Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 July 2017
a great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Yes, it meets my expectations. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Great stuff thanks and sorry for late reply
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
arrived unsealed and the 4 insert wasn't there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2012
STP proves themselves a heavyweight band with this release.

On PURPLE, we see Weiland and Co. grabbing not for hardhitting riffs so much as credibility with the critics. They had been roasted with their debut CORE because of the heavy sludge attack of that record. Stone Temple Pilots were accused of being rather dull copy-cat `artists', learning from Pearl Jam and Nirvana their entire bag of tricks and then replicating it with rather boring results. CORE's main problem, of course, is it gets very bogged down in the full assault of that heavy grunge sound, and Stone Temple Pilots don't rely on much else to carry the record through.

The critics this time were fairly right. With the exception of the four singles (Wicked Garden, Sex Type Thing, Creep, and Plush), which stand as some of the very best songs of the early 1990s and as important as anything Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and the other grungies were doing at the time. These tracks were tempered with melodicism, heavy-hitting music, and a great acoustic sound which rivals even Alice in Chains (who I believe has the best acoustic sound of any of the grunge heavy weights).

PURPLE is miles ahead of their debut. While they still retain the trademark sludge of grunge, they temper it greatly and vary things up enough to make their sound much more interesting, and in the process give the other grunge bands a run for their money.

Of course, recrafting your sound does not make the new record any better than the old one unless you have songs to go along with it (Sixteen Stone vs. Razorblade Suitcase). This is where PURPLE shines. As far as I'm concerned this record plays like a greatest hits record, or a compilation of essential early 1990s tracks. Without exception, every song on here is as good as the singles I cited from CORE. Stone Temple Pilots turned in a set that almost every song sounds like it has the potential to be a radio hit, and while critics and fans may cringe thinking that means they've sold out, Stone Temple Pilots sound their best when they're doing rock that could get on the radio*.

PURPLE sounds much more commercially minded than CORE, but in this case that's not a weakness or artistic compromise. Instead, PURPLE sounds much more like a band that has at long last come into their signature sound, and they're damn good at what they do. Just like The Who's MEATY, BEATY, BIG, & BOUNCY, everyone of these tracks shows an excellent band producing high quality singles which ranks as the best music from that time. The thing that sets PURPLE apart artistically, with its commercial sound, is it sounds genuine and a natural evolution of the band, and never once feels manufactured at all (if you want manufactured grunge-by-numbers rock get SIXTEEN STONE by Bush). PURPLE sounds both legitimate artistically and exhilarting musically, making it one of the most exciting records of the early 1990s.

Buy Purple now, as it stands as one of the essential records from the 1990s. Stone Temple Pilot never topped it, but resting on the strength of this and their other singles they will be sure to be remembered.

Mike London

*Well, not all the songs sound like a hit grunge single. The last track, 12 Gracious Melodies, is a hilarious novelty track. I wish they had put "Tripping on a Hole in a Paper Heart" on here. It so fits the sound on Purple, enough so that I almost think it's an outtake from this record.. That and "Dancing Days" too. I knew that song from STP and didn't know it was a Zeppelin track until much later, so I always think of the STP version of it. Shocked me when I learned it was Zeppelin because I was so used to STP singing it, and to tell the truth I think STP does a better job.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2001
Probably one of the most greatest albums I have had the fortune to purchase. The album starts off with meat plow, nothing extra special, moving rapidly into vasoline. As the album progress the tracks get bettrer. A favouritetrack of mine being big empty, featured on the crow soundtrack. The album ends with a hidden track done in the style of a sleazy club singer. In my mind well worth a purchase, You will not be disappointed with this album>
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2006
"Purple", the CD where the STP's hit the peak of their powers. Alas it was all down hill after this one. Thankfully this remains a great standout CD in their catalogue. "Core" was half decent but unfortunately it hung on the coat tails of THE big Seattle bands of the early 90's. "Purple" has an identity all of it's own though and after a good ten years of listening I find I can still enjoy the CD in it's entirety, which in this day of disposable rock and pop superstars says something!! It's a shame they didn't go on to greater things after this quality effort, they had the potential. So, aside from their greatest hits package if you want one STP's CD thats has durability, you can't go much wrong with this effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2010
Back in the mid 1990's when I was in my angst ridden late teens and early twenties, STP were the centre of my musical universe. They were 'my' band, and as far as I was concerned, the best band ever. Since then I've discovered Zeppelin, Sabbath, AC/DC etc and realised they're not the best band ever, bit I still have huge affection for them. This is easily the bands' recorded peak, and they clearly wanted this album to sound like it was made in the 70's. And I mean this as a compliment as, for my money, the 70's was rock's golden era. For the most part, STP pulled it off. There were a few non more 90's moments ('Lounge Fly', 'Army Ants' anyone?) but in the main, you can imagine this being knocked out while Zeppelin and (Deep) Purple rehearsed next door. The most classic sounding song is probably old favourite 'Interstate Love Song', its timeless southern fried riffs making it sound a lot older than it actually is (in a good way, of course). Then there is the albums undoubted masterpiece, 'Silvergun Superman' with its mix of heavy stop-start riffing and spacey, wide open chorus', on which versatile guitarist Dean DeLeo wrings out his finest solo as the song stumbles to a halt. You even have a Zeppelin style accoustic singalong thrown in too ('Pretty Penny'), which would be unremarkable were it not for Weiland's crystal clear and almost beautiful vocal. Unfortunately, STP were never quite this good again, and while their other albums had their moments, overall they were frustratingly inconsistant. But if you want to discover a decent band that have been perhaps a little overlooked by history, this is as good a place to start as any, so long as you can accept that you'll have to lower your expections when it comes to their other works.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
By far Purple, Stone Temple Pilots second album is their best effort. Almost flawless-with Weiland having his strongest voice. Purple isn't as over produced as their debut and benefits from that. It also showcases the bands other influences which were more veered towards Led Zeppelin and David Bowie than what the media thought- grunge hangers on.

A superb album, and an essential purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Core
£8.19
Stone Temple Pilots
£8.99
Thank You
£8.99
High Rise
£1.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)