Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
218
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£35.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2016
A pleasure for the DIY-artist that comes in a well organized metal box that could in a rough environment do with a lid that closes more tight

Love this product. Chose it as it is so versatile and as it is from the famous "Dremel" brand there never will be issues finding spare parts.
Out of the box, filled with gas, started rope cutting. That went lovely. Cut a thumb thick 2-layered nylon rope within seconds. Went on to cut various 'lines', some drenching wet, and it was a pleasure. The handling of the Versatip goes very smooth. The cutting was done by pushing the hot cutter blade onto the rope using an old roof tile as underground. To melt the nylon cord ends better together the Versatip handles like a thick marker. Very easy to use with very pleasing results.

The item comes in a handy, well organized, metal box. Can't take a star off the review for it but why is it that these boxes are all to often lacking a good system to securely lock them? The box is great but its lid sits on it as if it were a Sunday afternoon cooky box: if you try to put the manual with the device it won't even keep close. That is a minus that easily could have been improved on. In particular in a marine environment one can't keep the outer cardboard sales packing just to keep the metal box lid in place! Now it's up to the individual DIY-er to fix that. Maybe something with a belt to make carrying the box around more easy too. The small wrenches need a tiny hole in their handle to be able to secure them.

Without any doubt: this tool in the right hand is going to be loved and give a lot of joy and satisfaction.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
This no doubt a very useful piece of kit. I asked elsewhere if suitable using sterling silver could be used to solder 'open' silver jump rings, closed, & they said 'yes'. I should have asked this seller,& done more research before buying. It does not get hot enough for this.After asking the sellers I found this confirmed, so could not use as I need.They were very understanding & accepted the return.Fine for the purposes listed, just not for silver as a solder.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
I ordered this to replace an old silverline one I had that was never really very good but it got me by. 1st impressions are WOW! Looks well put together and has a feel of quality about it. comes with various basic tips and a good jet nozzle.
Comes packaged in a sort of biscuit tin which will keep it all together and clean.

Filled it with butane and pressed the starter, heat was instant and could solder within a minute. I aim to buy some pyrography tips aas well and think they will work out fine. All in all worth every penny even if it is a bit on the expensive side.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I bought one of these as i wanted to do intricate work and i have owned butane soldering irons before so i feel i know what i am talking about. I have the usual 240 volt soldering guns, (Weller) that are 100%, the usual stick type soldering irons (Again Weller) and have owned a butane type in the past that i simply have lost so going on reviews i bought the Dremel Versatip.......bad mistake. Found it very hard to light up, ended up phoning up the Dremel helpline that ended up being a Bosch service centre, their advise was to take it to a B & Q or Homebase shop as 'they all sell them and they will show you how to light it', well i can tell you they don't, just try Googling these stores and see if they stock it. Tip doesn't get hot enough in my opinion and this tool is only good for the smallest intricate work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Fantastic bit of kit.

I've used this a few times now for my auto electrical work and have found it a lot easier than using a wired one. It heats up just as fast as an electric and it's lightweight, comes in handy if you're soldering in an awkward place!

Only downside I can even think of is that there's no stand, but I rest the plastic part on the side of the tin it came in, works fine
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I was looking for a hot air gun for using with heat shrink when I cam across this Dremel VersaTip on Amazon. The fact that it could also be used as a wireless soldering iron swung it for me. The kit comes with a number of tips, well packaged with all you need apart from the butane gas which you can get from most tobacconists and corner shops (or Amazon). The child-proof locking mechanism is well designed. Once filled with gas, which takes a few seconds, the VersaTip can be ignited and warms up within 30 seconds to a usable temperature. I could solder far more easily that I was able to with my old corded soldering iron as the device is quite light to hold, and as it is cordless, was easy to manoeuvre around the pieces to be soldered or heat shrunk. The tips are quick and easy to change and the temperature easy to control. Just take 10 minutes to read and understand the instructions and you should have no problems using this tool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I use my Versatip more or less exclusively for applying heat-shrink tubing, and for that it is an excellent tool.
The hot knife is also great for cutting or shaping EPS or EPP foam.

Care must be taken when for soldering, because of the extremely hot exhaust that exits sideways from the tip.
Easy to operate with one hand.
My only criticism is you cannot see how much gas is left in the tank, but that isn't really an issue.

Beats my old (broken) Iroda 120 hands down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
This is a beast and a replacement for one I had pinched. Holds loads of fluid. But has a plastic lid? You have to let it cool before putting the lid on the heat does disapates out the holes but worps the plastic in doing so...the entire box it comes in is metal yet not the inner lid. That being said it a good iron.👍
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Purchased the item in question and is a cracking unit. You can get cheaper, but sometimes its a false economy. Have purchased many types of gas soldering irons and so far this is the better of all. If I were to critise it in any way, it would be, that it is a little bit more bulky than the others I have purchsed, though still not to big. Great item worth having. Also,with Dremel, you can normally get the spares.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
What can i say about it, Its a Dremel Tool, Sturdy, I have only been using it for soldering, it heats up in literally 10sec on high settings, no problems to melt any metals you want, i tried to melt down a cooper pipe it tooke a while but i melted it perfectly fine after couple seconds. Its a must have tool for every tinkerer that needs to get heat on the run. With the awesome metal box and accessories its easy to use, and does not require source of fire, because of the electric striker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)