Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2012
This is a good value product. It is made of metal and is straightforward to wire up, but you need to buy the bulb separately. 100w screw type is needed.
The sensor adjustment is beneath an eyelid cover on the PIR. Not immediately obvious where it is. You can test it immediately you've wired it up as there is a test setting. Once you know it works ok, wait until dusk to do the final adjustment to set the timer.

A recommendation - put a dob of blu-tak behind each bolt which is used to attach the lamp to the back plate before you fix it to the wall - this will ensure the bolts stick out far enough to enable you to put the nuts on that hold the lantern in place.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
This light is easy to install - just need to get a bulb

The reason I bought it was that it has both a LUX and Timer dial to adjust when it comes on based on the light level (lux) and then how long it stays on for (timer). Just use a small screw driver to turn each dial to make the necessary adjustments.

Works fine with an energy efficient bulb too and I'd recommend it
11 comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Bought this light recently and its brilliant. The PIR sensor is very good (may be a bit too good) as it detects movement over 3 metres away and my concern is that it will continually be lit up due to cars/people passing by. But you can offset this by setting it to come on at night only and reducing the time it comes on for. Personally, I've got it set to 3 mins duration and about 3/4 darkness and use an energy bulb. Some people have had issues with this light, hope the following is useful:

1) The adjusters for light and time are actually located on the base of the unit where the PIR detector is (the part that screws on to the wall) and you access it by lifting the lid/cap to reveal it - very easy to find.

2) There are 2 live connectors - live and live switch. If you're connecting it in the normal way to a standard plug its the live connector you want. The live switch is for when you want to be able to operate it manually I think but I don't know why you would want to do that - just leave the PIR sensor to automatically detect and light up the lamp.

3) The screws that thread through the black plastic plate to the front of the lamp are very loose and its almost impossible to screw on the bolts to attach the front white cover. This fustrasted me for a while but I evenually got round it by applying glue to the back of the screws just to hold them in position on the back plate (you could use blue tack or something similiar) so they don't move. Then you delicately screw on the 2 front bolts to attach the front cover. As far I'm concerned this was the most (and only) fustrating part but was easily solved!
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
A perfect replacement for an existing outside light, but with the added advantage of the PIR sensor.

One thing to note: supplied item does not include any bulb, which needs to be of the "Standard Edison Screw" type.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This is a very good light for the money, it is made from cast ally. and not plastic. it works fine. As other people have said the screws could all do with being slightly longer to make the assembly on the wall easier, but it is easily overcome.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
this light was really easy to install. The light did come on whenever anything went past, but we were able to figure out how to adjust this. The only puzzling thing is how to stop the light coming on throughout the day. Other reviewers have said they have figured this out, could anyone let me know.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Product ok but one of the fixing caps that holds the top cover did not fit. So as I've already fixed to the wall I'm reluctant to send back as this will leave wires exposed so best to check fixings before you install.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
Poor internal cardboard packaging that is too small for the box means the parts moved around in the post. Also the spike on the dome was not protected with cardboard or better still bubble wrap. Net effect, one glass panel was broken and two were chipped. This is the fault of the manufacturer not the supplier. I bought new glass panels at a local glazier and came to an arrangement with the supplier over the cost of these. After wiring into a switch the light would only stay on continuously regardless of where the timer and daylight activation settings were adjusted to. The PIR was making clicking noises, like it wanted to work but as the lamp never switched itself off I might as well have bought a £10 lamp without the PIR. The instructions are a tatty black and white photocopy that is really useful (not) when you are trying to identify the correct colours for the wires. I've contacted the manufacturer for assistance on wiring this up properly through their website, but I'm still waiting for a response.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
Looks good, works well and easy to install. I ordered the 'refurbished' option from Amazon which just meant that somebody had returned it after ordering. Apart from some of the items inside not being packaged as the manufacturer would package them, it looked brand new. I had a little trouble getting it to go into Automatic mode but then I remembered that with our old light you had to flick the power on and off quickly two or three times. That did the job!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
A pretty security light which will brighten an entrance or add interest to a boring brick wall. The casing is metal sprayed white and the clear panels are glass, not plastic. . Easy to fit even for a complete beginner who can wire a plug and put together flat pack furniture. The light sensor and dawn to dusk dials can be adjusted using a tiny screwdriver. A nice weekend project and extremely good value at under £20.00
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)