Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
76
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2004
I am not usually a big fan of film soundtracks but having watched Kill Bill Volume 1 I was inspired to buy this one immediately. Throughout the film I was thinking WOW this is a good track, what is it? Whereas some of the ones I already knew such as Santa Esmeralda and just wanted it on CD.
Having got the CD I was mightily impressed with the track listing and playing it back evoked such good memories of a brilliant film. I would recommend this soundtrack to anyone but particularly those who have seen the film. It contains a diverse range of music taking in soul, rap and japanese rock and will appeal to many people.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
Once again Tarantino has created a unique film and soundtrack. In my opinion the film was everything i didn't expect it to be, it really took me by suprise. The soundtrack is also a little different compared to say, reservior dogs or pulp fiction, but its still a really cool album filled with fantastic tunes and even sound effects from the film! Once you understand that this is a film that Tarantino made for his screen character's, like Clarence and Alabama "true romance," then you can really apriciate what he has done here.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2006
if you liked the film and are considering buying this soundtrack but are unsure then don't be. this is a fantastic soundtrack and has all the key pieces of music on here. very atmospheric music with some calming, some more loud!
one of my most played cds and i have had it a long time.
you won't be dissapointed
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
All the tracks on this album capture the mood of Tarantino's film pretty much perfectly. Admittedly, there aren't many songs you can sing along to as such, but each track does make you appreciate the great music that exists outside mainstream pop. The selected pieces of film dialogue are nice and help break up what is overall, a CD which has its fair share on drum'n'bass beats and frantic Latin riffs. I recommend it for anyone that enjoyed the movie, and I am looking forward to Kill Bill Vol. 2!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
If you actually like paying for what are little more than sound effects masquerading as tracks, then get this soundtrack. For example: Banister Fight - RZA; Flip Sting; Sword Swings - Luis Bacalov;Axe Throws - Bernard Herrmann.

For those wanting to get a true Kill Bill soundtrack, with all the movie music included, you will be disappointed to hear that the following tracks are ABSENT from this soundtrack or are totally unrecogniseable from the movie version:

'Nobody But Me - The Human Beinz' - absent;
'Seven Notes In Black - Vince Tempera' (this is the music playing as Kiddo is about to slash Buck, but is heavily rapped over by RZA or whoever he is);
'Long Day Of Vengeance - Armando Travajoli' - absent;
'Death Rides A Horse - Ennio Morricone' - absent (this is the major "House of Blue Leaves" music as Kiddo and Oren come face to face for the first time - the music rising as Kiddo cuts off Sophie's arm. If you want to hear this piece, DO NOT buy this soundtrack;
Urami-Bushi - (Meiko Kaji) - absent

Maybe it's just me, but I thought "original" means what you hear on screen is what you get on this soundtrack. Of course not, silly me! While I absolutely adore Kill Bill and its soundtrack I'm so annoyed they use the "original soundtrack" label on this when clearly so many memorable tunes are absent, making way instead for what looks like nothing more than a promotion for a stupid rapper who doesn't even appear once in the damn movie! The words "rip" and "off" spring to mind. Not only that, but this is the second "original" Kill Bill Vol 1 soundtrack on Amazon which, err, surely calls into question its originality.

Take my advice: do some research; find out EXACTLY what songs are used in the movie, including looking in the actual movie credits themselves; then use either iTunes or Napster to search for them. Then assemble your OWN soundtrack, ignoring the tracks you don't like! It will be cheaper and you'll get EXACTLY what you want. If, like me, you want a soundtrack to invoke and reflect the actual movie, you will be disappointed. This original soundtrack does not do it justice one iota.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
This soundtrack is the best album I have ever purchased. Taratino made a great movie, but the soundtrack is equally as fantastic! Each song is different, yet they all follow a large oriental feel.
Even the dialogue tracks are still awesome, like Queen of the Crime Council, and You're My Wicked Life!
This album is a must-buy for any die hard Kill Bill fans out there who still dont own it! Tracks like Green Hornet and Battle Without Honour or Humanity are sheer brilliant, followed by equally awesome tracks like Dont Let Me Be Misunderstood and Flower of Carnage!
Just buy it! You wont be dissapointed!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2007
This is a well-put together reminder of how the film goes. If you liked the film, then, more than likely, you enjoyed the music in the film: that goes without saying.

I actually only bought this track for the superb trumpeter Al Hurt's version of the Green Hornet theme; it makes a great ring tone! But the other tracks, like most of Tarantino's soundtracks, include clips from the funniest/memorable moments of the film as well as the tracks in the background and foreground of the film.

Excellent: but only because I thought the film was excellent. Mind you, if you didn't like the film, you probably wouldn't read this page, right?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2007
This soundtrack is the best album I have ever purchased. Taratino made a great movie, but the soundtrack is equally as fantastic! Each song is different, yet they all follow a large oriental feel.

Even the dialogue tracks are still awesome, like Queen of the Crime Council, and You're My Wicked Life!

This album is a must-buy for any die hard Kill Bill fans out there who still dont own it! Tracks like Green Hornet and Battle Without Honour or Humanity are sheer brilliant, followed by equally awesome tracks like Dont Let Me Be Misunderstood, Twisted Nerve and Flower of Carnage!

One of the best OST's ever !!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
Everyone who knows Tarantino and his films knows that he always accompanies his masterpieces with an amazing selection of songs. They always seem so perfectly chosen with such precision. Reservoir Dogs, amazing soundtrack. Pulp Fiction, amazing soundtrack. Jackie Brown, amazing soundtrack (you get the picture). Kill Bill is no exception to this pattern as I think it's the most brilliant of his soundtracks. Every song is so well chosen and when you step back and look at it they're sometimes so odd but fit perfect like Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood, by Santa Esmerelda, which is a disco cover of a Nina Simone song?? It's so crazy and you think it would work but does! Only Tarantino could do it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
No surprise that Tarantino delivers a fantastic soundtrack to acompany the awesome "Kill Bill".Santa Esmarelda's "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" is the stand out song on this album and "Ironside" excerpt ("when the bride's about to kill throbing pulse" music) is sooo cool (just like it was in the cinema). All tracks are fab so its an esential but to any Tarantino, film and music fan.So buy it everyone!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)