Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
113
Tina Live [CD + DVD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 August 2017
how old ? had a couple of Tina live videotapes from back in the day and had the studio cd's from Private Dancer onwards. This is a fitting testament to 50 years as a recording artist. The dvd is very good, being a true representation of what you saw on the night. Only Tina would get away with scantily clad dancers tho'. At some points in the show it appears to these eyes and ears that there might be a bit of auto tuning or backing tracks to assist with the lead vocals. Backing band as ever tight as a drum with John Miles the ultimate sidesman and gun for hire.
Very dodgy interludes from the "Ninjas". Perhaps she went off then to have a lie down or oxygen or blood transfusion when they were on.
All the hits are present and correct and come over very well played live.
Recommended as the only Tina Turner album you would need to witness what all the fuss was about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 29 April 2012
Tina Turner is a phenomenon of the music world and has been for 50 years, and it is incredible the way she can perform with such galvanising energy and elation. Her talent and beauty remain undimmed, the voice cuts straight through to the emotions, those legs are still the best, and she has a wonderful sense of self-parody as well as doing it for real. This concert is a thrilling roller-coaster ride right from the pounding start of Steamy Windows, with Tina atop a postage stamp-sized platform gradually lowering to stage level as she stands there poised for action, all knowing looks and ironic vamping, the rhythm coursing through her even though she hardly moves ... I heard Tina in Stuttgart in 1987 when she was already considered to be amazing for a woman nearing fifty, but now she defies belief - you don't even have to make allowances for her age, which is the most extraordinary thing. The DVD tends to cut away to the backing singers a bit too much for my liking, as I like to see what Tina does when she's not singing ... the dancers are fantastic but Tina's something else. The CD is also brilliant: far more than just an extra, it catches the thrill and raw, almost savage edge of Tina's delivery as if you are in the white hot heart of the matter. She can only be quite this wild in concert, and she has lost none of the fire she had at 25. The sound has the edge over the DVD, at least on my equipment, and the thrill factor simply goes off the scale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2010
A truly astonishing performance, with Tina in great voice and having a ball working the crowd. Her vocals are astounding and if anything have improved with age. This is quite remarkable when her rock and roll peers, Daltrey, Plant, Jagger are all struggling to do what they did vocally a couple of decades or more ago. The only downside to the concert as presented on the DVD are some of the set piece theatrical interludes. It's plain that they are necessary to help pace the show, allow for costume changes and let Tina catch her breath for a few minutes. However some of them are overlong and a bit tiresome. Special mention should be made of John Miles who played some great guitar parts and who shone in a very tight backing band. It's a pity that Tina hasn't performed his classic hit 'Music', as it could make a great feature in her show. As with all great performances, this CD/DVD leaves you wanting more and so fingers crossed that Tina decides to record some new material and keep performing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2012
I could just watching the DVD and saying nothing at all. But i felt myself I have the compromise to say to people how marvellous this DVD is. Tina with 69 years old it seems a teenager on stage. Her voice didn't change a "micron." She is absolutelly as the same on stage as she was 20 years ago. The DVD is amazing(sound and image), backgrounds, dancers, ninjas and the band, everything is on the borders of perfection. At the begninning I just bought this DVD becase I didn't have any of Tina and it seemed to me this one to be the best. Now i am not afraid to say that it is "really" the best of Tina. If you are a fan or not, you'll be very pleased with this must seem DVD. Absolutelly Perfect in every detail.I start watching and then the DVd came to the end, and I kept having the feeling "what a pitty" the show could be longer...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2018
A great concert the filming is spot on and of course the music absolutely fantastic its as though you are there.Thanks team
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Tina is even more amazing than normal and she's 70! Love the staging which was Tina's this time. Love the band as always including the great John Miles. Truly awesome concert. Love the DVD and the CD too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
This DVD is so full of energy from Tina, the dancers, backing singers and backing musicians I'm exhausted by the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
Tina Turner concerts are always great to watch.There is so much energy and everybody ,singers ,dancers.band members look as though they enjoy every minute of the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
Bought this album for my husband as he loves watching the live shows, it is a great addition to his CD collection, great buy and value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2009
What amazing value - Tina live on both DVD and CD, and what a professional presentation, as the quality of the camera and sound couldn't be bettered.

As for Tina's performance: this is the real meaning of a STAR. She holds the audience and the viewer in the palms of her hands whilst belting out hit after hit. I don't write many reviews but had to state that this DVD + CD deserves to be in everyone's collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)