Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2011
Philip Seymour Hoffman makes the directorial debut in this movie, in addition to being the lead actor. The movie is a sad-sack love story about a limo driver named Jack (Hoffman) and his girlfriend Connie (Amy Ryan). Connie tries to have a positive impact on his life by getting him to learn cooking and swimming. We see a contrast in the lives of Jack and Connie and their best friends Clyde (John Ortiz) and Lucy (Daphne Rubin-Vega). The love life warms up for Jack and Connie as the story unfolds but it gets sour for their friends Clyde and Lucy. We see an effort on the side of Jack and Connie to reach out for each other with a touch of humor. The key part of the movie is the director's ability to handle a relationship problem of the lead character's best friends to make it an appealing act. Hoffman has done a good job in his directorial debut, but as one expected he shines better as an actor. The subway scene and a dinner party are some of the interesting episodes of the movie. It is fun to watch this move.

1. Capote [DVD] [2005]
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
This quirky little play to film is sometimes moving, very well acted, but most importantly awkward at times.

It hails imagination, mostly in its début direction by Hoffman and almost has a British feel to this almost independent bit of film-making. It surrounds a relationship triangle and overall is a light, comic-like love story drama.

It will definitely help if you are a Hoffman fan, as it has a lot of hid DNA expectedly. It does combine sadness, optimism, tragedy and wit well, with droplets of bizzarity along the way.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This is a story about a shy nearly socially dysfunctional couple who are fixed up. Jack (Hoffman) is a Limo driver and Connie (Amy Ryan) works as a telemarketer for a funeral director. She thinks every man who places a hand on her arm is attempting to come on to her. Jack does whatever it takes to please Connie including cooking and swimming lessons. This is juxtaposed by John Ortiz and Daphne Rubin-Vega who have fixed them up. They are near the end of their relationship.

The movie was more sad than "heartfelt." It is funny if you enjoy laughing at poorly educated people trying to make a living. There were numerous awkward pauses, by design that simply didn't work well.

The lame piano music soundtrack was dreadful, but has become the norm for "heartfelt Indie" movies that lack a good enough plot to bring out emotion.

The acting was superb. Sex scene(?) wasn't as good as the one Hoffman did with Marisa Tomei. F-bomb, pot, hash, and cocaine use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
This film is a wonderful observation of life - made more poignant because we will never get to see more from Seymour Hoffman as a director. All the subtle skills that he brought as an actor to every part he played is here - both as actor and director..you will never get more involved in someone learning to swim or someone cooking dinner, ever again. The perfect film for many rainy afternoons...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
No subtitles for hard of hearing viewers or other languages. Film running time = 1hr 26 (not 1hr 50 as stated). Jack tentatively starts a relationship while that of his best friend starts to fail. This involves socially awkward scenes at every turn. Set in New York this character driven and well made film is adapted from the play by the playwright Bob Glaudini. There are scenes of people just pondering. Jack adopts visualisation as a technique to help learn new skills, hence we see his swimming practice on a foot bridge over a busy road. If you like Woody Allen films, but found Blue Jasmine a bit too eventful then this might just appeal to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
I am a fan of Hoffman, the excellent actor but troubled person. I suppose it was necessary to include drug-taking scenes because that was in the original play (or book), but it added absolutely nothing to this film; I'd have given it four stars but for that. I don't find people ingesting drugs entertaining so nearly switched off; I stayed with it because otherwise it's a very good film with a very good ensemble cast. I've checked the DVD and no where does it contain a warning that there are scenes of drug use, which I think is a very poor thing, as most people don't use them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Just what drives people to think this will be worthwhile?
This is awful - neither touching nor heartfelt.
Rather turgid and awkward.
Nothing happens - nothing. No story to speak of.
Please watch 'Lost in Translation' instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Philip Seymour Hoffman was totally believable in this movie .The characters were really well rounded , A real rollercoaster of a movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Hoffman directs well, all very natural, good acting, awkward and oddball, fits perfectly with the film and its aim, good performances, good soundtrack,

well worth your time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
I am a fan of Philip Seymour Hoffman so i buy all his movies,but this one is not his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)