Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2000
After a four year gap following their last studio album, Pantera return as hard as ever. Reinventing The Steel is exactly what you expect from the band; incredibly heavy rock, with the now-trademark 'powergroove' feel. Pantera have not softened their approach; in fact they continue the trend of getting heavier with each album they release. The only minor criticism of this album might be that no new directions are explored; some of Dimebag Darrell's guitar work on the splendid 'Revolution Is My Name' has an unusal and distinctive 70's rock feel, but this is about it in terms of sound progression. Nevertheless, you don't buy a Pantera album if it's the latest trend you're after; you buy it becoause you know it will ROCK. And this one certainly does.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2001
There does seem to be something not quite up to scratch on this album. Sure, there's still Dimebag's thundering riffs, Phil Anselmo's raging voice and Vinnie Paul's thumping drum rhythms, but this album comes nowhere close to the greatness of Vulgar Display and Far Beyond Driven.
On too many of the songs you can hear the re-emergence and re-hashing of riffs from earlier albums. The whole album exhibits a lack of fresh ideas from the Pantera boys who can do so much better. Revolution Is My Name and maybe one or two other songs show Pantera at their brilliant best.
If you want to get into Pantera's music buy Vulgar Display or Far Beyond Driven, two far superior albums. Perhaps I am being too critical because trying to live up to the quality of the aforementioned albums would have been very difficult.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
i remember that back 99 i learned that pantera are working on a new cd which was the best thing that i ever read in metal hammer that year then by 2000 it came out and it was the 1st cd that i play non stop at work from start till end i remember that i did this on a cd player with batteries heavier then ipod ;) and it was the latest portable cd player at the time that never skip while running .. anyway back to this album i gave it 5/5 cause it was released in 2000 when fans i have to say trendy fans left metal and went after rap/metal thanks GOD im not one of those . fans should consider that this album came between 96 and 2004 when bands like machine head changed to the worse and metallica never recovered .. this is not the best pantera album but its the best album from that era .. its a shame they broke up and wahat heppened to DIME 4 yrs later .. buy this album if u wanna listen to something fast and heavy with lots of killer guitars .. dont buy it if u hate having true metal albums from each era \m/
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
Smashing your head against a pavement; that's how the album starts and it only lets up a little bit in the middle. It's Pantera at their most hardcore, less swing and more hammer. Mr Anselmo seems to have used this sound for his Superjoint Ritual as there is a lot of the same feel.

From `Revolution is my name' we seem to get back more of a groove, it's still punishing but there is a better balance, which is what I like about Pantera.

For all that though If you have another Pantera album get this as well and if you are coming to Pantera from one of the band members other projects get `Vulgar Display of Power' as it is better, this isn't so uniformly good but for the most part it holds its own. Once you have Vulgar you will want to search the rest out anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2005
I agree that this album is not the band's best. There are so many more fantastic metal albums to buy. It is heavy alright but it lacks either strong melodies or top quality rhythm. The vocal track is over the top and the rest doesn't gel. "Vulgar display" is hugely better. In all honesty I find this album difficult to listen to, making me feel a bit like my old mum - yet I have a collection stuffed with Sabbath, Megadeth, Mettallica, Slayer etc. You will be told to turn this down/off - but in such circumstances it is better to have a sense of incomprehending indignation (as if for example you are playing "Vulgar Display") rather than honest agreement. Not for the casual fan. 3 stars? well it is heavy...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you like Pantera, all five of their official studio albums are absolutely essential listening. Out of all the official Pantera studio albums however, Reinventing The Steel is perhaps the least popular, and the one that features least often in countdowns of greatest albums, but this doesn't reflect entirely fairly on the quality of the album as a whole.

While this album isn't as instantly accessible as Vulgar Display Of Power or as Zeitgeist-grabbingly important to its time as Far Beyond Driven it is still my honest opinion that any serious Pantera fan should own a copy of Reinventing The Steel.

Reinventing The Steel is certainly a grower of an album; the more that you listen to it, the more that you can get out of it. The standard of musicianship on the album is so high, which should bypass any other problems people may imagine the album to have. Sure, the artwork is silly and off-putting and there aren't as many big hit singles on it as on other Pantera records but the album is tight, well written and consistent which is a lot more important than these superficial issues.

It could be said, whilst trying not to sound pretentious, that Reinventing The Steel is the musician's Pantera album. The record may be pretty challenging for casual listeners, as tracks like `You've Got To Belong To It' and `Uplifting' twist in and out of each other, turning backwards away from momentum in the blink of an eye and are full of unusual guitar noises and little runs that take four or five listens to even understand. This may be off-putting at first, but really adds to the listening experience on repeat listens, picking out all the little touches and enjoying how the tracks defy expectations.

For people who enjoy Dimebag Darrell's unique guitar style; Reinventing The Steel is perhaps the album on which he was at his most "Dimebag," farthest away from sounding like his influences or any specific subgenre and just laying down tracks that were uniquely his and solos that sound utterly specific to him.

Highlights include the very catchy singles `Revolution Is My Name,' and `Goddamn Electric,' as well as the spiteful `We'll Grind That Axe For A Long Time,' and the astounding a emotionally powerful album closer ` I'll Cast A Shadow,' which features some of Phil's best ever vocal performances.

That being said I have come to love each and every song on this record, every individual riff, vocal and beat permanently cast in my memory. Each track fits perfectly beside each other, the running order itself is great as is the song structuring and the majority of the lyrics are strong (although some can be a little cheesy as usual)

The production too is great, you can really hear every single note on the Bass Guitar throughout the whole record, every drum beat is clear and distinct with a good mix on the kit overall and Phil's multi-layered vocals, while an acquired taste, do sound very good.

Overall; While Reinventing The Steel may be the least popular of the five main Pantera studio albums, it is by no means a write-off and I urge listeners to give it an open-minded second chance and for new listeners to give it a try and not be put off by its comparative lack of praise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2000
I bought this album looking for some good solid heavy metal with good riffing, and by god I found what I was looking for :D Pantera are known for making good riffs, and outstanding tracks such as "Revolution is My Name", "Yesterday Don't Mean Sh*t", "Hellbound" and "You've Got to Belong To It" not only like someone else said make you want to smash everything in your room up, but also rock to the insanely addictive riffs. This is heavy metal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
To the person that put reinventing the wheel.
This is the least best album Pantera have done but it's still an amazing album like the rest of them. How dare you slag off Cowboys from Hell it's the second best album they have ever done.
I'd like to see you go get a band and make an album better than Cowboys from hell or Reinventing the steel. When you've done that we can all laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2000
I have not heard a metal record like this for a long time. Forget Limp Bizkit, forget SlipKnot, this IS heavy metal at its finest. Hellbound, the first track, reaches down your throat, pulls out your intestines and stamps on 'em. Then when you think it's all over the awesome Goddamn Electric kicks in and it starts all over again. This carries on for an earsplitting 43 minutes. Buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
This is one of the best albums of the year,i picked up this cd on release day and loved it straight away.Stand out tracks being "Yesterday dont mean sh*t","Hellbound" and "Goddamn electric"..these are all great tracks.
After seeing them live in Wolverhampton this year Pantera have became one of my faveourite bands...this album is worthy of 5*.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)