Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
awsome dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
excellent and the best movie ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
"UN HOMME ET UNE FEMME" deservedly won the Oscar for Best Foreign Picture in 1966. It boasts lovely photography both in colour and in B&W; a wonderful soundtrack; the best direction ever from Claude Lelouch who would never again reach such heights of perception, subtle intimacy, the conveyance of falling in love by showing love to your loved one, her children, his children, the things they like to do; Trintignant's performance is a pearl of rugged simplicity and unencumbered male desire; that of beautiful Anouk Aimée one of utmost femininity, female reserve and yet a woman desperate to surrender; their sexual encounter is perhaps the best portrayed, most sensual, and yet most touching such encounter I have seen on the silver screen; and then the lovely details of leaves and sunlight, rain and frost on the car's windscreen; the man walking with his dog on the pier; and the final reunion where their sheer joy at not losing each other is so intelligently and yet earnestly conveyed.

"UN HOMME ET UNE FEMME" may have dated in some parts, in particular the flashbacks and the races with now obsolete cars, but it is a delightful and very humane film.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
This is a wonderfully romantic film - very insubstantial and superficial really but SO FRENCH and full of 60's/70's longing and sadness, accompanied by fabulous music. Perhaps I exaggerate because I saw it first when I was young, naïve and hopelessly Francophile! I have to say that after many decades it still evoked the same emotions!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
The world has moved on a lot since this simple feelgood movie was our favourite film, more is the pity. Great acting, great music and great car driving. I'm so glad it's available again. Abandon modern cynicism or the tendency towards expecting action all the time before viewing. The subtitles are good for those who don't speak French. The equivalent English films of the time- "Far from the Madding Crowd" or "The Go Between" have very unhappy endings so are different. However, they also have an intensity of photography which can come from stillness and no dialogue which is missing from modern films- I even saw a review of the Go Between complaining the film copy was fogged, wheras the original was the same- known as atmospheric filming, also missing from modern filma.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
The way this film is shot does date it now, although at the time it was wonderful
Seeing it after all these years it now seems a bit slow, but the music from it stays in your head. I think every person must know this theme, but not so many know the picture it was written for.
Still a lovely film, and so much nicer than the rubbish we get offered these days filled with filthy language. Had this picture been an English or American film, it would have been massive, but us Brits are too idle to bother reading sub titles
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
A beautiful and touching love story with some nice twists.
Using a very understated script, it is touchingly filmed and very evocative of those times. It's classical style French cinema of the 60s era. Anouk Aimee is delightful, the direction (or perhaps her natural self) with her modest, vulnerable, glances and far away looks is alluring throughout. A wonderful story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I first saw this film many years ago and was touched then by the simplicity of the story matched by some beautiful music. Man meets woman, they have an affair but both are guilt-ridden and then - not a chance! I wouldn't spoil the denouement for the world, suffice to say it is still beautifully done and gets a lump to my throat and a tear in my eye. Even after all these years the film still has the power to move through an economy of dialogue and/or drama. The whole beauty of style and presentation still puts this film in a class of its own without the need of 20th/21st century graphic or lurid detail - subtlety works and is much more powerful..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
All men and women who love movies should have this classic, and view it regularly. Good story, great directing, fantastic photography, mood-setting music, wonderful experience, of which you will not tire. Get this movie, TODAY.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
still the poignant tale it always was, though possibly a little blunted by the passage of time, but that's more likely my jaded perceptions.(Don't know how today's audience may come to it, possibly a little dated, but still a good watch).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)