outdated film now, but I enjoyed it so much as it reminds me of my youth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
A beautiful Christmas film with old fashioned values and a pleasure to watch each year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Altho rather dated and filmed during the days when family members never really "talked" to each other, forget the manners, clothing, etc. and enjoy a lovely little story of a family ultimately brought together at Christmas time. Excellent acting as well. I searched a long time looking for this film on dvd, thank you Amazon UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)