Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.72+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2009
I'm 36. As a young teen, W.A.S.P. were absolute heroes of mine. I sort of "outgrew" them around '89 or so. I never even bought "The Headless Children". Don't ask me why. Until recently I had no idea what I had been missing out on.

Fast forward to about a month ago. I see a thread on a forum "NEW WASP SONG; CRAZY". I go and listen and BAM!! I'm 12 years old again. I couldn't escape the sheer giddy-ness of hearing my old idol doing it better than ever.

While waiting for this CD to be delivered I ordered every W.A.S.P. CD that I missed out on (except KFD, and SNBU, those are coming soon). Catching up with Blackie has been a very rewarding experience.

This turns me to "Babylon". I don't know how to properly express how much I love this album. Every song is a winner. As much as I love "Crazy" it's not even my favorite song. That's a toss up between "Live To Die Another Day" and "Godless Run". The lyrics on this album are fantastic. You can tell that Blackie really believes that the world is on fire and I agree with him 100%. He doesn't name names, but I know what he's talking about here. The New World Order and the beginning of the end are upon us and the prophecies of the Bible are coming to fruition. I really like it when I can hear someone in the political arena speak for me. It's even greater to have some killer music that tells the tale as well. Blackie and Dave Mustaine are both right on top of this stuff.

Thanks for this great album, Blackie.

If you've ever liked even one song by W.A.S.P., buy this CD. You'll like it.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 October 2009
Having flirted on and off with band over the years,lost interest after the 'crimson idol' only buying 'dying for the world' in the following 17 years or so,i never believed they would bounce back.Well this is certainly a comeback to rival kiss's Sonic Boom!!,Lazarus eat yer heart out.From the opening track 'Crazy' this disc rocks its heart out in fact the opening trio are superb and when they crash into Purple's Burn you know this is a band on form,gothic lyrics of horror and damnation,stunning musicianship and Blackie' Lawless's timeless voice combine to give us a disc which is potentially the album of the year and i dont say that lightly when you see some of the other candidates,a classic must buy,welcome back WASP.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This is the BEST W.A.S.P. record in twenty years. Blackie is on top form. The only reason i've not given this a 5* is because its short at only nine tracks. I love "Live to die another day" ,and Crazy. All in all a top rock CD. Just buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
The 3 star rating here is in comparison to WASP's other offerings (Crimson Idol, Dominator etc) which are some of the truly finest, darkest, deep & meaningful musical works ever from such an underated band. Such are the high standards Blackie Lawless has set.
The problem with Babylon is that it's only a shade over 43mins long & this includes 2 covers(!) which left me wondering if Blackie rushed it to meet some deadline or just ran out of ideas. Either way it's a shame as there are some great tracks on here true to form, albeit with a few riffs & formulaic song structures that are just a little bit too similar to some of their other works, but then I guess that's not such a bad thing.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2009
Babylon is a solid sucsessor fro Dominator. W.A.S.P. keeps on giving exelent heavy metal, and the voice of Blackie Lawless is forever one of the greatest - the definition of hardrock/heavymetal as it sholuld be. And for everyone who didn't get a copy of Dominator - get it now!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
I hadn't really listened to WASP since Crimson Idol, then happened to listen to some of Dominator and Babylon on youtube and bought the albums. Both are excellent and the lyrics express Blackie's own slant on the world.
Babylon is a great successor to Dominator and if this band got their marketing right it would be up there in the decade's top rock albums.
If you haven't listened to WASP since their early stuff, this is a great album to re-aquaint yourself with the band.

As for the songs themselves:
1. Crazy - Play it loud, a superb sing-along headbanging song with interesting lyrics.
2. Live To Die Another Day - Good fast rock song.
3. Babylon's Burning - Awesome galloping song with Blackie's view on the state of the world today.
4. Burn - Top cover of the original Deep Purple song.
5. Into the Fire - A WASP ballad but not by any means soft.
6. Thunder Red - The apocalypse set to music, the sound is straight off their first album - punchy, rocky and fast.
7. Seas of Red - Great guitar and pacing drums, lyrically its not as strong as the others but who cares, just play it loud.
8. Godless Run - A strange ballad, a prayer of repentance that raises the hair on the back of your neck. Yes, its awesome.
9. Promised Land - Blackie does a great Elvis impersonation and although its not in keeping with the sentiment of the rest of the album is a great fun sounding song.

These are just my views, buy the album and make your own mind up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
W.A.S.P. are back and sounding better than ever, well better than anything since 2001s "Unholy Terror" anyway. Indeed there is not a single bad song on "Babylon" as Blackie pulls out all the stops to deliver an unashamedly old school sounding album.

The opening track "Crazy" gets the album off to a great start followed by the excellent "Live To Die Another Day". "Babylons Burning" is an awesome song complete with spoken middle section and conjurs up visions of the four horsemen of the apocalypse who adorn the albums cover art. The cover of Deep Purples "Burn" was originally recorded for W.A.S.P.'s previous album "Dominator" and the band certainly make the song their own. "Into The Fire" is for me the weakest song on the album but that just goes to show the strength of this album. "Thunder Red" is quite simply awesome as is the following track "Seas Of Fire". "Godless Run" is an epic song complete with Blackie wailing away in the style he perfected on songs such as "Unholy Terror". The final track on the album is a cover of Chuck Berry's "Promised Land". Not something you would expect on a W.A.S.P. album but for me it is one of the highlights taking the band back to its rock n roll roots (Helldorado anyone?) and is a nice upbeat way to end the album.

In conclusion "Babylon" is the best album W.A.S.P. have put out in almost a decade and is a must have for all metal fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
Let's get the album review done first,and yeah it's a stormer.
This is a fine album and sounds very much like a natural successor to dominator which was also a killer album.
The first song crazy which kicks off the cd sounds like a continuation from the aforementioned dominator and is rockin' hard and strong with killer vocals and tight playing from the band.
This carries on throughout the cd with great songs like burn,which is a really strong and solid metal song and is one of my favourite tracks.
However nothing prepares you for the final track Promised land!, This track sees blackie donning his best elvis voice and delivering a song that is so rock boogie that status quo would be proud to have written it.
Blackie does this a lot on his albums these days,from out of nowhere comes this boogie style rock track which are so cool and really are a joy to hear.
So altogether this album gets a solid 5 stars.
Now here's the thing,this cd is mastered loud...very loud and usually i would be complaining about this but as i said in my title for this review even though this cd is loud it doesn't sound compressed at all,in fact it sounds like a vinyl album and thats what i mean by how does blackie do it because it sounds great.
So top marks for a great wasp album and also for making it sound good too!
Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
WHEN I FIRST HEARD THE SINGLE "CRAZY" ON THE FRIDAY ROCK SHOW IT MADE ME CRY IT WAS SO GOOD, ALSO BECAUSE I WAS SO RELIEVED THAT BLACKIE AGAIN HAD NOT LET ME DOWN,(ESPECIALLY JUST AFTER HAVING HIS PORTRAIT TATTOOED ON MY THIGH), I THEN READ A 2 STAR REVIEW IN KERRANG, WHICH SAID THAT THE ALBUM WAS "DREADFUL" AND SOUNDED LIKE MEATLOAF!, WHAT A CONTRAST.ANYWAY, THIS ALBUM IS ANOTHER GREAT COLLECTION OF SONGS, NO CONCEPT AS SUCH THIS TIME, NO REPRISE OF PREVIOUS TRACKS (WELL ALMOST),AND JUST NON-STOP METAL, "CRAZY" IS SUPERB, SO MELODIC AND EMOTIONAL,WITH LYRICS SIMPLE BUT POTENT, AND COULD MEAN SOMETHING DIFFERENT TO EVERYONE, THE COVER OF PURPLE'S "BURN" DOES NOT CHANGE THE ORIGINAL,BUT IT WAS ALWAYS ONE OF PURPLE'S BEST ANYWAY, MY OTHER FAV TRACK IS "SEAS OF FIRE", THE OPENING A LITTLE REMINISENT OF "CRAZY", THEN THE NEXT WAVE OF THE RYTHEM KICKS IN AND YOU THINK, WOW, HERE'S A CLASSIC COMING UP.THE WHOLE ALBUM IS TYPICAL W.A.S.P, VERY MELODIC, AND MAYBE A LITTLE MORE COMMERCIAL THEN HIS CONCEPT ALBUMS, ALSO MORE SIMILAR TO "DOMINATOR", BUT STILL SUPERBLY HEAVY.ONLY ONE CRITICISM IS THE CHUCK BERRY COVER AT THE END, WHICH SOUNDS LIKE A FILLER. THE FACT IS, THAT BLACKIE LAWLESS IS SUCH A BETTER COMPOSER OF SONGS THEN BERRY, THAT BERRY SHOLD BE COVERING HIS SONGS NOT THE OTHER WAS ROUND!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2009
With a couple of exceptions, W.A.S.P.don't make bad albums. And when frontman Blackie Lawless gets his dander up about something, then it usually results in something special. Like this. The former shock rocker has been looking at the state of the world, flipped open his Bible at Revelations, and decided that this time, it's all over.

His curmudgeonly growl / howl is wrapped around some classic heavy metal as he tries to prepare us for the end of days, through the power of rawk. Songs like 'Babylon's Burning' and 'Godless Run' hark back to the glory days of "The Crimson Idol" and show that the 53 year old has lost nothing of his rage.

There is some excellent riffage on offer with the tale of The Rapture and destruction on the aforementioned Babylon's Burning' absolutely outstanding. For extra listening pleasure, there's a couple of cover versions thrown in for good measure. Chuck Berrys 'Promised Land' is a poor end to a really good metal album, but W.A.S.P's rampaging assault through Deep Purple's 'Burn'.

As classic metal goes, this is as good as it gets. Add in the end of days, and you've got a very special album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)